Book Club Interviews: Archives

Interviews With Book Clubs

BookBrowse is a thriving and growing community of booklovers. Each week BookBrowse receives hundreds of book reviews, feedback messages, ideas and other information from its visitors.

Out of this feedback came the opportunity - and idea - to further encourage and support this community by publishing interviews with book club. These interviews are packed with useful information, insights - and are just plain fun to read!

Below is our historical archive. We hope you enjoy these Q&As with these fascinating booklovers - just like you!

Outlook Book Group
Outlook Book Group
Susie Thurman, of Outlook Book Group, a fifteen-member, all women group based in Henderson, KY, founded in 1922. shares the unusual way their group runs; and reveals a secret that she surprised the group with earlier this year! (Hint: Just who is this woman to the left?)
June 2013
Foster Book Group
Foster Book Group
An interview with the Foster Book Group of Rhode Island, a rural community of about 4,000. However, the very things that make their town special can cause a feeling of isolation and so their book group grew out of the desire to have social and intellectual interactions - but it has bloomed into something so much more...
April 2013
Bound to Be Read Books
Bound to Be Read Books
Bound To Be Read Books is an independent bookstore in East Atlanta Village, Georgia. BookBrowse caught up with owner Jeff McCord to talk about the store's many book clubs – including their infamous Scandalous Book Club.
March 2013
South Austin Spiritual Book Group
South Austin Spiritual Book Group
The South Austin Spiritual BookGroup is about openness. They are independent thinkers and self-proclaimed drop-outs from various belief systems. Their spiritual non-fiction book discussions are lively and passionate. This group fills a need in the community.
February 2013
FRESH Ladies Book Club
FRESH Ladies Book Club
An interview with the FRESH Ladies, a group of ten women ranging in age from fifties to ninety-five. With a diverse age range, a wide variety of professions and interests, and a common thread of respect and friendship, this book club hasn't had a dull moment in 8 years! And it's still going strong...
January 2013
Perry Branch Adult Book Group
Perry Branch Adult Book Group
In an effort to connect libraries to the reading community at large, in July 2007, the Perry Branch Library in Gilbert, Arizona began a monthly, librarian-facilitated book group. Lesley Marshall, who heads the program, tells BookBrowse a bit about it...
December 2012
Fourth Monday Book Club
Fourth Monday Book Club
Has your book club been thinking of reading more nonfiction books, or had trouble finding nonfiction titles that generate good discussions? If so, you'll find this month's interview with a book club that reads almost exclusively nonfiction fascinating, and their annotated suggestion list of more than 30 nonfiction titles invaluable!
November 2012
Sisterhood Book Club
Sisterhood Book Club
What do you do when the cops interrupt a perfectly good book club meeting? Johnna Puttoff of The Sisterhood - a 13-year-old book group based in Frankfort, Kentucky - explains.
October 2012
Muse & Views Book Club
Muse & Views Book Club
Meet the Muse & Views book club of Ottawa, Canada - a group of ten women who meet monthly for good conversation about a wide range of books.
June 2012
History Book Group
History Book Group
Lesley Fitzpatrick and Maggie Thompson, co-founders of the History Book Group in San Diego, CA., join us to talk about their approach to history, and offer up some great advice and selections.
May 2012
Would you be interested in being interviewed for this feature? If so, please contact us with brief details about your club. It is very helpful if you include both a contact email and a telephone number.

Advice Main Page  |  Starting a Book Club  |  The First Meeting
Leading Meetings  |  Difficult Meetings  |  Choosing Books  |  Inviting Authors
DIY Reading Guides  |  Book Club Games

Reading Guides  |  Themed Reading Lists  |  Online Discussions  |  Blog  |  White Paper

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.