Book Club Interviews: Archives

Interviews With Book Clubs

BookBrowse is a thriving and growing community of booklovers. Each week BookBrowse receives hundreds of book reviews, feedback messages, ideas and other information from its visitors.

Out of this feedback came the opportunity - and idea - to further encourage and support this community by publishing interviews with book club. These interviews are packed with useful information, insights - and are just plain fun to read!

Below is our historical archive. We hope you enjoy these Q&As with these fascinating booklovers - just like you!

Fourth Monday Book Club
Fourth Monday Book Club
Has your book club been thinking of reading more nonfiction books, or had trouble finding nonfiction titles that generate good discussions? If so, you'll find this month's interview with a book club that reads almost exclusively nonfiction fascinating, and their annotated suggestion list of more than 30 nonfiction titles invaluable!
November 2012
Sisterhood Book Club
Sisterhood Book Club
What do you do when the cops interrupt a perfectly good book club meeting? Johnna Puttoff of The Sisterhood - a 13-year-old book group based in Frankfort, Kentucky - explains.
October 2012
Muse & Views Book Club
Muse & Views Book Club
Meet the Muse & Views book club of Ottawa, Canada - a group of ten women who meet monthly for good conversation about a wide range of books.
June 2012
History Book Group
History Book Group
Lesley Fitzpatrick and Maggie Thompson, co-founders of the History Book Group in San Diego, CA., join us to talk about their approach to history, and offer up some great advice and selections.
May 2012
3 Rs Book Club - Retired, Relaxed and Reading
3 Rs Book Club - Retired, Relaxed and Reading
The 3 Rs Book Club - Retired, Relaxed and Reading - based in Tallahassee, Florida, joins us to discuss how these retired educators keep their meetings explosively fun: literature-inspired treats, historical presentations... even bringing a live grenade to a meeting!
April 2012
Boys Book Club (aka BBC)
Boys Book Club (aka BBC)
The Boys Book Club - aka the "BBC" - based out of San Diego, California, is made up entirely of men between the ages of 45 and 60 and has been meeting monthly for over two years.
January 2012
Reading Rock Book Club
Reading Rock Book Club
The Reading Rock Book Club in Dickson, TN, celebrates two years together this month. Laura Hill, owner of Reading Rock Books, joins us to talk about her group.
January 2012
Las Revistas Book Club
Las Revistas Book Club
Rosemary Toland, one of the sixteen members of the San Antonio based book club Las Revistas, discusses how they've kept the discussion flowing over 25 years and more than 200 books!
October 2011
Books & Bars
Books & Bars
Jeff Kamin runs the Minneapolis based Books & Bars book club which regularly attracts over 90 people to a meeting, about 40% of whom are men. Find out more about Jeff's unique concept for a book club...
January 2011
Lincoln Township Library Book Club
Lincoln Township Library Book Club
Kate Mitrovich runs a thematic book discussion group at the Lincoln Township Library in Stevensville, MI. The group is inspired by the ALA's "Let's Talk About It" book discussion model.
November 2010
Would you be interested in being interviewed for this feature? If so, please contact us with brief details about your club. It is very helpful if you include both a contact email and a telephone number.

Advice Main Page  |  Starting a Book Club  |  The First Meeting
Leading Meetings  |  Difficult Meetings  |  Choosing Books  |  Inviting Authors
DIY Reading Guides  |  Book Club Games

Reading Guides  |  Themed Reading Lists  |  Online Discussions  |  Blog  |  White Paper

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.