Win The Summer Country by Lauren Willig


Win This Book!

The Summer Country

by Lauren Willig
The Summer Country

The New York Times bestselling historical novelist delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan-- merely a vicar's daughter, and a reform-minded vicar's daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family's lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned. 

When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts.

Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom.

A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and South, The Summer Country will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds. 
Reviews
"Powerful, emotional, beautiful, and historically fascinating, The Summer Country is a simply breathtaking saga. This is the kind of book you fall into, that absorbs you for the entire time you are reading it and that after, haunts you.... long after." - M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author of Tiffany Blues

"In this evocative family saga, The Summer Country, Willig sweeps the reader away to the heartbreak of colonial Barbados, where love across the color line is forbidden, and the repercussions of slavery's cruelty echoes through the generations. Bold and beautifully told, with unexpected twists, the puzzle pieces fit together with a satisfying click. Brava!" - Stephanie Dray, New York Times bestselling author of My Dear Hamilton

"Lauren Willig's The Summer Country is a sumptuous read, evoking M.M. Kaye's lush and sweeping tales of nineteenth century colonial life. I read The Summer Country slowly—doling out exquisite chapters one at a time—because there are too few books written today that harken back to that delicious way of storytelling that doesn't rush things just to keep up with modern trends. I would count this one as a new classic and encourage every reader who cares about quality writing to quickly add this one to their list of to-be-favorites." - Camille Di Maio, author of The Beautiful Strangers

"So steeped in Caribbean culture, my hands were sweating while turning the pages. Lauren Willig has ventured to story territory near and dear to my heart. The Summer Country is a daring, meticulously researched narrative of complicated love. A hot summer read for historical fiction fans!" - Sarah McCoy, New York Times bestselling author of Marilla of Marilla of Green Gables
About This Sweepstake
SUMMER COUNTRY by LAURA WILLIG will publish in hardcover on June 4. We have 25 early reader copies to give away. Up to 3 winners will be selected: Winners in a book club will receive a copy for each member of their book club (up to a maximum of 12 copies); winners not in a book club will receive 4 copies (one for themselves and three to share with friends as they choose).

This offer is open to residents of the USA only.
Giveaway ends April 1, 2019
Enter the giveaway

Only BookBrowse's subscribers are eligible to enter. So we'll check to see if you're already subscribed to one of our lists, and, if not, we will sign you up to receive BookBrowse Highlights, our weekly newsletter packed with reviews and articles about the best recently published books. We promise that we will never share your email address with anyone. If you wish to unsubscribe you can do so with one click from any email. By entering, you agree to BookBrowse's Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.