MLA Platinum Award Press Release
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    Delayed Rays of a Star
    by Amanda Lee Koe

    BookBrowse Review
    Amanda Lee Koe's Delayed Rays of a Star begins with a late-1920s photo of three women at a party in Berlin who would go on to make names for themselves in the world of cinema:...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Cook
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Anna May Wong

    Anna May Wong was a Chinese-American film star who worked in the entertainment industry from the 1920s to the 1960s. As a person of color, she experienced limitations in the roles she was able to play throughout her career due to discrimination and ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Sleepovers

    Sleepovers
    by Ashleigh Bryant Phillips

    BookBrowse Review
    In Ashleigh Bryant Phillips' debut story collection, Sleepovers, it can be difficult to keep tabs on all the main characters, a number of whom appear as first-person narrators...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Cook
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Minecraft and the Uncensored Library

    The story 'Mind Craft' in Sleepovers by Ashleigh Bryant Phillips is named for one character's incorrect way of referring to the video game Minecraft, which is a multi-platform 'sandbox game,' the term for a game that leaves the player relatively free... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    The Beekeeper of Aleppo
    by Christy Lefteri

    BookBrowse Review
    In Christy Lefteri's sophomore novel, The Beekeeper of Aleppo, the author introduces readers to Syrian refugee and former beekeeper Nuri Ibrahim as he waits in England with ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Kim Kovacs
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Bees and Honey Across the Ages

    In Christy Lefteri's novel, The Beekeeper of Aleppo, the protagonist is a Syrian refugee seeking asylum in England (See Syrian Refugees and The Human Cost of War in Post 9/11 Conflicts). The novel brings to life the heart-wrenching challenges ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    Cantoras
    by Carolina De Robertis

    BookBrowse Review
    Cantoras by Carolina De Robertis follows five characters who share a house, troubles, joys and parts of their lives over the course of three decades. They also share the ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Cook
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Uruguayan Military Dictatorship (1973-1985)

    The small country of Uruguay (about the size of Missouri) is bordered by Argentina to the west, Brazil to the north, and the Atlantic to the south and east. Military rule began there in 1973 following a coup conducted in cooperation with then-... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: So You Want to Talk About Race
  • Book Jacket: The Beekeeper of Aleppo
  • Book Jacket: Daughters Of Smoke & Fire
  • Book Jacket: Delayed Rays of a Star
  • Book Jacket: The Last Train to Key West
  • Book Jacket: The Book of V.
  • Book Jacket: The Stone Girl
  • Book Jacket: Tokyo Ueno Station
  • Book Jacket: Sleepovers
  • Book Jacket: Cantoras
  • Book Jacket: The Darwin Affair
  • Book Jacket: How to Be an Antiracist

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Voyage of the Morning Light
    by Marina Endicott

    A sweeping novel set aboard a merchant ship sailing through the South Pacific in 1912.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • BookBrowse Book Club
    Book Jacket

    The Beekeeper of Aleppo
    by Christy Lefteri

    This moving, intimate, and beautifully written novel puts human faces on the Syrian war.

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  319The Henna Artist:
    Alka Joshi
  2.  217The Paris Hours:
    Alex George
  3.  190The Last Flight:
    Julie Clark

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win Of Bears and Ballots

An Alaskan Adventure in Small-Town Politics

A charming account of holding local office with an entertaining, quirky cast of characters.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S Louder T W

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
  • Mrs. Everything Book Jacket
    Mrs. Everything
    by Jennifer Weiner

    A smart, thoughtful, and timely exploration of two sisters' lives from the 1950s to the ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Karen Lewis

  • Disappearing Earth Book Jacket
    Disappearing Earth
    by Julia Phillips

    Spellbinding, moving - evoking a fascinating region on the other side of the world - this ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Jamie Chornoby

  • Miracle Creek Book Jacket
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim

    A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Elisabeth Cook

Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • The River
    by Peter Heller

    Best friends Jack and Wynn embark on a river trip which should be idyllic but is not. We know from the first sentence that there is a fire up the river. As they are ...
    read more

  • The Beekeeper of Aleppo
    by Christy Lefteri

    This book will haunt me for years. Every time a 'conflict' is on the news, the discussion only involves the soldiers. But what about the people who aren't involved in ...
    read more

  • The Color of Air
    by Gail Tsukiyama

    A welcome panacea to the times we are living in is how I would describe reading this story of Daniel Abe, a successful doctor in Chicago, as he returns home to Hilo two ...
    read more

  • Where the Crawdads Sing
    by Delia Owens

    I really enjoyed this book. It had a heartwarming ending with a real twist along the way. Very clever story line. I am looking forward to more books by Delia Owens.
    read more

  • A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles

    To enjoy reading is a gift. To read a beautifully told story is an honor. Such a story is "A Gentleman in Moscow" by Amor Towles. The story surrounds us with ...
    read more

  • The Stone Girl
    by Dirk Wittenborn

    My husband read this book before I did, and encouraged me to pick it up as well. When he asked me my opinion, I replied, "Do you want my personal opinion or my ...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.