MLA Platinum Award Press Release
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: In the Dream House

    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado

    BookBrowse Review
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for her collection of short stories Her Body and Other Parties) tells us she is...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Lisa Butts
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: The Murder of Freda Ward

    In Carmen Maria Machado's memoir In the Dream House, she writes of her abusive relationship with another woman and the lack of scholarship and cultural representations available on the subject of abuse in queer relationships in general. Having ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: Father of Lions

    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    BookBrowse Review
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 rated the book 4 or 5 stars.

    As many readers point out, Father of Lions ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Mosul Before, During and After ISIS Occupation

    Mosul, Iraq's second-largest city after Baghdad, lies on the banks of the Tigris River. Mosul's current boundaries encompass the remains of the old Assyrian city of Nineveh, and signs of civilization in the area date back as far as 8,000 years ago. ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket

    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo

    BookBrowse Review
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine Evaristo's Booker Prize-winning novel Girl, Woman, Other, her thoughts flow ...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Elisabeth Cook
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Bernardine Evaristo's Booker Prize Win

    In October of 2019, Bernardine Evaristo took home the Booker Prize in a win that garnered special attention for multiple reasons. Specifically, Evaristo was the first Black woman to win the prize, and she didn't have the win all to herself; the ... Beyond the Book
  • Editor's Choice

    Book Jacket: The Revisioners

    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton

    BookBrowse Review
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three timelines. In present-day Louisiana, 34-year-old Ava Jackson and her 12-year...

    Book Reviewed by:
    Lisa Butts
    Read Review

    Beyond the Book: Income Inequality in New Orleans

    In Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's The Revisioners, mixed race protagonist Ava moves into her aging white grandmother's ostentatious New Orleans mansion in order to help out, and also to save money so she can one day afford to buy a home of her own. ... Beyond the Book

This Week's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: When Death Becomes Life
  • Book Jacket: A Bookshop in Berlin
  • Book Jacket: Ghost Wall
  • Book Jacket: American Dirt
  • Book Jacket: Daughter of Moloka'i
  • Book Jacket: Followers
  • Book Jacket: The Sacrament
  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
  • Book Jacket: The Wrong Heaven
  • Book Jacket: This Is Happiness
  • Book Jacket: Between Two Fires
  • Book Jacket: Solitary
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Man
  • Book Jacket: The Parisian
  • Book Jacket: The Inflamed Mind
  • Book Jacket: Deep Creek

Find a book

Find Your Next Great Read!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Members read and review books before they're published. See what they'll be reviewing soon.

  • BookBrowse Book Club
    Book Jacket

    The Lost Man
    by Jane Harper

    "Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
    —BookBrowse

    Join the discussion!

More Discussions

  1.  212Today We Go Home:
    Kelli Estes
  2.  299Evening in Paradise:
    Lucia Berlin
  3.  304The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek:
    Kim Michele Richardson

All Discussions

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Book Club Recommendations
  • Sugar Run Book Jacket
    Sugar Run
    by Mesha Maren

    Set within the charged insularity of rural West Virginia, Sugar Run is a searing and ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Lisa Butts

  • The Falconer Book Jacket
    The Falconer
    by Dana Czapnik

    Told in vibrant, quicksilver prose, The Falconer is a coming-of-age story, providing a ...

    Book Reviewed by
    Lisa Butts

  • A Spark of Light Book Jacket
    A Spark of Light
    by Jodi Picoult

    A powerful and provocative new novel about ordinary lives that intersect during a heart-...

    Book Reviewed by
    Karen Lewis

Featured Book Club

featured bookclub

Recent Reader Reviews
  • If the Creek Don't Rise
    by Leah Weiss

    “If the creek don't rise," debut novel by Leah Weiss, is a treasure. Set in an environment of extremes-wretched poverty amidst the majesty of the NC mountains, its ...
    read more

  • Olive, Again
    by Elizabeth Strout

    As with the first book, Olive Kitteridge, this is the story of a singular woman living her brief life on the coast of Maine, creating wreckage with her acerbic tongue and...
    read more

  • The Starless Sea
    by Erin Morgenstern

    I loved this book just as I loved THE NIGHT CIRCUS. Two different reads but Erin Morgenstern is a wonderful writer. THE STARLESS SEA is a book you need to read daily or...
    read more

  • Inland
    by Téa Obreht

    I am not surprised to see that this strange and wondrous novel has generated a wide range of opinions, that it is found by some to be opaque or even pointless. As with ...
    read more

  • News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles

    Captain Kidd had experience traveling uncharted lands as he read his newspapers in different towns to spread the news of the world, but traveling with a ten-year-old girl...
    read more

  • Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan

    This book is much more than a book about a zookeeper and his animals. Callaghan writes of the occupation of Mosul by Daesh, the new laws invoked that make daily life very...
    read more

Give a BookBrowse Membership

A BookBrowse Membership is the ideal gift for your book loving friends and family.

Give a Gift Membership

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.