Free copies of books to read and review, or read and discuss.

Free Books to Request

Members resident in the U.S. have the opportunity to request free books through our First Impressions and Book Club programs. Members who take part regularly tend to get assigned a book about every 3-4 months, sometimes more frequently, occasionally less so. For licensing and logistical reasons, publishers can only provide books to U.S. residents. Full FAQ.

Members: Please login and then return to this page to request a copy of a book or find out when these books will be available.

Not yet a member? Find out more!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!


Books to Discuss in BookBrowse's Book Club

  • In Every Mirror She's Black Jacket
    In Every Mirror She's Black:
    A Novel
    by Lolá Ákínmádé Åkerström
    Sourcebooks
    Publishes: 09/07/2021
    Genre: Novels
    416 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    An arresting debut for anyone looking for insight into what it means to be a Black woman in the world.

    The discussion forum will open on Sept 4, and will stay open for at least six weeks. All are welcome to take part, so if you've already read this book, there is no need to request a copy. Instead sign up to be notified when the discussion opens.

    Those assigned this book will receive a print copy by mail.

    More about this book

  • Daughters Of Smoke & Fire Jacket
    Daughters Of Smoke & Fire:
    A Novel
    by Ava Homa
    The Overlook Press
    Published: 05/11/2021
    Genre: Novels
    304 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    The unforgettable, haunting story of a young woman's perilous fight for freedom and justice for her brother, the first novel published in English by a female Kurdish writer.

    The discussion forum will open on Aug 14, and will stay open for at least six weeks. All are welcome to take part, so if you've already read this book, there is no need to request a copy. Instead sign up to be notified when the discussion opens.

    Those assigned this book will receive a print copy by mail.

    More about this book

  • Migrations Jacket
    Migrations:
    A Novel
    by Charlotte McConaghy
    Flatiron Books
    Publishes: 07/06/2021
    Genre: Novels
    288 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    For readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven, a novel set on the brink of catastrophe, as a young woman chases the world's last birds--and her own final chance for redemption.

    The discussion forum will open on July 31, and will stay open for at least six weeks. All are welcome to take part, so if you've already read this book, there is no need to request a copy. Instead sign up to be notified when the discussion opens.

    Those assigned this book will receive a print copy by mail.

    More about this book


Books to Read & Review for First Impressions

  • The Last Chance Library Jacket
    The Last Chance Library
    by Freya Sampson
    Berkley Books
    Publishes: 08/31/2021
    Genre: Novels
    336 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    June Jones emerges from her shell to fight for her beloved local library, and through the efforts and support of an eclectic group of library patrons, she discovers life-changing friendships along the way.

    Those assigned this book will receive a print copy by mail.

    More about this book

  • The Sunset Route Jacket
    The Sunset Route:
    Freight Trains, Forgiveness, and Freedom on the Rails in the American West
    by Carrot Quinn
    The Dial Press
    Publishes: 07/06/2021
    Genre: Biography/Memoir
    320 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    The unforgettable story of one woman who leaves behind her hardscrabble childhood in Alaska to travel the country via freight train—a beautiful memoir about forgiveness, self-discovery, and the redemptive power of nature, perfect for fans of Wild or Educated.

    Those assigned this book will receive a print copy by mail.

    More about this book

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.