Free copies of books to read and review, or read and discuss.

First Impressions and The BookBrowse Book Club

First Impressions and the Book Club give BookBrowse members the opportunity to read and review or discuss books for free. Members who take part regularly tend to get assigned a book about every 3 months, sometimes more frequently, occasionally less so. For reasons of copyright and logistics the publishers who provide the books for First Impressions can only mail to US residents. Full FAQ.

Members: Please login and then return to this page to request a copy of a book or find out when these books will be available.

Not yet a member? Find out more!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Click For More Information About First Impressions and The Book Club
Each month BookBrowse offers free books to our US-resident members (including free shipping) with the understanding that the recipients will do their best to write a short review within about six weeks of receiving the book for "First Impressions" books. Or, participate in a discussion if it's a "Book Club" pick - discussions are open for at least six weeks so members can drop in at their convenience, but early participation is much appreciated.

We know that life sometimes has a habit of getting in the way of our best intentions, so if something prevents a member from being able to read a book in the time frame, there is always the option to opt out - reading should be fun, not a chore! With that said, the offers are almost always oversubscribed so we ask that members only request books that they are genuinely interested in, and they think they have time to read and review or discuss in a reasonably timely fashion.

This page has two sections - the first section displays books to read and discuss in BookBrowse's Book Club. Below that are books to read and review for First Impressions. Some members enjoy both reviewing and discussing books, but some are only interested in one or the other. If you are a member and are only interested in reviewing books, please only pick books from the First Impressions section. Likewise, if you are only interested in discussing books, please only pick books from the Book Club section.

Members who take part relatively regularly tend to receive about 3-4 free books a year. We do our best to allocate copies as fairly as we can, assigning books primarily on the length of time since a member was last assigned one. For example, if John and Jane both request Book A and John was last sent a book four months ago, while Jane was sent one three months ago, John has priority. Sometimes we will have a lot of copies of a particular book and relatively few requests and are able to assign books to members more frequently than average. Sometimes the opposite is the case.

There's no need to rush to request a book - the chance of being selected are the same whether applying in the first minute or the last. Members assigned to a particular book are sent an email within 2 days of the offer closing, and should receive a printed copy of the book in the mail within about three weeks.

The books sent for First Impressions are usually advance reading copies (ARCs). These are paperback editions produced some months ahead of publication. Sometimes the book will have its finished cover image, sometimes a temporary one, and sometimes just a plain jacket. As ARCs are produced before the final round of editing and proofreading they will sometimes include small errors that will be corrected in the final version. In some cases they maybe missing the finishing touches - for example, depending on the type of book, it might be missing photos, an index or author's note.

The books sent for the Book Club are usually finished copies, either hardcovers, or paperbacks. Occasionally they are ARCs - in which case please refer to the paragraph above.

Still Got Questions:
First Impressions FAQ
BookBrowse Book Club FAQ


Books to Discuss in BookBrowse's Book Club

  • Force of Nature Jacket
    Force of Nature
    by Jane Harper

    Flatiron Books
    Published: 02/06/2018
    Genre: Novels
    320 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Dry, when a hiker goes missing, secrets and betrayal among friends are exposed, and Agent Aaron Falk will find out what happened.

    More about this book

Click For More Information About First Impressions & The Book Club

Each month BookBrowse offers free books to our US-resident members (including free shipping) with the understanding that the recipients will do their best to write a short review within about six weeks of receiving the book for "First Impressions" books. Or, participate in a discussion if it's a "Book Club" pick - discussions are open for at least six weeks so members can drop in at their convenience, but early participation is much appreciated.

We know that life sometimes has a habit of getting in the way of our best intentions, so if something prevents a member from being able to read a book in the time frame, there is always the option to opt out - reading should be fun, not a chore! With that said, the offers are almost always oversubscribed so we ask that members only request books that they are genuinely interested in, and they think they have time to read and review or discuss in a reasonably timely fashion.

This page has two sections - the first section displays books to read and discuss in BookBrowse's Book Club. Below that are books to read and review for First Impressions. Some members enjoy both reviewing and discussing books, but some are only interested in one or the other. If you are a member and are only interested in reviewing books, please only pick books from the First Impressions section. Likewise, if you are only interested in discussing books, please only pick books from the Book Club section.

Members who take part relatively regularly tend to receive about 3-4 free books a year. We do our best to allocate copies as fairly as we can, assigning books primarily on the length of time since a member was last assigned one. For example, if John and Jane both request Book A and John was last sent a book four months ago, while Jane was sent one three months ago, John has priority. Sometimes we will have a lot of copies of a particular book and relatively few requests and are able to assign books to members more frequently than average. Sometimes the opposite is the case.

There's no need to rush to request a book - the chance of being selected are the same whether applying in the first minute or the last. Members assigned to a particular book are sent an email within 2 days of the offer closing, and should receive a printed copy of the book in the mail within about three weeks.

The books sent for First Impressions are usually advance reading copies (ARCs). These are paperback editions produced some months ahead of publication. Sometimes the book will have its finished cover image, sometimes a temporary one, and sometimes just a plain jacket. As ARCs are produced before the final round of editing and proofreading they will sometimes include small errors that will be corrected in the final version. In some cases they maybe missing the finishing touches - for example, depending on the type of book, it might be missing photos, an index or author's note.

The books sent for the Book Club are usually finished copies, either hardcovers, or paperbacks. Occasionally they are ARCs - in which case please refer to the paragraph above.

Still Got Questions:
First Impressions FAQ
BookBrowse Book Club FAQ


Books to Read & Review for First Impressions

  • The Affairs of the Falcóns Jacket
    The Affairs of the Falcóns:
    A Novel
    by Melissa Rivero

    Ecco
    Publishes: 04/02/2019
    Genre: Novels
    288 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    A stunning debut novel about a young undocumented Peruvian woman fighting to keep her family afloat in New York City.

    More about this book

  • The Night Tiger Jacket
    The Night Tiger:
    A Novel
    by Yangsze Choo

    Flatiron Books
    Publishes: 02/12/2019
    Genre: Historical Fiction
    384 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    A sweeping historical novel about a dance-hall girl and an orphan boy whose fates entangle over an old Chinese superstition about men who turn into tigers.

    More about this book

  • The Last Romantics Jacket
    The Last Romantics:
    A Novel
    by Tara Conklin

    William Morrow
    Publishes: 02/19/2019
    Genre: Novels
    368 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings.

    More about this book

  • House of Stone Jacket
    House of Stone:
    A Novel
    by Novuyo Rosa Tshuma

    W.W. Norton & Company
    Publishes: 01/29/2019
    Genre: Novels
    400 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    Pulsing with wit, seduction, and dark humor, House of Stone is a masterful debut that explores the creative, and often destructive, act of history-making.

    More about this book

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.