Free copies of books to read and review, or read and discuss.

First Impressions and The BookBrowse Book Club

First Impressions and the Book Club give BookBrowse members the opportunity to read and review or discuss books for free. Members who take part regularly tend to get assigned a book about every 3 months, sometimes more frequently, occasionally less so. For reasons of copyright and logistics the publishers who provide the books for First Impressions can only mail to US residents. Full FAQ.

Members: Please login and then return to this page to request a copy of a book or find out when these books will be available.

Not yet a member? Find out more!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!


Books to Discuss in BookBrowse's Book Club

  • Of Women and Salt Jacket
    Of Women and Salt
    by Gabriela Garcia

    Flatiron Books
    Publishes: 04/06/2021
    Genre: Novels
    224 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    Gabriela Garcia is the recipient of a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writer's Award and a Steinbeck Fellowship from San Jose State University. Her fiction and poems have appeared in Best American Poetry, Tin House, Zyzzyva, Iowa Review, and elsewhere. She is the daughter of immigrants from Mexico and Cuba and grew up in Miami. Of Women and Salt is her first novel.

    More about this book


Books to Read & Review for First Impressions

  • Palace of the Drowned Jacket
    Palace of the Drowned
    by Christine Mangan

    Flatiron Books
    Publishes: 06/01/2021
    Genre: Thrillers
    320 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    A suspenseful, transporting literary thriller about a British novelist who heads to Venice after a public breakdown, by Christine Mangan, the bestselling author of Tangerine.

    More about this book

  • Ariadne Jacket
    Ariadne
    by Jennifer Saint

    Flatiron Books
    Publishes: 05/04/2021
    Genre: Historical Fiction
    320 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    Hypnotic, propulsive, and utterly transporting, Jennifer Saint's Ariadne forges a new epic, outside the traditional narratives of heroism and glory that leave no room for women.

    More about this book

  • Footnotes Jacket
    Footnotes:
    The Black Artists Who Rewrote the Rules of the Great White Way
    by Caseen Gaines

    Sourcebooks
    Publishes: 05/25/2021
    Genre: History, Science & Current Affairs
    352 pages

    Members, please login to request this book.

    About this Book
    For readers of Hidden Figures and Something Wonderful, Footnotes is the story of New York in the roaring twenties and the very first Broadway show with an all-black cast and creative team to succeed―and the indelible mark on our popular culture.

    More about this book

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.