Archives of "The BookBrowse Review": Reviews, previews, back-stories, news

The BookBrowse Review

August 24, 2016

The human ability to transcend limitations, both physical and mental, is ably showcased by many books in this issue, including The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko, where the aftereffects of Chernobyl takes a physical toll on its characters. In Hot Milk, a young study-abroad student must try to find independence despite being the primary caretaker for her physically challenged mother. New paperbacks from authors we love such as Margaret Atwood and Jonathan Franzen complete our lineup. As always, happy reading!

August 03, 2016

Life's experiences are often mirrored in literature as the many compelling books in this issue demonstrate. Popular author Arturo Perez-Reverte is back with What We Become, while a young woman returns to her childhood home and a tragic accident that shaped her life, in Arrowood. New in paperback are Anthony Marra's The Tsar of Love and Techno, set in Chechnya and Russia; as well as Jade Dragon Mountain, a sparkling whodunnit unraveling in 18th-century China. Jump in and happy reading!

July 13, 2016

Spice up your reading routine with the diverse treats in this issue. We offer narrative nonfiction with The Dragon Behind the Glass, historical fiction with A Certain Age, and an alternate history of America in Underground Airlines. Stock up on new paperback releases such as Bull Mountain, winner of the 2015 BookBrowse Best Debut Novel award and Circling the Sun, a fine example of historical fiction with a spunky heroine at its center. With so many choices, you'll find plenty to keep you in books for a while. So dive in!

June 22, 2016

As readers we delight both in the joy of reacquainting ourselves with our favorite authors, veterans who churn out one great book after the other, and in discovering new writers who show great promise. This issue features selections from both these categories with books from Nobel Laureate, Herta Muller; Julian Barnes and Richard Russo among established industry greats and work such as Homegoing from debut author Yaa Gyasi. A healthy crop of new paperbacks includes Among the Ten Thousand Things and a rollicking ride along The Oregon Trail. Happy reading!

June 01, 2016

Large presses and small. We look high and low for the books to feature in BookBrowse. This issue's selection, including Flannery, The Seed Collectors and Quiet Neighbors, is a perfect sampling of recommended literature from small and independent publishing houses. We have mysteries such as Death in Brittany and Bad Country to keep you company poolside this summer, now released in paperback. As always, we hope you enjoy our carefully curated finds. Happy reading!

May 18, 2016

Diversity. We embrace it in the books we review and feature, the many Beyond the Books sections we explore and the voices of our reviewers. Some of the varied books in this issue include veteran author Stewart O'Nan's City of Secrets as well as the debut, The Mirror Thief. You can sail on the high seas with The North Water or visit New Delhi, India, with The Association of Small Bombs. One of the best books from 2015, Medicine Walk, is now released in paperback. These and many more form our diverse crop of features this issue so jump right in and happy reading!

May 04, 2016

Historical fiction is always a great transport to a time and place different from ours and popular author Chris Cleave's Everyone Brave Is Forgiven, brings us right in the middle of World War II action. Pick up the paperback original The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper for a dash of whimsy and travel to a remote Basque village to chase down a serial killer in The Invisible Guardian. Newly released in paperback is When the Moon Is Low, an Afghan family's flight from Taliban control. Which new books will you add to your list? Happy reading and Happy Mother's Day!

More Back Issues

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.