MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • The Woman Before Wallis
    Bryn Turnbull
    Published 7/21/20

    For fans of The Paris Wife and The Crown, this stunning novel tells the true story of the American divorcée who captured Prince Edward's heart before he abdicated his ...
  • He Started It
    Samantha Downing
    Published 7/21/20

    From the twisted mind behind mega hit My Lovely Wife comes the story of a family - not unlike your own - just with a few more violent tendencies thrown in....
  • Hieroglyphics
    Jill McCorkle
    Published 7/28/20

    Hieroglyphics reveals the difficulty of ever really knowing the intentions and dreams and secrets of the people who raised you. In her deeply layered and masterful novel, Jill...

Publishing This Week

  • A Lab of One's Own
    Rita Colwell PhD
    Published 8/4/20

    A riveting memoir-manifesto from the first female director of the National Science Foundation about the entrenched sexism in science, the elaborate detours women have taken to...
  • A Mind Spread Out on the Ground
    Alicia Elliott
    Published 8/4/20

    A bold and profound meditation on trauma, legacy, oppression and racism in North America from an award-winning Haudenosaunee writer.
  • A Saint from Texas
    Edmund White
    Published 8/4/20

    From Edmund White, a bold and sweeping new novel that traces the extraordinary fates of twin sisters, one destined for Parisian nobility and the other for Catholic sainthood.

Publishing Soon

  • Olive the Lionheart
    Brad Ricca
    Published 8/11/20

    From the Edgar-nominated author of the bestselling Mrs. Sherlock Holmes comes the true story of a woman's quest to Africa in the 1900s to find her missing fiancé, and the...
  • The Arsonist
    Chloe Hooper
    Published 8/11/20

    The true story of the most devastating wildfire in Australian history and the search for the man who started it.
  • The Quiet Girl
    S.F. Kosa
    Published 8/11/20

    To find his wife, Alex must face what Layla has forgotten. And the consequences are anything but quiet.

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • The Life and Art of Pegeen Guggenheim
    Beyond the book article for Costalegre
    Costalegre's main protagonist Lara Calaway is based on real-life artist Pegeen Vail Guggenheim (1925-1967), daughter of wealthy New York art collector and socialite Peggy Guggenheim (1898–1979). In her afterword, author Courtney Maum leaves a dedication to the not widely known artist: 'Pegeen:...
  • Vichy France During World War II
    Beyond the book article for The Flight Portfolio
    It is a well-known fact that France was occupied by Nazi Germany during World War II. Not only is this chapter in history covered in textbooks and classrooms, it is also frequently the subject of movies and novels. The simplified picture of France at this time would include patriotic French citizens...
  • Ann Cleeves' Five Mystery Series
    Beyond the book article for The Long Call
    Ann Cleeves (b. 1954) is best known for her mystery novels set in rural Britain, which have sold over five million copies in the thirty-plus years she's been writing. Cleeves has penned four series before releasing The Long Call, the first entry in her new Two Rivers series:

    George and Molly ...

New in Hardcover

  • The Buddhist on Death Row
    David Sheff
    Published 8/4/20

    The #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Boy explores the transformation of Jarvis Jay Masters who has become one of America's most inspiring Buddhist ...
  • In the Valley
    Ron Rash
    Published 8/4/20

    From bestselling and award-winning writer Ron Rash ("One of the great American authors at work today."--the New York Times) comes a collection of ten searing stories and the ...
  • After the Last Border
    Jessica Goudeau
    Published 8/4/20

    The story of two refugee families and their hope and resilience as they fight to survive and belong in America.

New in Paperback

  • A Bookshop in Berlin
    Francoise Frenkel
    Published 8/4/20

    "A beautiful and important book" (The Independent) in the tradition of rediscovered works like Suite Française and The Nazi Officer's Wife, the prize-winning memoir of a ...
  • The Starless Sea
    Erin Morgenstern
    Published 8/4/20

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world - a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ...
  • Find Me
    Andre Aciman
    Published 8/4/20

    In this spellbinding exploration of the varieties of love, the author of the worldwide bestseller Call Me by Your Name revisits its complex and beguiling characters decades ...

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • The Guest Book
    Sarah Blake
    Published 5/5/20

    Sarah Blake's triumphant novel tells the story of a family and a country that buries its past in quiet, until the present calls forth a reckoning.
  • How to Pronounce Knife
    Souvankham Thammavongsa
    Published 4/21/20

    Spare, unsentimental, and distilled to riveting essentials, these "emotionally devastating" stories honor the surreal, funny, and often wrenching realities of trying to build ...
  • Master Class
    Christina Dalcher
    Published 4/21/20

    From the critically-acclaimed author of the international bestseller VOX comes a suspenseful new novel that examines a disturbing near future where harsh realities follow from...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.