We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

New This Week

  • After Annie
    Anna Quindlen
    Published 2/27/24

    Written in Quindlen's emotionally resonant voice and with her deep and generous understanding of people, After Annie is about hope, and about the unexpected power of adversity...
  • My Beloved Life
    Amitava Kumar
    Published 2/27/24

    An absorbing, exceptionally moving novel that traces the arc of a man's life, an ordinary life made exceptional by the fact that he has loved and has been loved in turn.
  • Wandering Stars
    Tommy Orange
    Published 2/27/24

    The Pulitzer Prize-finalist and author of the breakout bestseller There There delivers a masterful follow-up to his already classic first novel. Extending his constellation of...

Publishing Soon

  • Catastrophe Ethics
    Travis Rieder
    Published 3/5/24

    How to live a morally decent life in the midst of today's constant, complex choices.
  • Pelican Girls
    Julia Malye
    Published 3/5/24

    A sweeping epic in the vein of Philipp Meyer's The Son and Min Jin Lee's Pachinko and inspired by a true story, this stunning US literary debut captures the never-before-told ...
  • Never Been Better
    Leanne Toshiko Simpson
    Published 3/5/24

    A hilariously offbeat and tender comedy about one bipolar woman's messy search for love at a seaside wedding where no one can stay afloat.

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • Leaving
    Roxana Robinson
    Published 2/13/24

    What risks would you be willing to take to fall in love again?
  • Strong Passions
    Barbara Weisberg
    Published 2/20/24

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery explode in an incendiary nineteenth-century trial, exposing upper-crust New York society and its secrets.
  • Help Wanted
    Adelle Waldman
    Published 3/5/24

    From the best-selling author of The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. comes a sharp and funny tale of work in our time.

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • The Summerland Disaster on the Isle of Man
    Beyond the book article for Someday, Maybe
    In the novel Someday, Maybe by Onyi Nwabineli, photographer Quentin Morrow was scheduled to go on a photography retreat on the Isle of Man before his death. In the middle of the Irish Sea, the Isle of Man is an island with its own parliament, customs, history and a population of over 80,000. While ...
  • Little Vienna, a Jewish Haven in Shanghai
    Beyond the book article for The World and All That It Holds
    In Aleksandar Hemon's novel The World and All That It Holds, Rafael Pinto is a Sephardic Jew in Sarajevo at the beginning of the 20th century. When World War I erupts, he's flung east—first to Galicia, in what is now Ukraine and Poland, to fight for the Austro-Hungarian Empire; then to ...
  • The Djinn in Islamic Folk Culture
    Beyond the book article for The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    In Shubnum Khan's debut novel The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years, set amidst the Indian diaspora of South Africa, fifteen-year-old Sana and her father move into a dilapidated house by the sea that is haunted by a djinn. The djinn is the link between past and present, a connection between the 21st-...

New in Hardcover

  • The Warm Hands of Ghosts
    Katherine Arden
    Published 2/13/24

    During the Great War, a combat nurse searches for her brother, believed dead in the trenches despite eerie signs that suggest otherwise, in this hauntingly beautiful ...
  • Neighbors and Other Stories
    Diane Oliver
    Published 2/13/24

    A bold and haunting debut story collection that follows various characters as they navigate the day-to-day perils of Jim Crow racism from Diane Oliver, a missing figure in the...
  • A Map of Future Ruins
    Lauren Markham
    Published 2/13/24

    A mesmerizing, trailblazing synthesis of reporting, history, memoir, and essay.

New in Paperback

  • Blind Spots
    Thomas Mullen
    Published 2/20/24

    A riveting crime novel with a speculative edge about the ways our perceptions of reality can be manipulated.
  • What Happened to Ruthy Ramirez
    Claire Jimenez
    Published 2/20/24

    A powerful debut novel that's "hilarious, heartbreaking, and a**-kicking" (Jamie Ford), of a Puerto Rican family in Staten Island who discovers their long‑missing sister...
  • Stealing
    Margaret Verble
    Published 2/20/24

    A gripping, gut-punch of a novel about a Cherokee child removed from her family and sent to a Christian boarding school in the 1950s—an ambitious, eye-opening reckoning ...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.