Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • The Blind Light
    Stuart Evers
    Published 10/13/20

    A multigenerational story about two families bound together by the tides of history and the bittersweet complexity of love.
  • Stories from Suffragette City
    M.J. Rose & Fiona Davis (editors)
    Published 10/27/20

    Stories from Suffragette City is a collection of short stories that all take place on a single day: October 23, 1915.
  • The Smallest Lights in the Universe
    Sara Seager
    Published 8/18/20

    In this luminous memoir, an MIT astrophysicist must reinvent herself in the wake of tragedy and discovers the power of connection on this planet, even as she searches our ...

Publishing This Week

  • A Certain Hunger
    Chelsea G. Summers
    Published 12/1/20

    Food critic Dorothy Daniels loves what she does. Discerning, meticulous, and very, very smart, Dorothy's clear mastery of the culinary arts make it likely that she could, on ...
  • Dark, Salt, Clear
    Lamorna Ash
    Published 12/1/20

    From an adventurous and discerning new voice reminiscent of Robert Macfarlane, a captivating portrait of a community eking out its living in a coastal landscape as stark and ...
  • Every Last Secret
    A.R. Torre
    Published 12/1/20

    Welcome to the neighborhood. Watch your husband, watch your friends, and watch your back.

Publishing Soon

  • Bag Man
    Rachel Maddow
    Published 12/8/20

    The knockdown, drag-out, untold story of the other scandal that rocked Nixon's White House, and reset the rules for crooked presidents to come - with new reporting that ...
  • Girl Gurl Grrrl
    Kenya Hunt
    Published 12/8/20

    In the vein of Roxane Gay's Bad Feminist and Issa Rae's The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl, but wholly its own, a provocative, humorous, and, at times, heartbreaking ...
  • Take It Back
    Kia Abdullah
    Published 12/8/20

    From author Kia Abdullah, Take It Back is a harrowing and twisting courtroom thriller that keeps you guessing until the last page is turned.

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • Women in Translation
    Beyond the book article for Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Translated fiction is something of a rarity in the English-speaking world. It's been widely reported that only about three percent of books published in the United States were originally written in a language other than English – a statistic that led to the creation of the University of ...
  • Operation Babylift
    Beyond the book article for Butterfly Yellow
    In April 1975, thousands of American troops, civilians and South Vietnamese refugees were frantically airlifted out of Saigon, representing the end of American military involvement in the Vietnam War. The images of the rescue were seared into the public consciousness.

    The U.S. government felt ...
  • The Seine
    Beyond the book article for The Seine
    In her fifth book, The Seine: The River that Made Paris, New York Times foreign correspondent Elaine Sciolino explores the history of one of the world's most famous rivers and its impact on the capital of France.

    The 777-kilometer-long (483 mi) river runs from its source near Dijon in ...

New in Hardcover

  • The Orchard
    David Hopen
    Published 11/17/20

    A commanding debut and a poignant coming-of-age story about a devout Jewish high school student whose plunge into the secularized world threatens everything he knows of ...
  • Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Kao Kalia Yang
    Published 11/10/20

    From "an exceptional storyteller," Somewhere in the Unknown World is a collection of powerful stories of refugees who have found new lives in Minnesota's Twin Cities, told by ...
  • One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    Ellen Cooney
    Published 11/10/20

    A young interfaith chaplain is joined on her hospital rounds one night by an unusual companion: a rough-and-tumble dog who may or may not be a ghost.

New in Paperback

  • Divide Me By Zero
    Lara Vapnyar
    Published 11/17/20

    As a young girl, Katya Geller learned from her mother that math was the answer to everything. Now, approaching forty, she finds this wisdom tested.
  • The Water Dancer
    Ta-Nehisi Coates
    Published 11/17/20

    In his boldly imagined first novel, Ta-Nehisi Coates, the National Book Award–winning author of Between the World and Me, brings home the most intimate evil of ...
  • Followers
    Megan Angelo
    Published 11/10/20

    An electrifying story of two ambitious friends, the dark choices they make and the profound moment that changes the meaning of privacy forever.

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • Homeland Elegies
    Ayad Akhtar
    Published 9/15/20

    From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Disgraced and American Dervish: an immigrant father and his son search for belonging -- in post-Trump America, and with each other.
  • Transcendent Kingdom
    Yaa Gyasi
    Published 9/1/20

    Yaa Gyasi's stunning follow-up to her acclaimed national bestseller Homegoing is a powerful, raw, intimate, deeply layered novel about a Ghanaian family in Alabama.
  • His Only Wife
    Peace Adzo Medie
    Published 9/1/20

    "Elikem married me in absentia; he did not come to our wedding."

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.