MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • Actress
    Anne Enright
    Published 3/3/20

    From the Man Booker Prize–winner, a brilliant and moving novel about celebrity, sexual power, and a daughter's search to understand her mother's hidden truths.
  • The Yellow Bird Sings
    Jennifer Rosner
    Published 3/3/20

    In Poland, as World War II rages, a mother hides with her young daughter, a musical prodigy whose slightest sound may cost them their lives.
  • And They Called It Camelot
    Stephanie Marie Thornton
    Published 3/10/20

    An unforgettable portrait of the iconic life of Jackie O as she transforms herself into an American legend from acclaimed author Stephanie Marie Thornton.

Publishing This Week

  • Code Name Hélène
    Ariel Lawhon
    Published 3/31/20

    Based on the thrilling real-life story of socialite spy Nancy Wake, comes the newest feat of historical fiction from the New York Times bestselling author of I Was Anastasia, ...
  • Days of Distraction
    Alexandra Chang
    Published 3/31/20

    A wry, tender portrait of a young woman - finally free to decide her own path, but unsure if she knows herself well enough to choose wisely - from a captivating new literary ...
  • Death in Mud Lick
    Eric Eyre
    Published 3/31/20

    From a Pulitzer Prize–winning reporter from the smallest newspaper ever to win the prize in the investigative reporting category, an urgent, riveting, and heartbreaking ...

Publishing Soon

  • The Lost Orphan
    Stacey Halls
    Published 4/7/20

    From the bestselling author of The Familiars comes this captivating story of mothers and daughters, class and power, and love against the greatest of odds...
  • The Love Story of Missy Carmichael
    Beth Morrey
    Published 4/7/20

    For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine and A Man Called Ove, a life-affirming, deeply moving "coming-of-old" story, a celebration of how ordinary days are made ...
  • The Pelton Papers
    Mari Coates
    Published 4/7/20

    A richly imagined novel based on the life of artist Agnes Pelton, whose life tracks the early days of modernism in America.

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • The Legendary Esalen Institute
    Beyond the book article for Professor Chandra Follows His Bliss
    In Rajeev Balasubramanyam's novel, Professor Chandra Follows his Bliss, about a man's golden years' journey to finding himself, Oxford Professor P. R. Chandrasekhar takes a course in self-awareness at California's legendary Esalen Institute. Tucked between the mountains and the Pacific Ocean, Esalen...
  • American Complicity in Chinese Authoritarianism
    Beyond the book article for The Scientist and the Spy
    Under President Bill Clinton, the United States agreed to allow the People's Republic of China into the World Trade Organization (WTO). The deal was finalized under President George W. Bush in December 2001. It was believed at the time that international trade would help depose one of the most ...
  • Hidden Dangers: War's Legacy of Unexploded Ordnance
    Beyond the book article for Run Me to Earth
    Author Paul Yoon's novel Run Me to Earth describes Laos as a beautiful landscape marked forever with unexploded ordnance (UXO) left in the wake of war from 1964 to 1973. Concealed explosives impact every character in the novel. The legacy of landmines and other unexploded munitions endures in the ...

New in Hardcover

  • The Everlasting
    Katy Simpson Smith
    Published 3/24/20

    From a supremely talented author comes this brilliant and inventive novel, set in Rome in four different centuries, that explores love in all its various incarnations and ...
  • The Glass Hotel
    Emily St. John Mandel
    Published 3/24/20

    From the award-winning author of Station Eleven , an exhilarating novel set at the glittering intersection of two seemingly disparate events - a massive Ponzi scheme collapse ...
  • The Mountains Sing
    Nguyen Phan Que Mai
    Published 3/17/20

    The Mountains Sing tells an enveloping, multigenerational tale of the Trần family, set against the backdrop of the Việt Nam War. "Both vast in scope and intimate ...

New in Paperback

  • The Old Drift
    Namwali Serpell
    Published 3/19/20

    An electrifying debut from the winner of the 2015 Caine Prize for African writing, The Old Drift is the Great Zambian Novel you didn't know you were waiting for.
  • The Winemaker's Wife
    Kristin Harmel
    Published 3/17/20

    A moving story set amid the champagne vineyards of northern France during the darkest days of World War II.
  • The Wall
    John Lanchester
    Published 3/17/20

    The best-selling author of The Debt to Pleasure and Capital returns with a chilling fable for our time.

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • The Truants
    Kate Weinberg
    Published 1/28/20

    Seductive, unsettling, and beautifully written, The Truants is a debut novel of literary suspense perfect for lovers of Agatha Christie and The Secret History - a thrilling ...
  • Inheritance
    Dani Shapiro
    Published 1/28/20

    A new memoir about identity, paternity, and family secrets--a real-time exploration of the staggering discovery Shapiro recently made about her father, and her struggle to ...
  • Follow Me to Ground
    Sue Rainsford
    Published 1/21/20

    A haunted, surreal debut novel about an otherworldly young woman, her father, and her lover that culminates in a shocking moment of betrayal - one that upends our ...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.