Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • The Blind Light
    Stuart Evers
    Published 10/13/20

    A multigenerational story about two families bound together by the tides of history and the bittersweet complexity of love.
  • Big Girl, Small Town
    Michelle Gallen
    Published 12/1/20

    Meet Majella O'Neill, a heroine like no other, in this captivating Irish debut that has been called Milkman meets Derry Girls. For fans of Sally Rooney, Ottessa Moshfegh, and ...
  • The Fortunate Ones
    Ed Tarkington
    Published 1/5/21

    For fans of Ann Patchett's Commonwealth and Kevin Wilson's Nothing to See Here, The Fortunate Ones is an engrossing story of class, love, and loyalty.

Publishing This Week

  • Group
    Christie Tate
    Published 10/20/20

    The refreshingly original debut memoir of a guarded, over-achieving, self-lacerating young lawyer who reluctantly agrees to get psychologically and emotionally naked in a room...
  • My Heart Underwater
    Laurel Flores Fantauzzo
    Published 10/20/20

    Fans of Adib Khorram and Randy Ribay will love this coming-of-age debut about a Filipina American teen drowning under pressure and learning to trust her heart.
  • Red Comet
    Heather Clark
    Published 10/20/20

    The highly anticipated new biography of Sylvia Plath that focuses on her remarkable literary and intellectual achievements, while restoring the woman behind the long-held ...

Publishing Soon

  • Trial by Fire
    Scott James
    Published 10/27/20

    In only 90 seconds, a fire in the Station nightclub killed 100 people and injured hundreds more. It would take nearly 20 years to find out why - and who was really at fault.
  • House of Correction
    Nicci French
    Published 10/27/20

    In this heart-pounding standalone from the internationally bestselling author that People calls "razor sharp," a woman accused of murder attempts to solve her own case from ...
  • The Cold Millions
    Jess Walter
    Published 10/27/20

    The author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Beautiful Ruins delivers another "literary miracle" (NPR) - a propulsive, richly entertaining novel about two adventure-seeking ...

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • Giovanni Battista Piranesi (1720-1778)
    Beyond the book article for Piranesi
    In Susannah Clarke's novel Piranesi, the titular character lives in a fantastical, labyrinthine home filled with endless hallways, rooms, statues and even an ocean. It's a remarkably inventive setting, and, as our savvy First Impressions reader Lorraine D. noticed, the protagonist's name is a ...
  • Inis Meáin (Inishmaan)
    Beyond the book article for The Dazzling Truth
    Inis Óg, the island home of the Moone family in The Dazzling Truth, might be a fictional location, but exploring the real small coastal islands of Ireland can offer an idea of what it would be like to live where the characters do. Well-known examples include the Aran Islands, three ...
  • The Fusil Gras (Wujigra) in Ethiopia
    Beyond the book article for The Shadow King

    In The Shadow King by Maaza Mengiste, Hirut has a particular attachment to a rifle that her father gave her, a Wujigra, which she goes out of her way to retrieve after Kidane takes it away from her while stockpiling weapons for his army. 'Wujigra' is the Ethiopian term for the Fusil Gras, a ...

New in Hardcover

  • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
    Victoria E. Schwab
    Published 10/6/20

    In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab's genre-defying tour de force.
  • Leave the World Behind
    Rumaan Alam
    Published 10/6/20

    A magnetic novel about two families, strangers to each other, who are forced together on a long weekend gone terribly wrong.
  • The Constant Rabbit
    Jasper Fforde
    Published 9/29/20

    A new stand-alone novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Early Riser and the Thursday Next series.

New in Paperback

  • Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen
    Dexter Palmer
    Published 10/13/20

    In 1726, in the town of Godalming, England, a woman confounded the nation's medical community by giving birth to seventeen rabbits. This astonishing true story is the basis ...
  • Butterfly Yellow
    Thanhha Lai, Daniel Suarez
    Published 10/13/20

    Winner of the 2019 BookBrowse Award for Best Young Adult Novel

    Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply ...
  • Grand Union
    Zadie Smith
    Published 10/6/20

    Zadie Smith has established herself as one of the most iconic, critically respected, and popular writers of her generation. In her first short story collection, she combines ...

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • Find Me
    Andre Aciman
    Published 8/4/20

    In this spellbinding exploration of the varieties of love, the author of the worldwide bestseller Call Me by Your Name revisits its complex and beguiling characters decades ...
  • Lady Clementine
    Marie Benedict
    Published 7/7/20

    New from Marie Benedict, the New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room! An incredible novel that focuses on one of the people who had the most influence ...
  • The Secrets We Kept
    Lara Prescott
    Published 6/30/20

    A thrilling tale of secretaries turned spies, of love and duty, and of sacrifice--inspired by the true story of the CIA plot to infiltrate the hearts and minds of Soviet ...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.