Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

New This Week

First Impressions: Member Recommendations

  • The Kinship of Secrets
    Eugenia Kim
    Published 11/6/18

    From the author of The Calligrapher's Daughter comes the riveting story of two sisters, one raised in the United States, the other in South Korea, and the family that bound them together even as the Korean War kept them apart.
  • Paris Echo
    Sebastian Faulks
    Published 11/6/18

    A story of resistance, complicity, and an unlikely, transformative friendship, set in Paris, from internationally bestselling novelist Sebastian Faulks.
  • A Ladder to the Sky
    John Boyne
    Published 11/13/18

    A seductive, unputdownable psychodrama following one brilliant, ruthless man who will stop at nothing in his pursuit of success.

Publishing This Week

  • Extinctions
    Josephine Wilson
    Published 11/20/18

    Funny, poignant, and galvanizing by turns, Josephine Wilson's award-winning novel explores many kinds of extinction - natural, racial, national, and personal - and what we might do to prevent them.
  • Newcomer
    Keigo Higashino
    Published 11/20/18

    International bestseller Keigo Higashino returns with his latest mindbender, Newcomer - as newly transferred Tokyo Police Detective Kyochiro Kaga is assigned to a baffling murder.
  • My Sister, the Serial Killer
    Oyinkan Braithwaite
    Published 11/20/18

    A short, darkly funny, hand grenade of a novel about a Nigerian woman whose younger sister has a very inconvenient habit of killing her boyfriends.

Publishing Soon

  • Hazards of Time Travel
    Joyce Carol Oates
    Published 11/27/18

    An ingenious, dystopian novel of one young woman's resistance against the constraints of an oppressive society, from the inventive imagination of Joyce Carol Oates.
  • Kingdom of the Blind
    Louise Penny
    Published 11/27/18

    The new Chief Inspector Gamache novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author.
  • The Houseguest
    Amparo Dávila
    Published 11/27/18

    The first collection in English of an endlessly surprising, master storyteller.

Reviews, previews, excerpts, interviews,and much more - all to explore at BookBrowse!

New in Hardcover

  • Vita Nostra
    Marina and Sergey Dyachenko
    Published 11/13/18

    The definitive English language translation of the internationally bestselling Russian novel - a brilliant dark fantasy with "the potential to be a modern classic" (Lev Grossman), combining psychological suspense, enchantment, and terror that makes ...
  • A Ladder to the Sky
    John Boyne
    Published 11/13/18

    A seductive, unputdownable psychodrama following one brilliant, ruthless man who will stop at nothing in his pursuit of success.
  • In Extremis
    Lindsey Hilsum
    Published 11/6/18

    The devastating biography of Marie Colvin, the foremost war reporter of her generation, who was killed in Syria in 2012.

New in Paperback

  • Future Home of the Living God
    Louise Erdrich
    Published 11/13/18

    A startling portrait of a young woman fighting for her life and her unborn child against oppressive forces that manifest in the wake of a cataclysmic event.
  • Happiness
    Heather Harpham
    Published 11/13/18

    A shirt-grabbing, page-turning love story that follows a one-of-a-kind family through twists of fate that require nearly unimaginable choices.
  • Winter
    Ali Smith
    Published 11/6/18

    Smith's shapeshifting novel casts a warm, wise, merry and uncompromising eye over a post-truth era in a story rooted in history and memory and with a taproot deep in the evergreens, art and love.

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • In the Midst of Winter
    Isabel Allende
    Published 9/4/18

    New York Times and worldwide bestselling "dazzling storyteller" (Associated Press) Isabel Allende returns with a sweeping novel about three very different people who are brought together in a mesmerizing story that journeys from present-day Brooklyn ...
  • Midwinter Break
    Bernard MacLaverty
    Published 9/4/18

    For readers of Colm Toíbín, a moving portrait of a marriage in crisis and a couple's search for salvation.
  • Rebellion
    Molly Patterson
    Published 8/28/18

    A sweeping debut that crosses continents and generations, Rebellion tells the story of Addie, Louisa, Hazel, and Juanlan: four women whose rebellions, big and small, are as unexpected as they are unforgettable.

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.