Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

New This Week

  • Metropolis
    B. A. Shapiro
    Published 5/17/22

    This masterful novel of psychological suspense from the New York Times bestselling author of The Art Forger follows a cast of unforgettable characters whose lives intersect ...
  • Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Alison Espach
    Published 5/17/22

    From Alison Espach, author of the New York Times Editor's Choice novel The Adults, comes a dazzlingly unconventional love story for readers of Ask Again, Yes and Tell the ...
  • See You Yesterday
    Rachel Lynn Solomon
    Published 5/17/22

    From the author of Today Tonight Tomorrow comes a magical romance in the vein of Groundhog Day about a girl forced to relive her disastrous first day of college - only to ...

Publishing Soon

  • How We Ricochet
    Faith Gardner
    Published 5/24/22

    For readers of This Is How It Ends and All the Bright Places, How We Ricochet takes an intimate and unflinching look into the devastating consequences of a mass shooting for ...
  • Resistance
    Halik Kochanski
    Published 5/24/22

    Resistance is the first book of its kind: a monumental history that finally integrates the many resistance movements against Nazi hegemony in Europe into a single, sweeping ...
  • The Hangman and His Wife
    Nancy Dougherty
    Published 5/24/22

    An astonishing journey into the heart of Nazi evil: a portrait of one of the darkest figures of Hitler's Nazi elite - Reinhard Heydrich, the designer and executor of the ...

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • Fly Girl
    Ann Hood
    Published 5/3/22

    An entertaining and fascinating memoir of "gifted storyteller" (People) Ann Hood's adventurous years as a TWA flight attendant.
  • The Immortal King Rao
    Vauhini Vara
    Published 5/3/22

    In an Indian village in the 1950s, a precocious child is born into a family of Dalit coconut farmers. King Rao will grow up to be the most accomplished tech CEO in the world ...
  • Metropolis
    B. A. Shapiro
    Published 5/17/22

    This masterful novel of psychological suspense from the New York Times bestselling author of The Art Forger follows a cast of unforgettable characters whose lives intersect ...

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • Village de L'Est and Hurricane Katrina
    Beyond the book article for Things We Lost to the Water
    When the Vietnamese family depicted in Things We Lost to the Water arrives in New Orleans, they move into an apartment building called Versailles located in the eastern part of the city. The setting is based on the real-life Versailles Arms public housing project in the neighborhood of Village de L'...
  • W.E.B. Du Bois
    Beyond the book article for The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois
    William Edward Burghardt Du Bois (aka W.E.B. Du Bois) was a noted author, historian, activist and sociologist as well as a co-founder of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). His philosophies play an important role throughout Honorée Fannone Jeffers' novel The ...
  • Religious Sectarianism in Glasgow: Then and Now
    Beyond the book article for Young Mungo
    One theme of Douglas Stuart's Young Mungo is the quotidian experience of violence. In part, this violence comes from warring sectarian gangs, whose vicious rivalry wreaks havoc in Glasgow's East End. Enmity between Protestants and Catholics has a long history in Glasgow, as well as Scotland more ...

New in Hardcover

  • The Colony
    Audrey Magee
    Published 5/17/22

    In 1979, as violence erupts all over Ireland, two outsiders travel to a small island off the west coast in search of their own answers, despite what it may cost the islanders.
  • We Do What We Do in the Dark
    Michelle Hart
    Published 5/3/22

    A novel about a young woman's life-altering affair with a much older, married woman.
  • Trust
    Hernan Diaz
    Published 5/3/22

    An unparalleled novel about money, power, intimacy, and perception.

New in Paperback

  • The Ground Breaking
    Scott Ellsworth
    Published 5/17/22

    More than one-thousand homes and businesses. Restaurants and movie theaters, churches and doctors' offices, a hospital, a public library, a post office. Looted, burned, and ...
  • Swimming Back to Trout River
    Linda Rui Feng
    Published 5/17/22

    A lyrical novel set against the backdrop of China's Cultural Revolution that follows a father's quest to reunite his family before his precocious daughter's momentous birthday...
  • The Night Always Comes
    Willy Vlautin
    Published 5/17/22

    Award-winning author Willy Vlautin explores the impact of trickle-down greed and opportunism of gentrification on ordinary lives in this scorching novel that captures the ...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.