MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • You Were There Too
    Colleen Oakley
    Published 1/7/20

    Acclaimed author Colleen Oakley delivers a heart-wrenching and unforgettable love story about a woman who must choose between the man she loves and the man fate has chosen for...
  • Creatures
    Crissy Van Meter
    Published 1/7/20

    On the eve of Evangeline's wedding, a dead whale is trapped in the harbor, the groom might be lost at sea, and her mother has shown up out of the blue. Now, in Crissy Van ...
  • Lady Clementine
    Marie Benedict
    Published 1/7/20

    New from Marie Benedict, the New York Times bestselling author of The Only Woman in the Room! An incredible novel that focuses on one of the people who had the most influence ...

Publishing This Week

  • American Queenmaker
    Julie Des Jardins
    Published 1/21/20

    The first biography of Missy Meloney, the most important woman you've never heard of.
  • And in the Vienna Woods the Trees Remain
    Elisabeth Asbrink
    Published 1/21/20

    Winner of the August Prize, an intricate weave of documents, substantive narrative, and emotional commentary that centers on a young Jewish refugee's friendship with the ...
  • My Red Heaven
    Lance Olsen
    Published 1/21/20

    Set on a single day in 1927, My Red Heaven imagines a host of characters - some historic, some invented - crossing paths on the streets of Berlin.

Publishing Soon

  • How to Build a Heart
    Maria Padian
    Published 1/28/20

    One young woman's journey to find her place in the world as the carefully separated strands of her life - family, money, school, and love - begin to overlap and tangle. 
  • Spring Rain
    Andy Warner
    Published 1/28/20

    An intimate graphic memoir by a New York Times bestselling writer about his semester abroad in Beirut as he grows close to a crowd of mostly LGBTQ students, and suffers a ...
  • When We Were Vikings
    Andrew David MacDonald
    Published 1/28/20

    A heart-swelling debut for fans of The Silver Linings Playbook and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • Cattle Ranching in Australia
    Beyond the book article for The Lost Man
    Jane Harper's The Lost Man takes place on a cattle station in the Australian Outback. Cattle stations function quite differently than American or European beef cattle ranches. Many are extremely large; the territory devoted to raising the livestock is generally hot and arid, producing little ...
  • Bernardine Evaristo's Booker Prize Win
    Beyond the book article for Girl, Woman, Other
    In October of 2019, Bernardine Evaristo took home the Booker Prize in a win that garnered special attention for multiple reasons. Specifically, Evaristo was the first Black woman to win the prize, and she didn't have the win all to herself; the judges split it between Evaristo for Girl, Woman, Other...
  • A History of Acapulco and Ongoing Cartel Control
    Beyond the book article for American Dirt
    Acapulco de Juárez, commonly known as Acapulco, is a city located on the coast of Mexico in the southwestern state of Guerrero. The name 'Acapulco' is believed to come from a word in the Náhuatl (Aztec) language meaning 'place of the reeds.' Once considered a desirable vacation spot and ...

New in Hardcover

  • Heart of Junk
    Luke Geddes
    Published 1/21/20

    A hilarious debut novel about an eclectic group of merchants at a Kansas antique mall who become implicated in the kidnapping of a local beauty pageant star.
  • The Third Rainbow Girl
    Emma Copley Eisenberg
    Published 1/21/20

    A stunningly written investigation of the murder of two young women--showing how a violent crime casts a shadow over an entire community.
  • Follow Me to Ground
    Sue Rainsford
    Published 1/21/20

    A haunted, surreal debut novel about an otherworldly young woman, her father, and her lover that culminates in a shocking moment of betrayal - one that upends our ...

New in Paperback

  • The World According to Fannie Davis
    Bridgett M. Davis
    Published 1/21/20

    A singular memoir that tells the story of one unforgettable mother, her devoted daughter, and the life they lead in the Detroit numbers of the 1960s and 1970s.
  • We Set the Dark on Fire
    Tehlor Mejia
    Published 1/14/20

    In this daring and romantic fantasy debut by Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being ...
  • The Wrong Heaven
    Amy Bonnafons
    Published 1/14/20

    For fans of George Saunders and Karen Russell, an "amazing, wildly inventive" collection of stories that straddles the line between the real and the fantastical.

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • Sugar Run
    Mesha Maren
    Published 10/8/19

    Set within the charged insularity of rural West Virginia, Sugar Run is a searing and gritty debut about making a run for another life.
  • The Falconer
    Dana Czapnik
    Published 10/8/19

    Told in vibrant, quicksilver prose, The Falconer is a coming-of-age story, providing a snapshot of the city and America through the eyes of the children of the baby boomers ...
  • A Spark of Light
    Jodi Picoult
    Published 9/24/19

    A powerful and provocative new novel about ordinary lives that intersect during a heart-stopping crisis.

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.