Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • The Prophets
    Robert Jones Jr.
    Published 1/5/21

    A singular and stunning debut novel about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation, the refuge they find in each other, and a betrayal ...
  • The Fortunate Ones
    Ed Tarkington
    Published 1/5/21

    For fans of Ann Patchett's Commonwealth and Kevin Wilson's Nothing to See Here, The Fortunate Ones is an engrossing story of class, love, and loyalty.
  • At the Edge of the Haight
    Katherine Seligman
    Published 1/19/21

    The Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, At the Edge of the Haight follows Maddy Donaldo, who is homeless at twenty, and the lives of those ...

Publishing This Week

  • At the Edge of the Haight
    Katherine Seligman
    Published 1/19/21

    The Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, At the Edge of the Haight follows Maddy Donaldo, who is homeless at twenty, and the lives of those ...
  • Craft
    Glenn Adamson
    Published 1/19/21

    A groundbreaking and endlessly surprising history of how artisans created America, from the nation's origins to the present day.
  • Eagle Down
    Jessica Donati
    Published 1/19/21

    The Wall Street Journal's national security reporter - formerly based in Kabul from 2013-2017 - takes readers into the lives of U.S. Special Forces on the front lines against ...

Publishing Soon

  • Be the Refuge
    Chenxing Han
    Published 1/26/21

    A must-read for modern sanghas--Asian American Buddhists in their own words, on their own terms.
  • Bride of the Sea
    Eman Quotah
    Published 1/26/21

    "I love the sea," she said. "I don't know if I could live without it."
  • The Mask Falling
    Samantha Shannon
    Published 1/26/21

    From the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Season and The Priory of the Orange Tree, the stunning fourth novel set in the world of Scion.

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • Hitler's Plan to Create a "Super Horse"
    Beyond the book article for Unbreakable
    It's well known that Hitler obsessed over the purity of the so-called Aryan 'master race,' but many might be surprised to learn that his interest in eugenics extended to horses as well. He desperately wanted to selectively breed a line of horses that were unparalleled in strength and purity of ...
  • The Stories That Houses Can Hold
    Beyond the book article for The Dutch House
    Having moved 17 times in the wake of my late father being transferred at his job, I don't have a nostalgic connection to anywhere I've lived. The connection many people feel in their bones, heart and soul to a specific home is a mere curiosity to me—an interest in what people remember, how ...
  • Ovarian Cancer
    Beyond the book article for The Office of Historical Corrections
    In Danielle Evans' collection The Office of Historical Corrections, the short story 'Happily Ever After' centers around Lyssa, who at 30 years old is navigating life after her mother's death from ovarian cancer and has been advised to have her own ovaries removed as soon as possible. Ovarian cancer ...

New in Hardcover

  • Last Night at the Telegraph Club
    Malinda Lo
    Published 1/19/21

    Acclaimed author of Ash Malinda Lo returns with her most personal and ambitious novel yet, a gripping story of love and duty set in San Francisco's Chinatown during the 1950s.
  • Dog Flowers
    Danielle Geller
    Published 1/12/21

    A daughter returns home to the Navajo reservation to retrace her mother's life in a memoir that is both a narrative and an archive of one family's troubled history.
  • Fundamentals
    Frank Wilczek
    Published 1/12/21

    One of our great contemporary scientists reveals the ten profound insights that illuminate what everyone should know about the physical world.

New in Paperback

  • Run Me to Earth
    Paul Yoon
    Published 1/19/21

    From award-winning author Paul Yoon comes a beautiful, aching novel about three kids orphaned in 1960s Laos - and how their destinies are entwined across decades, anointed by ...
  • Weather
    Jenny Offill
    Published 1/19/21

    From the author of the nationwide bestseller Dept. of Speculation--one of the New York Times Book Review's Ten Best Books of the Year--a shimmering tour de force about a ...
  • The Third Rainbow Girl
    Emma Copley Eisenberg
    Published 1/19/21

    A stunningly written investigation of the murder of two young women--showing how a violent crime casts a shadow over an entire community.

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
    Victoria E. Schwab
    Published 10/6/20

    Winner of the 2020 BookBrowse Fiction Award

    In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling ...
  • The Fountains of Silence
    Ruta Sepetys
    Published 9/29/20

    From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray comes a gripping, unforgettable portrait of love, ...
  • The Thursday Murder Club
    Richard Osman
    Published 9/22/20

    Four septuagenarians with a few tricks up their sleeves
    A female cop with her first big case
    A brutal murder
    Welcome to...
    THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.