Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • Black Widows
    Cate Quinn
    Published 2/9/21

    For fans of The Wife Between Us and The Dry comes a chilling murder mystery that takes a domestic thriller's classic question―"Did his wife kill him?"―and twists ...
  • Smalltime
    Russell Shorto
    Published 2/2/21

    Family secrets emerge as a best-selling author dives into the history of the mob in small-town America.
  • The Northern Reach
    W.S. Winslow
    Published 3/2/21

    A heart-wrenching first novel about the power of place and family ties, the weight of the stories we choose to tell, and the burden of those we hide

Publishing This Week

  • A Desolation Called Peace
    Arkady Martine
    Published 3/2/21

    A Desolation Called Peace is the spectacular space opera sequel to Arkady Martine's genre-reinventing, Hugo Award-winning debut, A Memory Called Empire.
  • Band of Sisters
    Lauren Willig
    Published 3/2/21

    A group of young women from Smith College risk their lives in France at the height of World War I in this sweeping novel based on a true story—a skillful blend of Call ...
  • Bring Back Our Girls
    Joe Parkinson, Drew Hinshaw
    Published 3/2/21

    What happens after you click Tweet? The heart-stopping definitive account of the mission to rescue hundreds of Nigerian schoolgirls whose abduction ignited a global social ...

Publishing Soon

  • American Betiya
    Anuradha D. Rajurkar
    Published 3/9/21

    Fans of Sandhya Menon, Erika Sanchez and Jandy Nelson will identify with this luminous story of a young artist grappling with first love, family boundaries and the ...
  • The Plum Trees
    Victoria Shorr
    Published 3/9/21

    A poignant tale about one woman's quest to recover her family's history, and a story of loss and survival during the Holocaust.
  • The Recent East
    Thomas Grattan
    Published 3/9/21

    An extraordinary family saga following a mother and two teens as they navigate a new life in East Germany.

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • Remembering the Victims of the Vardø Witch Trials
    Beyond the book article for The Mercies
    For such a small and remote community, Vardø has endured more than its share of tragedy. In 1617, the small fishing town found at the easternmost point of Norway was hit by a violent storm. Its arrival was so sudden and devastating, it all but wiped out the male population, leaving behind a ...
  • Looking Back On Mississippi Burning (1988)
    Beyond the book article for Race Against Time
    In December 1988, the controversial crime-thriller movie Mississippi Burning was released. It follows two FBI agents — played by Gene Hackman and Willem Dafoe — who investigate the disappearance of three civil rights workers. The agents' efforts to solve the case are hindered by a ...
  • The Laogai Research Foundation
    Beyond the book article for Made in China
    In her debut book, Made in China, Amelia Pang cites the Laogai Research Foundation (LRF) as a source for much of the information she presents about China's Laogai system (pronounced like loud-guy but without the 'd'). The organization's website explains:

    'The Laogai system is the Chinese network ...

New in Hardcover

  • Infinite Country
    Patricia Engel
    Published 2/23/21

    For readers of Valeria Luiselli and Edwidge Danticat, an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation, offering an intimate perspective on an ...
  • The Spymaster of Baghdad
    Margaret Coker
    Published 2/23/21

    From the former New York Times bureau chief in Baghdad comes the gripping and heroic story of an elite, top-secret team of unlikely spies who triumphed over ISIS.
  • Blood Gun Money
    Ioan Grillo
    Published 2/23/21

    The gun control debate is revived with every mass shooting. But far more people die from gun deaths on the street corners of inner city America and across the border as Mexico...

New in Paperback

  • The Mercies
    Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    Published 2/23/21

    After the men in an Arctic Norwegian town are wiped out, the women must survive a sinister threat in this "perfectly told" 1600s parable of "a world gone mad" (Adriana ...
  • Yellow Bird
    Sierra Crane Murdoch
    Published 2/16/21

    The gripping true story of a murder on an Indian reservation, and the unforgettable Arikara woman who becomes obsessed with solving it - an urgent work of ...
  • The Glass Hotel
    Emily St. John Mandel
    Published 2/16/21

    From the award-winning author of Station Eleven , an exhilarating novel set at the glittering intersection of two seemingly disparate events - a massive Ponzi scheme collapse ...

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • The Orchard
    David Hopen
    Published 11/17/20

    A commanding debut and a poignant coming-of-age story about a devout Jewish high school student whose plunge into the secularized world threatens everything he knows of ...
  • One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    Ellen Cooney
    Published 11/10/20

    A young interfaith chaplain is joined on her hospital rounds one night by an unusual companion: a rough-and-tumble dog who may or may not be a ghost.
  • Olive, Again
    Elizabeth Strout
    Published 11/3/20

    Winner of the 2019 BookBrowse Fiction Award

    Prickly, wry, resistant to change yet ruthlessly honest and deeply empathetic, Olive Kitteridge is "a compelling life force" (...

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.