Announcing Our Best Books of 2021

Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • True Crime Story
    Joseph Knox
    Published 12/7/21

    The #1 International Bestseller!
    What happens to all the girls who go missing?
  • Beasts of a Little Land
    Juhea Kim
    Published 12/7/21

    An epic story of love, war, and redemption set against the backdrop of the Korean independence movement, following the intertwined fates of a young girl sold to a courtesan ...
  • The Latinist
    Mark Prins
    Published 1/4/22

    A contemporary reimagining of the Daphne and Apollo myth, The Latinist is a page-turning exploration of power, ambition, and the intertwining of love and obsession.

Publishing This Week

  • True Crime Story
    Joseph Knox
    Published 12/7/21

    The #1 International Bestseller!
    What happens to all the girls who go missing?
  • Beasts of a Little Land
    Juhea Kim
    Published 12/7/21

    An epic story of love, war, and redemption set against the backdrop of the Korean independence movement, following the intertwined fates of a young girl sold to a courtesan ...
  • Bright Burning Things
    Lisa Harding
    Published 12/7/21

    A rising international literary star makes her American debut with this visceral, tender, and brave portrait of addiction, recovery, and motherhood, as harrowing and intense ...

Publishing Soon

  • The Fortune Men
    Nadifa Mohamed
    Published 12/14/21

    Based on a true event, an intimate and harrowing novel about the last man in Cardiff to be sentenced to death.
  • Beautiful Little Fools
    Jillian Cantor
    Published 1/4/22

    USA Today bestselling author Jillian Cantor reimagines and expands on the literary classic The Great Gatsby in this atmospheric historical novel with echoes of Big Little Lies...
  • Fiona and Jane
    Jean Chen Ho
    Published 1/4/22

    A witty, warm, and irreverent book that traces the lives of two young Taiwanese American women as they navigate friendship, sexuality, identity, and heartbreak over two ...

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • Studebaker and the Land Cruiser
    Beyond the book article for The Lincoln Highway
    In The Lincoln Highway, the main characters undertake a would-be cross-country road trip in Emmett Watson's pride and joy, a 1948 powder-blue Studebaker Land Cruiser.

    The Studebaker company, now known as a long-lasting and iconic automotive manufacturer, was founded in South Bend, Indiana in ...
  • Willa Cather and the American Outsider Experience
    Beyond the book article for Win Me Something
    Willa Chen, the main character in Kyle Lucia Wu's Win Me Something, mentions that her mother named her after the writer Willa Cather. This connection is significant in that Willa expects to be asked about her name in the context of her Chinese heritage, and is surprised when her employer's brother ...
  • The Spanish Civil War
    Beyond the book article for The Correspondents
    Several of the women highlighted in Judith Mackrell's The Correspondents started their journalistic careers covering the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939).

    Spain had been in political turmoil for many years before the war; while the country was still officially a monarchy, a 1923 coup had placed ...

New in Hardcover

  • Five Tuesdays in Winter
    Lily King
    Published 11/9/21

    By the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of Writers & Lovers, Lily King's first-ever collection of exceptional and innovative short stories.
  • Never
    Ken Follett
    Published 11/9/21

    The new must-read epic from master storyteller Ken Follett: more than a thriller, it's an action-packed, globe-spanning drama set in the present day.
  • Tenderness
    Alison MacLeod
    Published 11/9/21

    For readers of A Gentleman in Moscow and Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, an ambitious, spellbinding historical novel about sensuality, censorship, and the novel that set off ...

New in Paperback

  • Punching the Air
    Yusef Salaam, Ibi Zoboi
    Published 12/7/21

    From award-winning, bestselling author Ibi Zoboi and prison reform activist Yusef Salaam of the Exonerated Five comes a powerful YA novel in verse about a boy who is ...
  • People from My Neighborhood
    Hiromi Kawakami
    Published 11/30/21

    From the author of the internationally bestselling Strange Weather in Tokyo, a collection of interlinking stories that masterfully blend the mundane and the mythical - "fairy ...
  • Truthtelling
    Lynne Schwartz
    Published 11/30/21

    With her new dazzling collection of short fiction, Schwartz has propelled herself to the front rank of inventive short story writers such as George Saunders and David Means.

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • The Last Chance Library
    Freya Sampson
    Published 8/31/21

    June Jones emerges from her shell to fight for her beloved local library, and through the efforts and support of an eclectic group of library patrons, she discovers life-...
  • A Million Things
    Emily Spurr
    Published 8/24/21

    A soaring, heartfelt debut following fifty-five days in the life of ten-year-old Rae, who must look after herself and her dog when her mother disappears.
  • The Thursday Murder Club
    Richard Osman
    Published 8/3/21

    Four septuagenarians with a few tricks up their sleeves
    A female cop with her first big case
    A brutal murder
    Welcome to...
    THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.