MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reviews of the best new books, and previews of dozens of books publishing soon

What's New

First Impressions: Readers Recommend

  • The Prisoner's Wife
    Maggie Brookes
    Published 5/26/20

    Inspired by the true story of a daring deception that plunges a courageous young woman deep into the horrors of a Nazi POW camp to be with the man she loves.
  • The Last Train to Key West
    Chanel Cleeton
    Published 6/16/20

    In 1935 three women are forever changed when one of the most powerful hurricanes in history barrels toward the Florida Keys.
  • The Stone Girl
    Dirk Wittenborn
    Published 6/16/20

    The Stone Girl is a riveting tale of deception, vengeance, and power set against the haunting beauty of the Adirondack wilderness.

Publishing This Week

  • A Song of Wraiths and Ruin
    Roseanne A. Brown
    Published 6/2/20

    The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to ...
  • Asha and the Spirit Bird
    Jasbinder Bilan
    Published 6/2/20

    This is an incredibly unique debut about loss, family, buried treasure, and hope.
  • Between Everything and Nothing
    Joe Meno
    Published 6/2/20

    Joe Meno brings a novelist's eye to the true story of two young men from Ghana and their journey from the unjust political system of their homeland through the chaos of the ...

Publishing Soon

  • Safe
    S.K. Barnett
    Published 6/9/20

    A kidnapped girl survived twelve nightmarish years.
    Now she's safely back home...or is she?
  • Pizza Girl
    Jean Kyoung Frazier
    Published 6/9/20

    In the tradition of audacious and wryly funny novels like The Idiot and Convenience Store Woman comes the wildly original coming-of-age story of a pregnant pizza delivery girl...
  • The Daughters of Erietown
    Connie Schultz
    Published 6/9/20

    Hidden desires, long-held secrets, and the sacrifices people make for family are at the heart of this powerful first novel by the popular Pulitzer Prize–winning ...

Latest "Beyond the Book" Articles

  • The Camel Corps of the U.S. Army
    Beyond the book article for Inland
    A key section of Téa Obreht's novel Inland takes place among the Camel Corps, a real-life mid-19th-century experiment conducted by the United States Army attempting to introduce camels as beasts of burden in the Southwestern territories.

    This seemingly madcap idea originated when the army ...
  • The Five Most Destructive Wildfires in Recorded California History
    Beyond the book article for Fire in Paradise
    In Fire in Paradise, authors Alastair Gee and Dani Anguiano capture the devastation wrought by the Camp Fire that destroyed the community of Paradise in California on November 8, 2018. California's hot, dry and windy climate makes it particularly susceptible to wildfires. Climate change has ...
  • Mayotte: A Community in Crisis
    Beyond the book article for Tropic of Violence
    An official department of France, Mayotte is a group of islands located in the Indian Ocean, off the coast of southeast Africa. This unique political and geographic setup has led to the development of a complex, fraught national identity for many of its people, with problems related to crime, ...

New in Hardcover

  • The Vanishing Half
    Brit Bennett
    Published 6/2/20

    From the New York Times-bestselling author of The Mothers, a stunning new novel about twin sisters, inseparable as children, who ultimately choose to live in two very ...
  • Surviving Autocracy
    Masha Gessen
    Published 6/2/20

    A bestselling, National Book Award–winning journalist's bracing elucidation of our tumultuous times.
  • The Jane Austen Society
    Natalie Jenner
    Published 5/26/20

    Just after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.

New in Paperback

  • Cantoras
    Carolina De Robertis
    Published 6/2/20

    From the highly acclaimed, award-winning author of The Gods of Tango, a revolutionary new novel about five wildly different women who, in the midst of the Uruguayan ...
  • Wilder Girls
    Rory Power
    Published 6/2/20

    A feminist Lord of the Flies about three best friends living in quarantine at their island boarding school, and the lengths they go to uncover the truth of their confinement ...
  • Deception Cove
    Owen Laukkanen
    Published 5/28/20

    For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, a thriller about an ex-Marine, and ex-convict, and a rescue dog caught in the crosshairs of a ruthless gang in remote Washington state.

Top Recommendations for Book Clubs

  • How Much of These Hills Is Gold
    C Pam Zhang
    Published 4/7/20

    An electric debut novel set against the twilight of the American gold rush, two siblings are on the run in an unforgiving landscape - trying not just to survive but to find a ...
  • Confessions of an Innocent Man
    David R. Dow
    Published 3/31/20

    A thrillingly suspenseful debut novel, and a fierce howl of rage that questions the true meaning of justice.
  • Territory of Light
    Yuko Tsushima
    Published 3/31/20

    From one of the most significant contemporary Japanese writers, a haunting, dazzling novel of loss and rebirth

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.