Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 1 of 322

View abbreviated list of news stories

August bookstore sales dropped 31%

Oct 16 2020: Bookstore sales tumbled 30.7% in August compared to one year ago, according to preliminary estimates released by the U.S. Census Bureau. Sales fell to $754 million compared to $1.09 billion in August 2019... This drop was in marked contrast with the entire retail ...

Full Story

Ava DuVernay to write, direct and produce ‘Caste’ film adaptation at Netflix

Oct 16 2020: After the success of her documentary "13th" and miniseries "When They See Us," Ava DuVernay has set her first feature film at Netflix.

The Oscar-nominated filmmaker will write, direct and produce the feature adaptation of Isabel Wilkerson’s critically-acclaimed book ...

Full Story

ABA Launches 'Boxed Out' campaign in support of indie bookstores

Oct 14 2020: The American Booksellers Association is launching a campaign called "Boxed Out," aiming to emphasize to customers "the high stakes indie bookstores face this holiday season in the age of Amazon and Covid-19." Timed in part as a counterpoint to Amazon Prime Day--...

Full Story

Susan Hill and Mary Berry awarded damehoods in Queen's Birthday Honours

Oct 13 2020: Novelist Susan Hill and food writer Mary Berry have been awarded damehoods in the Queen's Birthday Honours, while the National Literacy Trust's chief executive Jonathan Douglas received a CBE, and Booker winner Bernardine Evaristo, writer and translator Daniel Hahn and ...

Full Story

Jim Dwyer, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Journalist, dies at 63

Oct 09 2020: Jim Dwyer, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, columnist and author whose stylish journalism captured the human dramas of New York City for readers of New York Newsday, The Daily News and The New York Times for nearly four decades, died on Thursday in Manhattan from ...

Full Story

Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to American poet Louise Glück

Oct 08 2020: The 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded to the US poet Louise Glück "for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal." Glück (rhymes with click) is the first American to win the prestigious award since Bob ...

Full Story

Authors N.K. Jemisin and Jacqueline Woodson receive MacArthur 'Genius' grants

Oct 07 2020: Authors N.K. Jemisin and Jacqueline Woodson are among the 21 recipients of this year's MacArthur Foundation "genius" grants--$625,000 paid out over five years to people "who show exceptional creativity in their work and the prospect for still more in the future." Shelf ...

Full Story

2020 NBA finalists announced

Oct 06 2020: The National Book Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2020 National Book Awards. The winner in each category will be announced at a ceremony in New York City on November 18 at the 71st National Book Awards ceremony, which will be held exclusively online.

...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: White Too Long
    White Too Long
    by Robert P. Jones
    Religious scholar Robert P. Jones doesn't pull any punches in his latest book, White Too Long: The ...
  • Book Jacket: Caste
    Caste
    by Isabel Wilkerson
    In 2020, the word "racist" remains taboo. Conceptually, racism is so culturally unacceptable, so ...
  • Book Jacket: The Deepest South of All
    The Deepest South of All
    by Richard Grant
    Author Richard Grant frequently uses his wanderlust to explore diverse stories that create a complex...
  • Book Jacket: Piranesi
    Piranesi
    by Susanna Clarke
    Our First Impressions readers were delighted with this speculative novel by Susanna Clarke, her ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Blind Light
    by Stuart Evers

    A multigenerational story about two families bound together by the tides of history.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Where the Light Enters
by Sara Donati

An enthralling epic about two trailblazing female doctors in 19th century New York.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Agent Sonya

Agent Sonya: Moscow's Most Daring Wartime Spy

Master storyteller Ben Macintyre tells the true story behind the Cold War's most intrepid female spy.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I M B T Give T T R

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.