MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 9 of 300

View abbreviated list of news stories

Ian Williams Wins 2019 Giller Prize

Nov 19 2019: Ian Williams has won the C$100,000 Scotiabank Giller Prize, Canada's most prestigious and richest award for fiction, for his debut novel, Reproduction, published by Random House Canada.

“You have no idea how special this is for me,” Williams said through tears in ...

Full Story

Rare Charlotte Bronte book coming home after museum's auction success

Nov 18 2019: A book written by Charlotte Bronte at the age of 14 will return home after being bought by the Bronte Society at auction in Paris.

The miniature work, called The Young Men's Magazine, will go to the Parsonage Museum in the Brontes' old home in Haworth, West Yorkshire...

Full Story

Trump administration appoints new director of the Institute of Museum and Library Services

Nov 15 2019: The library community had a message for the Trump administration this week: well done! That's because the administration this week nominated Kansas City (Mo.) Public Library executive director R. Crosby Kemper III to be the next director of the Institute of Museum and ...

Full Story

Pass me The Joy Luck Rub - Spice blends for book lovers

Nov 15 2019: Looking for a fun gift for the book lovers in your life who also enjoy cooking? The Book Club Cookbook is offering a range of literary inspired spices including:

Where the Crawdads Zing (Gulf Coast Bay Seasoning) Tarragon with the Wind (French Tarragon) The Joy ...

Full Story

Outrage after Turkish journalist re-arrested a week after his release

Nov 14 2019: Turkish police have rearrested the journalist and novelist Ahmet Altan, just a week after his release from prison over alleged links to the failed 2016 coup.

Altan and another veteran journalist, Nazli Ilicak, were released on 4 November despite having been convicted...

Full Story

2018 VIDA count finds mild improvement in lit mag gender parity

Nov 14 2019: The nonprofit VIDA: Women in Literary Arts has released its annual VIDA Count, which analyzes gender parity—or imbalance—at literary magazines. This year's report shows some industry-wide improvement, both at magazines reflected in the main count and in the secondary ...

Full Story

Celebration of the life of Toni Morrison set for November 21

Nov 13 2019: A celebration of the life of author, editor and Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison, who died August 5, will be held on Thursday, November 21, in New York City at the Cathedral of St. John the Divine, 1047 Amsterdam Avenue. Speakers will include Oprah Winfrey, David ...

Full Story

Amazon reducing orders to publishers

Nov 11 2019: In order to deal with congestion issues at its warehouses, Amazon has been cutting book orders to publishers over the last several weeks. It isn't clear how widespread the reduction in orders is, but several independent publishers contacted by PW reported cuts in their ...

Full Story

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Dredging in Swann
    A Dredging in Swann
    by Tim Garvin
    A Dredging in Swann, set in fictional Swann County, North Carolina, centers around fresh-out-of-the-...
  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.