Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 9 of 330

View abbreviated list of news stories

ABA Launches 'Boxed Out' campaign in support of indie bookstores

Oct 14 2020: The American Booksellers Association is launching a campaign called "Boxed Out," aiming to emphasize to customers "the high stakes indie bookstores face this holiday season in the age of Amazon and Covid-19." Timed in part as a counterpoint to Amazon Prime Day--...

Full Story

Susan Hill and Mary Berry awarded damehoods in Queen's Birthday Honours

Oct 13 2020: Novelist Susan Hill and food writer Mary Berry have been awarded damehoods in the Queen's Birthday Honours, while the National Literacy Trust's chief executive Jonathan Douglas received a CBE, and Booker winner Bernardine Evaristo, writer and translator Daniel Hahn and ...

Full Story

Jim Dwyer, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Journalist, dies at 63

Oct 09 2020: Jim Dwyer, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, columnist and author whose stylish journalism captured the human dramas of New York City for readers of New York Newsday, The Daily News and The New York Times for nearly four decades, died on Thursday in Manhattan from ...

Full Story

Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to American poet Louise Glück

Oct 08 2020: The 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded to the US poet Louise Glück "for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal." Glück (rhymes with click) is the first American to win the prestigious award since Bob ...

Full Story

Authors N.K. Jemisin and Jacqueline Woodson receive MacArthur 'Genius' grants

Oct 07 2020: Authors N.K. Jemisin and Jacqueline Woodson are among the 21 recipients of this year's MacArthur Foundation "genius" grants--$625,000 paid out over five years to people "who show exceptional creativity in their work and the prospect for still more in the future." Shelf ...

Full Story

2020 NBA finalists announced

Oct 06 2020: The National Book Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2020 National Book Awards. The winner in each category will be announced at a ceremony in New York City on November 18 at the 71st National Book Awards ceremony, which will be held exclusively online.

...

Full Story

Publishers worry as ebooks fly off libraries' virtual shelves

Oct 04 2020: After the pandemic closed many libraries’ physical branches this spring, checkouts of ebooks are up 52 percent from the same period last year, according to OverDrive, which partners with 50,000 libraries worldwide. Hoopla, another service that connects libraries to ...

Full Story

Arthur Conan Doyle’s estate sues Netflix for giving Sherlock Holmes too many feelings

Oct 02 2020: The estate of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle has sued Netflix over its film Enola Holmes, arguing that the movie's depiction of public domain character Sherlock Holmes having emotions and respecting women violates Doyle's copyright.

The Doyle estate made a similar ...

Full Story

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Klara and the Sun
    Klara and the Sun
    by Kazuo Ishiguro
    Klara and the Sun by Nobel Prize-winning author Kazuo Ishiguro drops the reader into a fictional ...
  • Book Jacket: The Lost Apothecary
    The Lost Apothecary
    by Sarah Penner
    Sarah Penner's debut novel The Lost Apothecary was rated 4 or 5 stars by 22 of our 23 First ...
  • Book Jacket: The Spymaster of Baghdad
    The Spymaster of Baghdad
    by Margaret Coker
    For the last 17 years, the country of Iraq has known almost constant violence and political upheaval...
  • Book Jacket: Hades, Argentina
    Hades, Argentina
    by Daniel Loedel
    Daniel Loedel's debut novel, Hades, Argentina, opens in 1986 when we meet Tomás Orillo, a young...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Northern Reach
    by W.S. Winslow

    What is the weight of the stories we choose to tell...and the burdens of those we hide?

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    Smalltime
    by Russell Shorto

    Family secrets emerge as a best-selling author dives into the history of the mob in small-town America.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Narrowboat Summer
by Anne Youngson
From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances.
Win This Book!
Win Band of Sisters

Band of Sisters
by Lauren Willig

"A crackling portrayal of everyday American heroines…A triumph."
— Fiona Davis

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W T's Life T's H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.