Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 5 of 325

View abbreviated list of news stories

Susan Hill and Mary Berry awarded damehoods in Queen's Birthday Honours

Oct 13 2020: Novelist Susan Hill and food writer Mary Berry have been awarded damehoods in the Queen's Birthday Honours, while the National Literacy Trust's chief executive Jonathan Douglas received a CBE, and Booker winner Bernardine Evaristo, writer and translator Daniel Hahn and ...

Full Story

Jim Dwyer, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Journalist, dies at 63

Oct 09 2020: Jim Dwyer, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, columnist and author whose stylish journalism captured the human dramas of New York City for readers of New York Newsday, The Daily News and The New York Times for nearly four decades, died on Thursday in Manhattan from ...

Full Story

Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to American poet Louise Glück

Oct 08 2020: The 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded to the US poet Louise Glück "for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal." Glück (rhymes with click) is the first American to win the prestigious award since Bob ...

Full Story

Authors N.K. Jemisin and Jacqueline Woodson receive MacArthur 'Genius' grants

Oct 07 2020: Authors N.K. Jemisin and Jacqueline Woodson are among the 21 recipients of this year's MacArthur Foundation "genius" grants--$625,000 paid out over five years to people "who show exceptional creativity in their work and the prospect for still more in the future." Shelf ...

Full Story

2020 NBA finalists announced

Oct 06 2020: The National Book Foundation has announced the finalists for the 2020 National Book Awards. The winner in each category will be announced at a ceremony in New York City on November 18 at the 71st National Book Awards ceremony, which will be held exclusively online.

...

Full Story

Publishers worry as ebooks fly off libraries' virtual shelves

Oct 04 2020: After the pandemic closed many libraries’ physical branches this spring, checkouts of ebooks are up 52 percent from the same period last year, according to OverDrive, which partners with 50,000 libraries worldwide. Hoopla, another service that connects libraries to ...

Full Story

Arthur Conan Doyle’s estate sues Netflix for giving Sherlock Holmes too many feelings

Oct 02 2020: The estate of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle has sued Netflix over its film Enola Holmes, arguing that the movie's depiction of public domain character Sherlock Holmes having emotions and respecting women violates Doyle's copyright.

The Doyle estate made a similar ...

Full Story

James Patterson donates $2.5 million to teachers during Covid-19

Sep 30 2020: In an effort to assist teachers and students during the coronavirus crisis, bestselling author James Patterson is donating $2.5 million through his Patterson Partnership program with Scholastic Book Clubs. As part of the initiative, 5,000 teachers throughout the U.S. ...

Full Story

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    by Ellen Cooney
    In One Night Two Souls Went Walking, we follow a young interfaith chaplain as she carries out her ...
  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Smallest Lights in the Universe
    by Sara Seager

    A luminous memoir by an MIT astrophysicist who must reinvent herself in the wake of tragedy.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline
The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.