Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 5 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Perseus Books Group now part of Hachette

Apr 04 2016: The sales of Perseus Books Group publishing operations to Hachette Book Group and its distribution operations to Ingram Content Group both closed late last week.

Ingram chairman and CEO John Ingram noted that with the purchase, "Ingram's center of gravity is shifting...

    Full Story

    Imre Kertesz dies aged 86

    Mar 31 2016: Imre Kertesz, a Hungarian Jewish writer and Nobel laureate acclaimed for his semi-autobiographical novels on surviving the Holocaust and its aftermath, died on Thursday at his home in Budapest. He was 86 years old.

    What set Mr. Kertesz apart from other writers on the...

      Full Story

      Marilynne Robinson to be awarded Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction

      Mar 31 2016: Acting Librarian of Congress David S. Mao has announced that Marilynne Robinson, author of such critically acclaimed novels as "Gilead" and "Home," will receive the Library of Congress Prize for American Fiction during the 2016 Library of Congress National Book Festival...

        Full Story

        Thousands of poor residents banned from Silicon Valley library

        Mar 31 2016: The New York Times reports on the sad state of the public library in San Jose, California where nearly a third of residents in poor neighborhoods are banned from entry to the library due to unpaid fines including what Director of Libraries Jill Bourne describes as "an ...

          Full Story

          James Patterson to donate a further $1.75m to school libraries

          Mar 30 2016: James Patterson will donate another $1.75 million to school libraries in 2016. The program was launched in 2015 in partnership with Scholastic Reading Club, which administers the grants. Of the nearly 28,000 entries received in 2015, 467 schools were awarded grants ...

            Full Story

            Adult coloring book sales increase 12-fold to 12 million in 2015

            Mar 23 2016: Sales in the adult coloring book category continue to rise. According to Nielsen Bookscan, about 12 million books were sold in 2015 compared with 1 million in 2014, with over 2000 individual titles available compared to about 300 in 2014.

              Full Story

              Bookstores sales up for the fifth month in a row

              Mar 16 2016: January bookstore sales in the USA rose 3.8%, to $1.48 billion, compared to January 2015, according to preliminary estimates from the Census Bureau. This marked the fifth month in a row that bookstore have risen, following a jump of 9.6% in December, rises of nearly 7% ...

                Full Story

                Pat Conroy dies aged 70

                Mar 05 2016: Pat Conroy died yesterday aged 70 after a short battle with pancreatic cancer. His tortured family life and the scenic marshlands of coastal South Carolina served as unending sources of inspiration for his fiction, notably the novels The Great Santini, The Lords of ...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
                  • Book Jacket
                    Find Me Unafraid
                    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
                    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.