Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 5 of 289

View abbreviated list of news stories

Hay-on-Wye's self-appointed "monarch" dies aged 80

Aug 22 2019: On April Fools’ Day 1977 Richard Booth, who has died aged 80, strode down the high street of Hay-on-Wye, Powys, dressed in a home-made crown and fake ermine robe. His intent – to declare the small market town an independent sovereign state – was as visionary as it was ...

Full Story

Paule Marshall, influential writer on ethnic identity dies aged 90

Aug 20 2019: Paule Marshall, "an influential writer whose novels and short stories about ethnic identity, race and colonialism reflected her upbringing in Brooklyn as a daughter of poor immigrants from Barbados," died August 12 aged 90 ...

In a New Yorker tribute to Marshall and ...

Full Story

Amazon responds to 'NYT' article about it selling counterfeit books

Aug 20 2019: After the New York Times posted a story Monday that pointed to the availability of counterfeit books in Amazon's bookstore, calling the marketplace "a place where copyright laws hold remarkably little sway," the tech giant has responded with a lengthy statement. Amazon ...

Full Story

Bibles, and children's book win tariff reprieve. All other books don't

Aug 14 2019: In a decision handed down by the U.S. Trade Representative Tuesday morning, Bibles and other religious books were not included on the first list of products imported from China that would be subjected to 10% tariffs starting September 1. Bible publishers were especially...

Full Story

J.D. Salinger's books available in e-book for the first time

Aug 12 2019: Little, Brown, in conjunction with the estate of J.D. Salinger, announced plans to release e-book editions of Salinger’s four works of fiction, marking the first time his books have been available in a digital format.

The release of the four books—The Catcher in the ...

Full Story

Amazon's new Lord of the Rings 'cannot use much of Tolkien's plot'

Aug 12 2019: A JRR Tolkien expert working on Amazon’s forthcoming multi-series adaptation of Tolkien's work has claimed that Amazon has been refused permission by the estate to use the bulk of the plot from The Lord of the Rings in their $1bn adaptation (predicted to start ...

Full Story

Eight women honor Toni Morrison

Aug 09 2019: In The Washington Post, eight black women share their thoughts on the life and work of Toni Morrison, including Michelle Obama:

"..For me and for so many others, Toni Morrison was that first crack in the levee — the one who freed the truth about black lives, sending...

Full Story

Sale of Barnes & Noble now complete

Aug 07 2019: Elliott Advisors has completed its purchase of Barnes & Noble. The acquisition was officially completed when more than 81% of B&N’s shares were tendered by the August 6 deadline.

As a result of the deal, B&N becomes a private company controlled by the private equity ...

Full Story

Editor's Choice


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.