Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 8 of 329

View abbreviated list of news stories

At this bookstore in Taiwan, visitors shop in the dark

Oct 26 2020: Remember when you used to sneak a flashlight under the covers so you could read a book after bedtime? A bookshop in Taiwan promises you a similar experience. Wuguan Books is located in Kaohsiung's Pier-2 Art Center, a warehouse-turned-creative hub in Taiwan's second-...

Full Story

Why lockdown was the plot twist that libraries needed

Oct 26 2020: In an opinion piece in the Guardian, the head of Suffolk Libraries in the East of England explains "why lockdown was the plot twist that libraries needed."

...It is often said librarians suffer from a marketing issue. This is a profession hardwired not to boast about...

Full Story

New York's Strand bookstore appeals for help

Oct 24 2020: The Strand Bookstore, a landmark of literary New York, is in serious trouble, appealing for customers to help it stave off closure amid the coronavirus pandemic.

“We’ve survived just about everything for 93 years,” proprietor Nancy Bass-Wyden said in a statement, of ...

Full Story

August bookstore sales dropped 31%

Oct 16 2020: Bookstore sales tumbled 30.7% in August compared to one year ago, according to preliminary estimates released by the U.S. Census Bureau. Sales fell to $754 million compared to $1.09 billion in August 2019... This drop was in marked contrast with the entire retail ...

Full Story

Ava DuVernay to write, direct and produce ‘Caste’ film adaptation at Netflix

Oct 16 2020: After the success of her documentary "13th" and miniseries "When They See Us," Ava DuVernay has set her first feature film at Netflix.

The Oscar-nominated filmmaker will write, direct and produce the feature adaptation of Isabel Wilkerson’s critically-acclaimed book ...

Full Story

ABA Launches 'Boxed Out' campaign in support of indie bookstores

Oct 14 2020: The American Booksellers Association is launching a campaign called "Boxed Out," aiming to emphasize to customers "the high stakes indie bookstores face this holiday season in the age of Amazon and Covid-19." Timed in part as a counterpoint to Amazon Prime Day--...

Full Story

Susan Hill and Mary Berry awarded damehoods in Queen's Birthday Honours

Oct 13 2020: Novelist Susan Hill and food writer Mary Berry have been awarded damehoods in the Queen's Birthday Honours, while the National Literacy Trust's chief executive Jonathan Douglas received a CBE, and Booker winner Bernardine Evaristo, writer and translator Daniel Hahn and ...

Full Story

Jim Dwyer, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Journalist, dies at 63

Oct 09 2020: Jim Dwyer, a Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter, columnist and author whose stylish journalism captured the human dramas of New York City for readers of New York Newsday, The Daily News and The New York Times for nearly four decades, died on Thursday in Manhattan from ...

Full Story

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Hades, Argentina
    Hades, Argentina
    by Daniel Loedel
    Daniel Loedel's debut novel, Hades, Argentina, opens in 1986 when we meet Tomás Orillo, a young...
  • Book Jacket: Dark Horses
    Dark Horses
    by Susan Mihalic
    Dark Horses is a shocking, heart-pounding debut; it's both a coming-of-age novel and an unflinching ...
  • Book Jacket: Best Laid Plans
    Best Laid Plans
    by Gwen Florio
    When starting a series, first impressions are key. Introducing a sympathetic or relatable ...
  • Book Jacket: Last Night at the Telegraph Club
    Last Night at the Telegraph Club
    by Malinda Lo
    Author Malinda Lo takes readers to Chinatown, San Francisco in 1954, where 17-year-old Lily Hu is ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Smalltime
    by Russell Shorto

    Family secrets emerge as a best-selling author dives into the history of the mob in small-town America.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Northern Reach
    by W.S. Winslow

    A heart-wrenching first novel about the power of place and family ties, the stories we tell and the burden of those we hide.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Narrowboat Summer
by Anne Youngson
From the author of Meet Me at the Museum, a charming novel of second chances.
Win This Book!
Win Band of Sisters

Band of Sisters
by Lauren Willig

"A crackling portrayal of everyday American heroines…A triumph."
— Fiona Davis

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W T's Life T's H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.