Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 10 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Svetlana Alexievich wins the 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature

Oct 09 2015: Belarusian writer and journalist Svetlana Alexievich has won the 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature.

Announcing the prize in Stockholm, the chair of the Swedish Academy, Sara Danius, called Alexievich's writing "a monument to courage and suffering in our time".

    Full Story

    Nominate your favorite bookstore employee for a bonus from James Patterson

    Oct 07 2015: Author James Patterson has already donated millions of dollars to bookstores, libraries and other literary organizations in the US, UK, Australia and New Zealand. Now he has set up a fund in partnership with the American Booksellers Association to provide bonuses of $...

      Full Story

      Henning Mankell dies aged 67

      Oct 05 2015: Henning Mankell, the Swedish crime writer best known for his Kurt Wallander books has died aged 67 after being diagnosed with cancer last year. Credited with almost single-handedly establishing Sweden as a crime writer's ideal dystopia, he was a dedicated political ...

        Full Story

        5 Under 35 Honorees announced

        Sep 30 2015: The National Book Foundation announced the 5 Under 35 honorees today:

        Angela Flournoy, The Turner House (HMH)
        Colin Barrett, Young Skins (Black Cat)
        Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi, Fra Keeler (Dorothy Project)
        Tracy O'Neill, The Hopeful (Ig Publishing)
        Megan Kruse, ...

          Full Story

          Ta-Nehisi Coates among 2015 MacArthur Geniuses

          Sep 29 2015: Authors Ta-Nehisi Coates and Ben Lerner and poet Ellen Bryant Voigt are among the twenty-four 2015 MacArthur fellows. Each receives a no-strings attached stipend of $625,000 over five years.

          "These 24 delightfully diverse MacArthur Fellows are shedding light and ...

            Full Story

            What happened to the e-book apocalypse?

            Sep 23 2015: The New York Times reports on the "digital apocalypse that never arrived or at least not on schedule."

            Between 2008 and 2010 e-book sales soared by 1,260 percent. Print sales fell and bookstores struggled - culminating in Borders declaring bankruptcy in 2011.

            ...

              Full Story

              Book subscription service Oyster to close

              Sep 22 2015: After two years of operation, Oyster, which offered unlimited access to a million titles for US$9.95 a month Oyster, is shutting down, and it would seem that most of the staff will be employed by Google Play Books, including the CEO and two cofounders.

              Tech news ...

                Full Story

                Novelist Jackie Collins dies aged 77

                Sep 20 2015: Novelist Jackie Collins has died of breast cancer at the age of 77, her family said in a statement.

                The British-born writer, sister of actress Joan Collins, died in Los Angeles, her spokeswoman said. Collins's career spanned four decades during which she sold more ...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.