Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 14 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Amazon to pay Kindle authors only for pages read, not books downloaded

Jun 16 2015: Amazon is changing the way it pays authors royalties for participation in its Kindle Unlimited e-book lending library in a move that would appear to be less favorable for authors.

Previously, Amazon paid royalties on the whole downloaded book if at least 10 percent ...

    Full Story

    Paul Bacon, influential designer of more than 6500 book jackets dies aged 91

    Jun 11 2015: You may not know his name but the chances are you've read many of his books. Paul Bacon, the influential designer of about 6500 book jacket covers including major literary works like Joseph Heller’s Catch-22 and Philip Roth’s Portnoy’s Complaint, died on Monday in ...

      Full Story

      European Commission opens antitrust investigation into Amazon

      Jun 11 2015: The European Commission has opened a formal antitrust investigation into certain business practices by Amazon in the distribution of ebooks. The Commission will in particular investigate certain clauses included in Amazon's contracts with publishers. These clauses ...

        Full Story

        Juan Felipe Herrera - the first Hispanic American U.S. poet laureate will be sworn in today

        Jun 11 2015: Juan Felipe Herrera will become the first Hispanic American U.S. poet laureate when he is sworn in today.

        He learned to love poetry by singing songs about the Mexican Revolution with his mother, a migrant farmworker in California.

        Herrera, aged 66, has published ...

          Full Story

          Four productions based on books win Tony Awards

          Jun 08 2015: Four plays based on books won awards at yesterday's Tony Awards:

          The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Simon Stephens (book by Mark Haddon) won 5 Awards including Best Play.

          Fun Home (music by Jeanine Tesori, lyrics by Lisa Kron), was nominated 12 ...

            Full Story

            Jacqueline Woodson named Young People's Poet Laureate

            Jun 04 2015: Jacqueline Woodson has been named the Young People's Poet Laureate by the Poetry Foundation. Awarded every two years, the $25,000 laureate title is given to a living writer in recognition of a career devoted to writing exceptional poetry for young readers. The laureate ...

              Full Story

              Mathematician John F. Nash Jr, and his wife Alicia die in car crash

              May 24 2015: Nobel Prize-winning mathematician John F. Nash Jr., known to many due to Sylvia Nasar's bestselling book, A Beautiful Mind, and the subsequent film of the same name, was killed on Saturday with his wife, Alicia, in a car crash. He was 86, she was 82. They were taking a ...

                Full Story

                Man Booker International prize 2015 goes to László Krasznahorkai

                May 19 2015: The Hungarian author László Krasznahorkai (pronounced Laas-lo Krasna-hor-kai) has won the Man Booker International prize for his “achievement in fiction on the world stage”. Chair of judges Marina Warner, the academic and writer, compared Krasznahorkai’s work to Kafka –...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
                  • Book Jacket
                    Find Me Unafraid
                    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
                    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.