Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 16 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

Hamilton wins 11 Tony Awards, one shy of record held by The Producers

Jun 13 2016: Hamilton, the hit Broadway musical based on the 2004 Ron Chernow biography of Alexander Hamilton (Penguin) has won 11 Tony Awards including best new musical. This is just one award short of the record for a single show - The Producers won 12 in 2001.

The Color ...

Full Story

The ten 2016 recipients of the National Medal for Museum and Library Service

May 31 2016: The Institute of Museum and Library Services has announced the 10 recipients of the 2016 National Medal for Museum and Library Service, the nation’s highest honor given to museums and libraries for service to the community. For 22 years, the award has celebrated ...

Full Story

The Vegetarian wins the Man Booker International Prize

May 16 2016: South Korean author Han Kang has won the 2016 Man Booker International Prize for her novel The Vegetarian, described by Judging panel chairman Boyd Tonkin as "unforgettably powerful and original".

The writer and her British translator - who only started learning ...

Full Story

7000 attendees enjoyed successful BookCon in Chicago

May 16 2016: 7000 book fans attended Book Con in Chicago on Saturday. As in the two previous years in New York City, attendees skewed towards significantly more females than males. Some attendees were disappointed that the event was on just one day, unlike last year's BookCon in New...

Full Story

In Britain, lit fiction books in translation outsell English language lit fiction

May 16 2016: Translated literary fiction is selling better on average in the UK than literary fiction originally written in English, according to new research by Nielsen, with authors including Elena Ferrante, Haruki Murakami and Karl Ove Knausgaard driving a boom in sales.

...

Full Story

Praise for BookExpo America in Chicago, despite slow Wednesday and Friday

May 16 2016: After a slow start on Wednesday afternoon, BookExpo America kicked into gear on Thursday and concluded on Friday with much praise from many attendees. The somewhat smaller attendance--probably around 18,000--allowed for a more pleasant trade floor experience for many ...

Full Story

US bookstore sales jump 11% in March, marking 7th month of continuous growth

May 16 2016: March bookstore sales in the USA jumped 10.7% according to preliminary estimates from the Census Bureau. This marked the seventh month in a row that bookstore sales have risen. For the year to date, bookstore sales have risen 6.2%, to $2.9 billion.

Full Story

Leonnard Riggio to step down as executive chairman of B&N in September

Apr 27 2016: After decades as one of the biggest names in the bookselling industry, Leonard Riggio, the 75-year-old executive chairman of Barnes & Noble, has decided to step down as executive chairman after the company's annual meeting in September. He will still sit on the board of...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.