Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 19 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Terry Pratchett, author of Discworld, dies aged 66

Mar 12 2015: Terry Pratchett, author of the Discworld series, has died aged 66, having had Alzheimer's disease for eight years. "The world has lost one of its brightest, sharpest minds," said Larry Finlay of his publishing company, Transworld. Pratchett, who wrote more than 70...

    Full Story

    James Patterson giving away $1.25m to school libraries

    Mar 09 2015: After giving away $1 million to independent bookstores last year, author James Patterson is giving $1.25 million to school libraries this year. Donations will range from $1,000 to $10,000 per school. Anyone can nominate a school library, click below for application

      Full Story

      Elizabeth McCracken wins $20,000 Story Prize for Thunderstruck

      Mar 05 2015: Elizabeth McCracken has won The Story Prize for her collection Thunderstruck. The prize is worth $20,000

      The other finalists for The Story Prize for books published in 2014 were authors Francesca Marciano for The Other Language (Pantheon) and Lorrie Moore for Bark (...

        Full Story

        Yasar Kemal, Turkish novelist and outspoken political critic, dies aged 91

        Mar 03 2015: Yasar Kemal, the master storyteller who repeatedly clashed with the Turkish state while emerging as his country’s first novelist of global stature, died on Saturday in Istanbul aged 91.

          Full Story

          B&N to separate its college business from retail & Nook

          Feb 26 2015: In a move that has surprised some in the industry, Barnes & Noble announced today that it plans to separate its college business from its retail stores and Nook digital units.

          While a split has been on the cards for about a year, it was generally thought that the ...

            Full Story

            Maya Angelou to be honored with postage stamp

            Feb 24 2015: Poet and bestselling author Maya Angelou will be honored with a Forever Stamp, the U.S. Postal Service announced Monday.

            Angelou, best known for I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, her searing memoir about life in the Jim Crow South, died May 28, 2014, at age 86.

              Full Story

              Today's students still prefer print

              Feb 24 2015: Textbook makers, bookstore owners and college student surveys all say millennials still strongly prefer print when studying - but also for personal reading. A University of Washington pilot study of digital textbooks found that a quarter of students still bought print ...

                Full Story

                Oscar winners based on books

                Feb 23 2015: Five of the eight best picture nominees at last night's Oscars were based on books or book related and a number were also winners, including:

                Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), which centers on a Broadway stage adaptation of Raymond Carver's story "What...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Harmony
                    Harmony
                    by Carolyn Parkhurst
                    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
                  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
                    A Gentleman in Moscow
                    by Amor Towles
                    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Darling Days
                    by iO Tillett Wright

                    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.