Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 19 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Today's students still prefer print

Feb 24 2015: Textbook makers, bookstore owners and college student surveys all say millennials still strongly prefer print when studying - but also for personal reading. A University of Washington pilot study of digital textbooks found that a quarter of students still bought print ...

    Full Story

    Oscar winners based on books

    Feb 23 2015: Five of the eight best picture nominees at last night's Oscars were based on books or book related and a number were also winners, including:

    Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), which centers on a Broadway stage adaptation of Raymond Carver's story "What...

      Full Story

      New Dr. Seuss book to publish late July

      Feb 18 2015: Random House have announced that a new Dr. Seuss book will be published on July 28 - after the full text and illustrations of What Pet Should I Get? was found in the office of Ted Geisel (aka Dr. Seuss). It is believed to have been written in the late '50s/early '60s ...

        Full Story

        Faber & Faber and Farrar, Straus and Giroux terminate 17 year partnership in USA

        Feb 17 2015: Publishers Lunch report that Faber and Faber and FSG announced jointly on Tuesday that they will terminate their 17-year partnership in the American-based Faber and Faber, Inc. effective immediately. Farrar will retain the rights to all of the titles published through ...

          Full Story

          Former US poet laureate Philip Levine dies aged 87

          Feb 17 2015: Poet Philip Levine has died aged 87. The Former U.S. poet laureate won a Pulitzer Prize in 1995 for The Simple Truth. He also won two National Book Awards and two National Book Critics Circle Awards for other works.

            Full Story

            American Booksellers discuss concerns over minimum wage increases - philosophically in favor but logistically challenging

            Feb 12 2015: At the American Booksellers Association this week members discussed a range of topics including the rise in the minimum wage in may parts of the US. Steve Bercu, owner of Bookpeople in Austin, Tex., and the president of the ABA, pointed out that the majority of ...

              Full Story

              Following the success of last year's California Bookstore Day, the first national Independent Bookstore Day will happen on May 2!

              Feb 10 2015: Last year's California Bookstore Day was such a rousing success that the idea is going national this year, on May 2.

              The mission, according to Samantha Schoech, who is producing both Independent Bookstore Day and California Bookstore Day, is not just to sell the 16 ...

                Full Story

                Historian Martin Gilbert, official biography of Winston Churchill, dies

                Feb 04 2015: Sir Martin Gilbert, the distinguished historian of more than 80 history books and atlases, and official biographer of Winston Churchill, has died aged 78 after a long illness.

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.