Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 6 of 289

View abbreviated list of news stories

Toni Morrison, towering novelist of the Black experience, dies at 88

Aug 06 2019: Toni Morrison, the 1993 Nobel laureate in literature, whose acclaimed, best-selling work explored black identity in America and in particular the experience of black women, died on Monday in the Bronx. She was 88.

Her death, at Montefiore Medical Center, was ...

Full Story

Tariff turmoil returns to the book industry

Aug 02 2019: President Trump announced yesterday afternoon that he is prepared to impose 10% tariffs on $300 billion worth of goods imported from China in retaliation for what he views as China’s failure to follow through on promises to buy more agricultural products from the U.S. ...

Full Story

Author of the Christian relationship guide that sold a million copies says he has lost his faith

Jul 30 2019: The author of a bestselling Christian guide to relationships for young people has announced that his marriage is over and he has lost his faith.

Joshua Harris, whose biblical guide to relationships I Kissed Dating Goodbye sold nearly 1m copies around the world after ...

Full Story

Colin Palmer, historian of the African diaspora, Is dead at 75

Jul 26 2019: Colin A. Palmer, a historian who broadened the understanding of the African diaspora, showing that the American slave trade was only one part of a phenomenon that spanned centuries and influenced cultures worldwide, died on June 20 in Kingston, Jamaica. He was 75.

Full Story

After Tor experiment, Macmillan expands embargo on library e-books

Jul 25 2019: More than a year after imposing a controversial four month "test" embargo on new release e-books in libraries from its Tor imprint, Macmillan announced today that it will now impose a two month embargo on library e-books across all of the company's imprints.

Under ...

Full Story

Margaret Atwood's The Testaments longlisted for the Booker Prize

Jul 24 2019: Margaret Atwood is longlisted for this year's £50,000 Booker Prize for The Testaments, her sequel to The Handmaid's Tale, despite the book being embargoed ahead of its Sept 10 on sale date. The judges said: "Spoiler discretion and a ferocious non-disclosure agreement ...

Full Story

Dean Koontz signs five-book deal with Amazon

Jul 22 2019: Horror and thriller author Dean Koontz has signed a five-book deal with Amazon Publishing imprint Thomas & Mercer...

... “Although there were numerous options for the future, it was most natural to sign with the team at Amazon Publishing, which presented a marketing ...

Full Story

Andrea Camilleri, beloved creator of Inspector Montalbano, dies aged 93

Jul 18 2019: One of Italy’s most popular authors and creator of the Inspector Montalbano series, Andrea Camilleri has died at the age of 93.

Camilleri, who was born in Sicily in 1925, was taken to hospital in Rome in June after going into cardiac arrest. The author had written a ...

Full Story

Editor's Choice


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.