Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 6 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Pat Conroy dies aged 70

Mar 05 2016: Pat Conroy died yesterday aged 70 after a short battle with pancreatic cancer. His tortured family life and the scenic marshlands of coastal South Carolina served as unending sources of inspiration for his fiction, notably the novels The Great Santini, The Lords of ...

    Full Story

    Ingram to buy Perseus's distribution business

    Mar 04 2016: A few days ago Perseus Book Group announced that Hachette would be buying their publishing arm, but it was unclear what would happen to their large distribution operation until yesterday when it was announced that this was to be bought by Ingram Content Group.

    Perseus...

      Full Story

      Hachette signs binding agreement to buy Perseus Book Group

      Mar 02 2016: Having failed in its bid to buy the Perseus Book Group in 2014, Hachette Book Group announced Tuesday afternoon that it has entered into a binding agreement to acquire the company’s publishing division. Perseus announced last September that it was looking for potential ...

        Full Story

        Detained Hong Kong booksellers charged with "illegal book trading"

        Mar 01 2016: Four Hong Kong booksellers who went missing last year appeared on Chinese television and confessed to illegally selling banned books in mainland China, Reuters reports.

        The Financial Times notes that confessions on television are "an increasingly common propaganda ...

          Full Story

          Louise Rennison dies aged 63

          Mar 01 2016: Louise Rennison has died aged 63. She was the author of 10 young adult novels featuring Georgia Nicholson and a series of books about Georgia's younger cousin: The Misadventures of Tallulah Casey.

          In a statement, HarperCollins said: "Nobody wrote for teenagers like...

            Full Story

            SIBA Book Awards now the Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize

            Mar 01 2016: The Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA) is paying tribute to one of the South’s most beloved writers by renaming the SIBA Book Awards. This has been in the works since the news of Conroy’s 70th birthday. SIBA Executive Director Wanda Jewell confirmed that ...

              Full Story

              Carla D. Hayden nominated as Librarian of Congress

              Feb 25 2016: President Obama has nominated as the next Librarian of Congress Carla D. Hayden, who has been CEO of the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, Md., since 1993. Before that, Dr. Hayden was deputy commissioner and chief librarian of the Chicago Public Library, assistant ...

                Full Story

                Emberto Eco dies at 84

                Feb 20 2016: The Italian writer and philosopher Umberto Eco, best known for his novel The Name of the Rose, has died aged 84.

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.