Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 4 of 325

View abbreviated list of news stories

New York’s Strand Bookstore asked for help and received 25,000 online orders

Oct 27 2020: One of New York’s oldest bookstores pleaded for help from customers — and help poured in.

Nancy Bass Wyden, owner of the Strand Bookstores, took to Facebook and Twitter on Friday to say the business was “unsustainable.” Sales had slumped 70 percent since 2019 because...

Full Story

How bookstores are weathering the pandemic

Oct 26 2020: An article at Vox explores how independent bookstores in the USA are doing everything they can to stay in business:

.... Powell’s and other independent bookstores across the country face an uncertain and undoubtedly difficult future: Government assistance has dried ...

Full Story

At this bookstore in Taiwan, visitors shop in the dark

Oct 26 2020: Remember when you used to sneak a flashlight under the covers so you could read a book after bedtime? A bookshop in Taiwan promises you a similar experience. Wuguan Books is located in Kaohsiung's Pier-2 Art Center, a warehouse-turned-creative hub in Taiwan's second-...

Full Story

Why lockdown was the plot twist that libraries needed

Oct 26 2020: In an opinion piece in the Guardian, the head of Suffolk Libraries in the East of England explains "why lockdown was the plot twist that libraries needed."

...It is often said librarians suffer from a marketing issue. This is a profession hardwired not to boast about...

Full Story

New York's Strand bookstore appeals for help

Oct 24 2020: The Strand Bookstore, a landmark of literary New York, is in serious trouble, appealing for customers to help it stave off closure amid the coronavirus pandemic.

“We’ve survived just about everything for 93 years,” proprietor Nancy Bass-Wyden said in a statement, of ...

Full Story

August bookstore sales dropped 31%

Oct 16 2020: Bookstore sales tumbled 30.7% in August compared to one year ago, according to preliminary estimates released by the U.S. Census Bureau. Sales fell to $754 million compared to $1.09 billion in August 2019... This drop was in marked contrast with the entire retail ...

Full Story

Ava DuVernay to write, direct and produce ‘Caste’ film adaptation at Netflix

Oct 16 2020: After the success of her documentary "13th" and miniseries "When They See Us," Ava DuVernay has set her first feature film at Netflix.

The Oscar-nominated filmmaker will write, direct and produce the feature adaptation of Isabel Wilkerson’s critically-acclaimed book ...

Full Story

ABA Launches 'Boxed Out' campaign in support of indie bookstores

Oct 14 2020: The American Booksellers Association is launching a campaign called "Boxed Out," aiming to emphasize to customers "the high stakes indie bookstores face this holiday season in the age of Amazon and Covid-19." Timed in part as a counterpoint to Amazon Prime Day--...

Full Story

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    by Ellen Cooney
    In One Night Two Souls Went Walking, we follow a young interfaith chaplain as she carries out her ...
  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline
The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.