Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 4 of 289

View abbreviated list of news stories

Booker Prize shortlist announced, including Salman Rushdie and Margaret Atwood

Sep 03 2019: The shortlist for The Booker Prize, the U.K.'s top prize for fiction, has been announced. The list includes two former winners, Margaret Atwood and Salman Rushdie--even though Atwood's book doesn't publish until next week:

Margaret Atwood (Canada), The Testaments (...

Full Story

Reese Witherspoon names The Secrets We Kept her September 2019 book club pick

Sep 01 2019: Reese Witherspoon has named Lara Prescott's debut novel The Secrets We Kept as her September book club choice. This thrilling historical fiction, which publishes on September 3, is inspired by the true story of the CIA plot to infiltrate the hearts and minds of Soviet ...

Full Story

Audible will exclude publishers’ works from captions program—for now

Aug 30 2019: In a stipulation filed in federal court on August 28, Audible has agreed to exclude works from a group of major publishers from its Captions program until permission and licensing issues raised in a recent lawsuit are resolved.

Full Story

Marley Dias: 14-year-old education activist

Aug 28 2019: Marley Dias was 10 the day she came home from school to eat pancakes with her mother and vented her frustration at being assigned to read Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls. Again.

“It is one of those ‘classic books’ that’s existed in our school systems for so ...

Full Story

How Barbara Kingsolver reignited her love affair with words

Aug 28 2019: Writing in The Washington Post, Barbara Kingsolver talks about her current work screen-writing the TV adaptation of The Poisonwood Bible, and her rediscovered love of writing poetry:

[L]ately, something else is pulling me back to my computer late at night. I get ...

Full Story

Bibliotheca calls out Amazon for meddling in the library e-book market

Aug 28 2019: For more than a year now, one of the worst kept secrets in the publishing world has been that Amazon shares information with publishers and authors that allegedly paints library e-book lending in a negative light. But in a message sent to library customers on August 27,...

Full Story

One of Britain's most active cultural philanthropists and founder of the David Cohen Prize for Literature dies aged 89

Aug 28 2019: David Cohen, one of Britain's most active cultural philanthropists and founder of the £40,000 (about $49,145) David Cohen Prize for Literature, died August 4. He was 89. The Bookseller reported that the award was created in 1992 when Cohen responded to a newspaper ...

Full Story

AAP suit seeks to block implementation of Audible captions

Aug 26 2019: The Association of American Publishers filed suit on August 23 in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York in a bid to stop Audible from moving ahead with its plans to implement its Audible Captions program. Under Captions, Audible will transcribe a...

Full Story

Editor's Choice


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.