Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 3 of 289

View abbreviated list of news stories

Cokie Roberts, pioneering journalist who helped shape NPR, dies at 75

Sep 18 2019: Veteran journalist Cokie Roberts, who joined an upstart NPR in 1978 and left an indelible imprint on the growing network with her coverage of Washington politics before later going to ABC News, has died. She was 75.

Roberts died Tuesday because of complications from ...

Full Story

No-deal Brexit could put indie publishers out of business

Sep 16 2019: Indie press Galley Beggar has warned of the impact a no-deal Brexit could have on publishing after learning of “crazy” government requirements on distribution and warned it could put smaller publishers out of business.

The Norwich-based independent, which recently ...

Full Story

Publishers announce new Elena Ferrante novel out in November

Sep 10 2019: Elena Ferrante, the Italian author whose Neapolitan novels became a global phenomenon, is to publish a new book in Italy on 7 November – her first novel in four years.

Full Story

Jojo Moyes: UK government must tackle ‘shameful’ adult literacy levels

Sep 07 2019: Bestselling author Jojo Moyes has called on the government and the publishing industry to do more about the UK’s “shameful” adult literacy record. In 2018, Moyes, writer of global hits including Me Before You and The Girl You Left Behind, donated three years of funding ...

Full Story

Dorothea Benton Frank, beloved Lowcountry author, dies

Sep 05 2019: Dorothea Benton Frank, author of 20 novels set in the Charleston area and a beloved figure who for years split her time between Sullivan’s Island and the New York City area, died Monday evening after a brief illness. She was 67.

Full Story

Indie booksellers express fury at Amazon's early release of Atwood's The Testaments

Sep 05 2019: Amazon has broken the worldwide embargo on Margaret Atwood's The Testaments (Nan A. Talese), which isn't supposed to go on sale until next Tuesday, September 10, inadvertently shipping about 800 copies to customers. This has infuriated indies, led to early reviews of ...

Full Story

Stanford sexual assault survivor identifies herself before release of memoir

Sep 04 2019: Chanel Miller was known by the pseudonym Emily Doe at the trial of Stanford student Brock Turner, who was sentenced to six months in county jail for the assault. The sentence caused widespread anger given that Turner could have been jailed for up to 14 years for the ...

Full Story

Margaret Atwood’s book released in error to 800 Amazon shoppers

Sep 04 2019: Hundreds of readers in the US have received early copies of Margaret Atwood’s heavily embargoed follow-up to The Handmaid’s Tale, The Testaments, after copies were shipped out early by Amazon.

Security around the novel had been as tight as anything mounted for JK ...

Full Story

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World That We Knew
    The World That We Knew
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's sparkling prose and immersive descriptions of place summon readers into World War II...
  • Book Jacket: Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead
    by Olga Tokarczuk
    A subversive feminist noir mystery set in a remote Polish village, Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of...
  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Seine
    by Elaine Sciolino

    "A soulful, transformative voyage along the body of water that defines the City of Light."
    —Lauren Collins
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ordinary Girls
    by Jaquira Díaz

    Reminiscent of Tara Westover's Educate and Roxane Gay's Hunger--a memoir that reads as electrically as a novel.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.