MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 2 of 299

View abbreviated list of news stories

Costa Book of the Year: Auschwitz resistance biography wins prize

Jan 29 2020: The Volunteer, a biography of a Polish resistance fighter who infiltrated the Nazi death camp at Auschwitz, has won the Costa Book of the Year award.

The book, by former war reporter Jack Fairweather, beat four other titles to the prize on the day after the 75th ...

Full Story

When drag queens lead children’s story time, 'a lot of hugs' — and controversy — follow

Jan 25 2020: Huntington Woods, Mich. — The last time drag queens came to the public library here, two dozen children and their parents crowded into a cozy room to enjoy holiday stories. Jessica J’Adore — decked out in a curly red wig, a shiny green cocktail dress and elaborate ...

Full Story

'American Dirt' author speaks to booksellers divided on her book

Jan 24 2020: Jeanine Cummins, the author of American Dirt, which is being celebrated by the likes of Oprah Winfrey, who selected it for her book club, while at the same time receiving negative reviews in The New York Times and other media outlets, and is being criticized on social ...

Full Story

Remembering Jim Lehrer

Jan 24 2020: PBS NewsHour co-founder Jim Lehrer, a giant in journalism known for his tenacity and dedication to simply delivering the news, died peacefully in his sleep at home on Thursday, at the age of 85.

Lehrer was also a prolific writer. He was the author of some 20 novels, ...

Full Story

Barnes & Noble and Oprah both pick "American Dirt" for book club

Jan 22 2020: Barnes & Noble has chosen American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins as its February national book club selection.

Oprah Winfrey has also chosen American Dirt as her latest book club pick. As quoted by O: The Oprah Magazine, Oprah said, "Like so many of us, I've read ...

Full Story

Jack Reacher author Lee Child passes writing baton to brother

Jan 21 2020: Lee Child (the pen name of James Grant), the author of the best-selling Jack Reacher novels, is handing over the writing duties to his younger brother.

Andrew Grant, aged 51, is already an established author and will write under the pen name Andrew Child.

Child ...

Full Story

'American Dirt' sparks conversations about the politics of fiction

Jan 21 2020: Cummins’ novel, published Jan 21, about the border crisis has already sparked a cacophony of reactions from writers across the United States. Some have praised her for humanizing the migrant tale, and for sending a timely and important message to the world about the ...

Full Story

Bill in Missouri raises fears of book banning in public libraries--and prison sentences for librarians who don't comply

Jan 17 2020: Free speech and library advocates are sounding the alarm this week over a bill proposed in Missouri that seeks to establish "parental library review boards" as a condition of state funding, with the boards having the power to decide which "age-appropriate" materials can...

Full Story

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...
  • Book Jacket: The End of the Ocean
    The End of the Ocean
    by Maja Lunde
    In The History of Bees, her debut novel for adults, internationally bestselling Norwegian writer ...
  • Book Jacket: Heart of Junk
    Heart of Junk
    by Luke Geddes
    In Luke Geddes' debut novel, The Heart of America is the largest year-round antique mall in Kansas, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Small Days and Nights
    by Tishani Doshi

    A captivating and clear-eyed story of two sisters, set against the backdrop of modern India.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Father of Lions
by Louise Callaghan

A true-to-life narrative of one man's remarkable quest to save the Mosul Zoo.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Sounds Like Titanic

"The definition of an overdeliver." —Vox

"A tricky, unnerving, consistently fascinating memoir."
Kirkus, starred review

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.