Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 2 of 289

View abbreviated list of news stories

The global war on books, redux

Oct 03 2019: The New York Times has just published a powerful article on how governments across the globe are spending a remarkable amount of resources attacking books. Because this is an important article and many BookBrowse readers may be blocked from reading the full piece by ...

Full Story

Penguin Random House releases free The Whistle-Blower Complaint audiobook

Sep 27 2019: Penguin Random House Audio has released a free, 30-minute audio reading of The Whistle-Blower Complaint. It was recorded by Saskia Maarleveld, a professional audiobook narrator.

Full Story

Pew survey finds more adults listening to audiobooks

Sep 27 2019: A new report by the Pew Research Center has provided more documentation on the growing popularity of audiobooks.

In a survey of 1,502 American adults conducted from January 8 to February 7 this year, Pew found that 20% of adults listened to an audiobook in the 12 ...

Full Story

26 MacArthur Fellows announced, including 10 writers

Sep 26 2019: Twenty-six new MacArthur Fellows have been announced for 2019. Each will receive a $625,000 grant paid out over five years. According to the MacArthur Foundation each recipient has "shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked ...

Full Story

New York Times shifts its lists again

Sep 26 2019: The New York Times Book Review has announced a new slate of changes to its bestseller lists, both in print and online.

After cutting the mass market paperback and graphic novel/manga lists in 2017, the Times' Best Sellers team will again track mass market paperback ...

Full Story

US booksellers support #GlobalClimateStrike

Sep 23 2019: Indie booksellers across the U.S. supported last Friday's Global Climate Strike in many ways.

"No one can be certain that any of this will lead to change," Silver Unicorn owner Paul Swydan wrote. "But at our employee meeting on Tuesday, we decided that closing until ...

Full Story

New B&N CEO James Daunt gets to work on rejuvenating America’s largest bookstore retailer

Sep 23 2019: If the fortunes of Barnes & Noble are going to be turned around—and new CEO James Daunt is confident they will be—the improvement will be led by the company’s booksellers. In an interview at B&N’s flagship bookstore in New York City, Daunt repeatedly stressed that the ...

Full Story

UK book industry joins global climate strike

Sep 23 2019: UK publishers, booksellers and literary agents were among the millions around the world who took part in a climate strike and protests to demand urgent action on environmental change.

The marches, inspired by Swedish environmental campaigner Greta Thunberg, saw ...

Full Story

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.