Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 2 of 325

View abbreviated list of news stories

Costa Awards short list announced.

Nov 25 2020: Shortlists in five categories have been announced for the 2020 Costa Book Awards, recognizing some of the most enjoyable books published in the last year by authors living in the U.K. and Ireland. This year's shortlists feature 10 debuts, four previously shortlisted ...

Full Story

Beatles biography 'One Two Three Four' wins Baillie Gifford prize

Nov 25 2020: Craig Brown has won the Baillie Gifford prize, the UK’s top award for nonfiction, for One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time, a take on the band that judges said had “reinvented the art of biography”.

A mix of history, diaries, autobiography, fan letters, interviews...

Full Story

Penguin Random House to buy Simon & Schuster

Nov 25 2020: Bertelsmann, owner of Penguin Random House, is buying Simon & Schuster from ViacomCBS and will make it part of PRH, the company announced. The deal should close in the second half of next year, subject to the usual closing procedures as well as regulatory approval. The ...

Full Story

Jan Morris, historian, travel writer and trans pioneer, dies aged 94

Nov 21 2020: Jan Morris, the historian and travel writer who evoked time and place with the flair of a novelist, has died aged 94.

As a journalist Morris broke monumental news, including Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay’s ascent of Everest, and the French involvement in the ...

Full Story

Douglas Stuart's debut novel Shuggie Bain wins Booker Prize

Nov 20 2020: Scottish-American author Douglas Stuart has won the Booker prize for his first novel, Shuggie Bain, a story based on his own life that follows a boy growing up in poverty in 1980s Glasgow with a mother who is battling addiction.

Full Story

Dan Rather is this year's Indies First spokesperson

Nov 20 2020: Author, journalist and former national evening news anchor Dan Rather is this year's official Indies First spokesperson, the American Booksellers Association announced, noting: "In recent weeks, legendary news anchor Rather has been promoting independent bookstores via ...

Full Story

First-day sales of A Promised Land Set Penguin Random House record

Nov 19 2020: Sales of A Promised Land (Crown), the first volume of Barack Obama's presidential memoirs, totaled more than 887,000 in the U.S. and Canada in all formats on Tuesday, November 17, the book's pub date. Penguin Random House said these sales, including preorders, "...

Full Story

National Book Awards announced

Nov 19 2020: The National Book Awards have been announced. See them all at BookBrowse.

Full Story

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    One Night Two Souls Went Walking
    by Ellen Cooney
    In One Night Two Souls Went Walking, we follow a young interfaith chaplain as she carries out her ...
  • Book Jacket: Truthtelling
    Truthtelling
    by Lynne Schwartz
    The word "unsayable" can mean something is too vast to be put into words. Alternatively, it can ...
  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline
The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.