MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Book Club Interviews: Archives

Interviews With Book Clubs

BookBrowse is a thriving and growing community of booklovers. Each week BookBrowse receives hundreds of book reviews, feedback messages, ideas and other information from its visitors.

Out of this feedback came the opportunity - and idea - to further encourage and support this community by publishing interviews with book club. These interviews are packed with useful information, insights - and are just plain fun to read!

Below is our historical archive. We hope you enjoy these Q&As with these fascinating booklovers - just like you!

Fourth Monday Book Club
Fourth Monday Book Club
Has your book club been thinking of reading more nonfiction books, or had trouble finding nonfiction titles that generate good discussions? If so, you'll find this month's interview with a book club that reads almost exclusively nonfiction fascinating, and their annotated suggestion list of more than 30 nonfiction titles invaluable!
November 2012
Sisterhood Book Club
Sisterhood Book Club
What do you do when the cops interrupt a perfectly good book club meeting? Johnna Puttoff of The Sisterhood - a 13-year-old book group based in Frankfort, Kentucky - explains.
October 2012
Muse & Views Book Club
Muse & Views Book Club
Meet the Muse & Views book club of Ottawa, Canada - a group of ten women who meet monthly for good conversation about a wide range of books.
June 2012
History Book Group
History Book Group
Lesley Fitzpatrick and Maggie Thompson, co-founders of the History Book Group in San Diego, CA., join us to talk about their approach to history, and offer up some great advice and selections.
May 2012
3 Rs Book Club - Retired, Relaxed and Reading
3 Rs Book Club - Retired, Relaxed and Reading
The 3 Rs Book Club - Retired, Relaxed and Reading - based in Tallahassee, Florida, joins us to discuss how these retired educators keep their meetings explosively fun: literature-inspired treats, historical presentations... even bringing a live grenade to a meeting!
April 2012
Boys Book Club (aka BBC)
Boys Book Club (aka BBC)
The Boys Book Club - aka the "BBC" - based out of San Diego, California, is made up entirely of men between the ages of 45 and 60 and has been meeting monthly for over two years.
January 2012
Reading Rock Book Club
Reading Rock Book Club
The Reading Rock Book Club in Dickson, TN, celebrates two years together this month. Laura Hill, owner of Reading Rock Books, joins us to talk about her group.
January 2012
Las Revistas Book Club
Las Revistas Book Club
Rosemary Toland, one of the sixteen members of the San Antonio based book club Las Revistas, discusses how they've kept the discussion flowing over 25 years and more than 200 books!
October 2011
Books & Bars
Books & Bars
Jeff Kamin runs the Minneapolis based Books & Bars book club which regularly attracts over 90 people to a meeting, about 40% of whom are men. Find out more about Jeff's unique concept for a book club...
January 2011
Lincoln Township Library Book Club
Lincoln Township Library Book Club
Kate Mitrovich runs a thematic book discussion group at the Lincoln Township Library in Stevensville, MI. The group is inspired by the ALA's "Let's Talk About It" book discussion model.
November 2010
Would you be interested in being interviewed for this feature? If so, please contact us with brief details about your club. It is very helpful if you include both a contact email and a telephone number.

Advice Main Page  |  Starting a Book Club  |  The First Meeting
Leading Meetings  |  Difficult Meetings  |  Choosing Books  |  Inviting Authors
DIY Reading Guides  |  Book Club Games

Reading Guides  |  Themed Reading Lists  |  Online Discussions  |  Blog  |  White Paper

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.