Recommended book club reading lists by theme, with a reading guide for each book.

Book Club Reading Lists by Theme

Browse by: Author |  Title  |  Genre |  Setting |  Time Period |  Theme

Theme: Firsts

    •   1st Books/1st Novels
    •   1st in Series

Theme: Families

    •   Generational & Family Sagas
    •   Parenting & Families (fiction & non-fiction)

Theme: Ages & Stages

    •   Adult Books From A Child's Perspective
    •   Coming of Age
    •   Mid-Life Onwards
    •   Dealing with Loss
    •   Physical & Mental Differences
    •   LGBT

Theme: Ethnicity

    •   Books in Translation
    •   Immigrants & Expatriates
    •   Asian Writers/Themes
    •   African American Authors & Leads
    •   Jewish Writers/Themes
    •   Islam

Theme: Women

    •   Strong Female Leads
    •   Female Friendships

Theme: Books About Animals

    •   Books About Animals

Theme: Philosophy, Religion, Spirituality

    •   Philosophical
    •   Religious or Spiritual Themes

Theme: Magical or Supernatural Elements

    •   Magical or Supernatural Elements

Theme: Various

    •   Heroes
    •   Uplifting books
    •   In Time of War & The Effects of War
    •   Controversial Subjects
    •   Nature & Environmental Themes
    •   Charities & Volunteering

Theme: Humor & Satire

    •   Humor & Satire

Theme: For Readers & Writers

    •   Small Press Titles
    •   Reference Books for Readers & Book Clubs
    •   Books about Books, Book Lovers & Language

Theme: Doorstoppers

    •   Books With 500+ Pages

Advice Main Page  |  Starting a Book Club  |  The First Meeting
Leading Meetings  |  Difficult Meetings  |  Choosing Books  |  Inviting Authors
DIY Reading Guides  |  Book Club Games

Reading Guides  |  Themed Reading Lists  |  Online Discussions  |  Blog  |  White Paper

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.