Tried and tested suggestions for how to choose books that your book club will enjoy reading

Suggestions for Choosing Books

Choosing Books for Your Book Club

There are a great many books that are very enjoyable to read but have little to discuss, and others that are hard going, but generate good discussions. The sweet spot is to find books that are enjoyable and good to discuss. One way to increase the chances of reading the latter type of book is to make it a requirement that somebody recommending a book has to have read it first. The exception to this, perhaps, being books that are already well established as book club favorites.

There are many different ways to choose books for your book club, and there is no reason to stick with the same formula all the time. Here are a few suggestions:

  • Each person takes it in turns to choose a book and, unless there is mass disagreement, their choice stands.

  • One person is responsible for bringing, say, 3 choices to the meeting and the group decides which to read.

  • All bring a suggestion and then the group agrees which are the top choices to read - and thus the next few months of books are decided.

  • Use BookBrowse! We only feature books that we wholeheartedly stand behind as best in class, and have a whole section of recommended book club reads - including our Top 10 Most Viewed Books list which is updated weekly.

  • Choose a theme for 2-3 books in a row. Or revisit the same theme from time to time (for example, some clubs make a point of reading a book set locally or by a local author at least once a year.) BookBrowse's book club recommendations are sorted by title, author and genre, time period, setting and theme.

  • Avoid getting stuck in a rut, if the last few books have been contemporary fiction, how about a non-fiction choice? If you've even reading a lot of historical fiction, how about a fantasy? Some genres produce more books suitable for discussion than others, but every genre has books that make good choices for book clubs.

  • Look for recommendations at your library or bookstore. Most libraries have lists of recommended titles and 'librarian picks', and many libaries will be happy to work with you and your group to find book choices that you're likely to enjoy (and some even have special book club kits to borrow - with multiple copies of the book, or will help source copies within the library's collection).

  • Check out lists of awards such as The Pulitzer Prize, Booker Prize and National Book Awards. Many of these books make good choices for book clubs. See our Awards lists.

  • It's unlikely that everybody will agree on every book choice every time. Make it clear when the group is set up, and when new members join, that a majority vote will carry - encourage members to treat new genres or authors with an open mind - after all most people join a book club to expand their reading experience.

  • Select your books at least two meetings ahead of time, so that you have time to buy/borrow and read the book. Some groups plan their entire year's reading at one meeting, others prefer to stay just a few books ahead (40% of groups plan at least 4 months ahead).

  • Be cautious of committing to books too far ahead as the mood and interests of the group will likely change over time and you could find yourselves tied into a book that is no longer of interest.

  • At least for the first few meetings, choose reasonably short books with a ready prepared reading guide. Avoid books that are bound to become controversial (e.g. religion and politics) until the group members have had time to get to know each other.

  • Initially, it's best to choose books that have a discussion guide. A discussion guide, also known as a reading guide, is simply a list of suggested topics. Not only will the discussion guide provide interesting avenues for the conversation but it also signals that the book is likely a good choice for book clubs.

    Don't feel you have to follow the guide rigidly (and don't read it until you've read the book as it will likely have spoilers), it's simply a resource to get the conversation going and to turn to if the discussion is running out of steam or going off course.

    BookBrowse offers many hundreds of book club recommendations sorted by title, author and genre, time period, setting and theme - all with reading guides.

    Not every book has a formal reading guide - in which case check out our DIY Discussion Guides page.

    See Leading a Book Club Discussion for more about discussion guides..

 

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.