Book Club Interviews: Archives

Interviews With Book Clubs

BookBrowse is a thriving and growing community of booklovers. Each week BookBrowse receives hundreds of book reviews, feedback messages, ideas and other information from its visitors.

Out of this feedback came the opportunity - and idea - to further encourage and support this community by publishing interviews with book club. These interviews are packed with useful information, insights - and are just plain fun to read!

Below is our historical archive. We hope you enjoy these Q&As with these fascinating booklovers - just like you!

Feisty Readers Mother Daughter Book Club
Feisty Readers Mother Daughter Book Club
A discussion with Sharry Wright, leader of The Feisty Readers Mother Daughter Book Club, based in San Francisco, California.
November 2013
Reading Divas Book Club
Reading Divas Book Club
A discussion with Sharon Lucas, founding member and President of The Reading Divas, a book club in Bowie, Maryland which also holds an annual literary event, "The Black Authors & Readers Rock Weekend".
September 2013
Agape Book Club
Agape Book Club
Cindy Alt, founder of Agape Plastics, began a book club in her workplace 3 years ago in an effort to balance the physical extra curricular activities that already take place there. The result has been a dynamic group of women - plus one brave man! - who find much meaning in discussing books and learning about each other outside of their usual "work" personas.
August 2013
Novels & Nightcaps Book Club
Novels & Nightcaps Book Club
An interview with Novels & Nightcaps - a monthly book club of eight women, based near Death Valley, who are all affiliated with the US Navy.
July 2013
Outlook Book Group
Outlook Book Group
Susie Thurman, of Outlook Book Group, a fifteen-member, all women group based in Henderson, KY, founded in 1922. shares the unusual way their group runs; and reveals a secret that she surprised the group with earlier this year! (Hint: Just who is this woman to the left?)
June 2013
Foster Book Group
Foster Book Group
An interview with the Foster Book Group of Rhode Island, a rural community of about 4,000. However, the very things that make their town special can cause a feeling of isolation and so their book group grew out of the desire to have social and intellectual interactions - but it has bloomed into something so much more...
April 2013
Bound to Be Read Books
Bound to Be Read Books
Bound To Be Read Books is an independent bookstore in East Atlanta Village, Georgia. BookBrowse caught up with owner Jeff McCord to talk about the store's many book clubs – including their infamous Scandalous Book Club.
March 2013
South Austin Spiritual Book Group
South Austin Spiritual Book Group
The South Austin Spiritual BookGroup is about openness. They are independent thinkers and self-proclaimed drop-outs from various belief systems. Their spiritual non-fiction book discussions are lively and passionate. This group fills a need in the community.
February 2013
FRESH Ladies Book Club
FRESH Ladies Book Club
An interview with the FRESH Ladies, a group of ten women ranging in age from fifties to ninety-five. With a diverse age range, a wide variety of professions and interests, and a common thread of respect and friendship, this book club hasn't had a dull moment in 8 years! And it's still going strong...
January 2013
Perry Branch Adult Book Group
Perry Branch Adult Book Group
In an effort to connect libraries to the reading community at large, in July 2007, the Perry Branch Library in Gilbert, Arizona began a monthly, librarian-facilitated book group. Lesley Marshall, who heads the program, tells BookBrowse a bit about it...
December 2012
Would you be interested in being interviewed for this feature? If so, please contact us with brief details about your club. It is very helpful if you include both a contact email and a telephone number.

Advice Main Page  |  Starting a Book Club  |  The First Meeting
Leading Meetings  |  Difficult Meetings  |  Choosing Books  |  Inviting Authors
DIY Reading Guides  |  Book Club Games

Reading Guides  |  Themed Reading Lists  |  Online Discussions  |  Blog  |  White Paper

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.