MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 1 of 6

A book is one of the most patient of all man's inventions.

A book may be compared to your neighbor...

A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say

A few books well chosen, and well made use of, will be more profitable than a great confused Alexandrian library.

A library is a temple unabridged with priceless treasure...

A library is thought in cold storage

A library, to modify the famous metaphor of Socrates, should be the delivery room for the birth of ideas--a place where history comes to life.

A million monkeys...

A truly good book teaches me better than to read it...

All my major works have been written in prison...

Anagrams

Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it.

Any activity becomes creative when the doer cares about doing it right, or better.

Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics...

At times, our own light goes out, and is rekindled by a spark from another person.

Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint.

Be sincere, be brief, be seated

Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse.

Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt unites them

Believe those who are seeking the truth. Doubt those who find it.

Beware the man of one book

Books are the carriers of civilization

Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there.

Chance favors only the prepared mind

Children are not the people of tomorrow, but people today.

Choose an author as you would a friend

Common sense is genius dressed in its working clothes.

Courage - a perfect sensibility of the measure of danger, and a mental willingness to endure it.

Dictators ride to and fro on tigers from which they dare not dismount. And the tigers are getting hungry.

Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought.

Don't join the book burners. Don't think you are going to conceal faults by concealing evidence that they ever existed. Don't be afraid to go into your library and read every book.

Education is the period during which you are being instructed by somebody you do not know, about something you do not want to know.

Every good journalist has a novel in him - which is an excellent place for it.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Kindness of Strangers
    The Kindness of Strangers
    by Michael E. McCullough
    "Do unto others as you would have them do unto you." Everyone, at some point in their life, has ...
  • Book Jacket: Hamnet
    Hamnet
    by Maggie O'Farrell
    William Shakespeare's name is never used in Hamnet — a conspicuous absence around which Maggie...
  • Book Jacket: After the Last Border
    After the Last Border
    by Jessica Goudeau
    According to the United Nations Refugee Agency, the number of displaced people around the world is ...
  • Book Jacket: Crossings
    Crossings
    by Alex Landragin
    Crossings is a beautiful, if slightly messy, time-bending debut. It reads like a vampire novel, sans...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    With or Without You
    by Caroline Leavitt

    A moving novel about twists of fate, the shifting terrain of love, and coming into your own.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

The the story of one tough-as-nails girl whose choices are few but whose fight is boundless.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Every Bone a Prayer

Every Bone a Prayer
by Ashley Blooms

A beautifully honest exploration of healing and of hope.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Real M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.