Who said: "A library, to modify the famous metaphor of Socrates, should be the delivery room for the birth of ideas--a place where history comes to life."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

A library, to modify the famous metaphor of Socrates, should be the delivery room for the birth of ideas--a place where history comes to life." - Norman Cousins

Norman Cousins (1915-1990) was an American political journalist, author, professor and world peace advocate. He was born in New Jersey and educated in the Bronx, New York City, where he edited the school paper; after which he attended and received a bachelor's degree from Columbia University in New York.

He joined the New York Evening Post in 1934 and soon after was hired by Current History (the oldest US publication devoted exclusively to world affairs) as a book critic and later became managing editor. By 1940 he was also on the staff of The Saturday Review of Literature (later The Saturday Review), and was editor-in-chief for 30 years from 1942, instructing his staff "not just to appraise literature, but to try to serve it, nurture it, safeguard it." During his time as editor-in-chief, The Saturday Review's circulation grew from 20,000 to 650,000.

He was a tireless advocate of liberal causes including nuclear disarmament and, in the 1960s, began the American-Soviet Dartmouth Conferences (funded by the Ford Foundation and the Kettering Foundation on the US side). This was a forum where leading American and Soviet non-governmental intellectuals could meet and discuss peace initiatives, and was used as an unofficial communication channel between the two governments. The Conferences still continue.

Cousins is the author of a number of nonfiction books on the topic of world peace and nuclear disarmament; and facilitated communication between the Holy See, the Kremlin and the White House which helped lead to the Soviet-American test ban treaty. He received a number of awards including the Eleanor Roosevelt Peace Award and the United Nations Peace Medal. He also wrote a collection of best-selling books on illness and healing as well as his memoir, Human Options: An Autobiographical Notebook.

In addition, Cousins was an Adjunct Professor of Medical Humanities at the University of California, Los Angeles where he did research on the biochemistry of human emotions, believing they were key to fighting illness. He tackled his own illnesses with huge doses of Vitamin C, a positive attitude, and laughter induced by Marx Brothers films. "I made the joyous discovery that ten minutes of genuine belly laughter had an anesthetic effect and would give me at least two hours of pain-free sleep," he reported. "When the pain-killing effect of the laughter wore off, we would switch on the motion picture projector again and not infrequently, it would lead to another pain-free interval."

Cousins and his wife Ellen raised four daughters. He died of heart failure in 1990 having lived years longer than his doctors predicted.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.