MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "Choose an author as you would a friend"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Choose an author as you would a friend

Wentworth Dillon Wentworth Dillon, Earl of Roscommon (c.1633 -1685) was an Irish poet and translator. This particular quote comes from his Essay on Translated Verse.

Examine how your Humour is inclin'd,
And which the Ruling Paƒƒion of your Mind;
Then, ƒeek a Poet who your way do's bend,
and chuƒe an Author as you chuƒe a Friend.

For those whose medieval English might be a bit rusty, ƒ is a variation on the letter s known as long s. The rules of use were complicated but in general it was used at the beginning or middle of a word, but not at the end.

Long s was used in countries whose languages derived from Latin up until the late 18th century. Britain and the USA were among the last to abandon it - The London Times switched in September 1803, and Acts of Congress in the USA stopped being published with a long s from 1804.

The long s lives on in calculus where it is used as the integral symbol--and, occasionally, in churches that still use the King James Bible--adding a certain frisson to some readings, as illustrated in the 1994 episode of the British comedy, The Vicar of Dibley.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.