MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say." – Italo Calvino

Italo CalvinoThe Italian journalist, short-story writer and novelist Italo Calvino (1923-1985) was born in Santiago de las Vegas, Cuba. His parents were the Italian botanists Mario Calvino and Evelina Mameli. Shortly after he was born they returned to Italy where he grew up in Sanremo on the Italian Riviera.

In 1941 he moved to Turin, and in 1943 joined the Italian Resistance (more than 300,000 Italians joined the Resistance fighting German occupying forces and Italian fascists); later he joined the (then clandestine) Italian Communist Party. In 1947 he graduated from Turin University with a thesis on Joseph Conrad; after which he wrote for the official Communist paper L'Unità, and also for a weekly cultural magazine, and later the communist weekly political magazine Rinascita.

In 1957 he unexpectedly left the Communist party and become co-editor of Il Menabò di letteratura, where he stayed for many years. His first novel Il sentiero dei nidi di ragno (1947, The Path to the Nest of Spiders), was inspired by his participation in the Italian Resistance. He turned to fantasy and allegory in the 1950s, for which he is best remembered.

He traveled widely, lecturing in many countries including France, Japan, Mexico, and the USA, He won many honors including being made an Honorary Member of the American Academy and being awarded the prestigious French Légion d'Honneur. He died in 1985 in Siena of a cerebral hemorrhage.

"Everything can change, but not the language that we carry inside us, like a world more exclusive and final than one's mother's womb." - Calvino

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: In the Dream House
    In the Dream House
    by Carmen Maria Machado
    In the introduction to In the Dream House, Carmen Maria Machado (a National Book Award finalist for ...
  • Book Jacket: Father of Lions
    Father of Lions
    by Louise Callaghan
    Our readers have given high marks to Father of Lions by Louise Callaghan. Out of 21 reviewers, 18 ...
  • Book Jacket
    Girl, Woman, Other
    by Bernardine Evaristo
    As we meet Amma, a 50-something playwright finally experiencing mainstream success in Bernardine ...
  • Book Jacket: The Revisioners
    The Revisioners
    by Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
    The chapters of Margaret Wilkerson Sexton's second novel, The Revisioners, alternate between three ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Lost Man
by Jane Harper

"Strong characters, riveting plot and an honest look at life in the Australian outback make it easy to give this 5-stars!"
—BookBrowse

About the book
Join the discussion!

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    You Were There Too
    by Colleen Oakley

    Acclaimed author Colleen Oakley delivers a heart-wrenching and unforgettable love story.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Adventurer's Son

Publishing Soon!
The Adventurer's Son

"A brave and marvelous book. A page-turner that will rip your heart out."
--Jon Krakauer

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I I A Broke, D F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.