Who said: "Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse."
– Molly Ivins


Molly IvinsMary Tyler "Molly" Ivins (1944-2007) was a bestselling author, newspaper columnist, political commentator and humorist.

She was born in Monterey, California and grew up in Houston, Texas. Having received her B.A. from Smith College in 1966 she earned a master's degree in journalism from Columbia University, after which she studied for a year in Paris at the Institute of Political Science.

Her first journalism job was at the Houston Chronicle where she graduated from the complaints department to local news. After this she moved to the Minneapolis Tribune as the first woman police reporter and later as the reporter responsible for covering social change during which she wrote about "militant blacks, angry Indians, radical students, uppity women and a motley assortment of other misfits and troublemakers."

Then followed six years with the Texas Observer until, in 1976, she was hired by the New York Times who wanted to liven up their writing. She wrote for the Times for 6 years but her style was a little too colorful for the editors' expectations - in 1982, after writing about a 'community chicken-killing festival', that she referred to as a 'gang-pluck', she was dismissed.

She spent the next decade at the Dallas Times Herald until the paper folded in 1992, after which she moved to the Fort Worth Star-Telegram where she stayed until going independent in 2001 with a syndicated column which soon had a following of nearly 400 newspapers.

In 1999 she was diagnosed with breast cancer, which reoccurred in 2003 and 2005. She continued writing her column right up to the end, her last column was published on January 7, 2007. She died on January 31 at the age of 62.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.