Who said: "Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse."
– Molly Ivins


Molly IvinsMary Tyler "Molly" Ivins (1944-2007) was a bestselling author, newspaper columnist, political commentator and humorist.

She was born in Monterey, California and grew up in Houston, Texas. Having received her B.A. from Smith College in 1966 she earned a master's degree in journalism from Columbia University, after which she studied for a year in Paris at the Institute of Political Science.

Her first journalism job was at the Houston Chronicle where she graduated from the complaints department to local news. After this she moved to the Minneapolis Tribune as the first woman police reporter and later as the reporter responsible for covering social change during which she wrote about "militant blacks, angry Indians, radical students, uppity women and a motley assortment of other misfits and troublemakers."

Then followed six years with the Texas Observer until, in 1976, she was hired by the New York Times who wanted to liven up their writing. She wrote for the Times for 6 years but her style was a little too colorful for the editors' expectations - in 1982, after writing about a 'community chicken-killing festival', that she referred to as a 'gang-pluck', she was dismissed.

She spent the next decade at the Dallas Times Herald until the paper folded in 1992, after which she moved to the Fort Worth Star-Telegram where she stayed until going independent in 2001 with a syndicated column which soon had a following of nearly 400 newspapers.

In 1999 she was diagnosed with breast cancer, which reoccurred in 2003 and 2005. She continued writing her column right up to the end, her last column was published on January 7, 2007. She died on January 31 at the age of 62.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.