Who said: "Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Being slightly paranoid is like being slightly pregnant – it tends to get worse."
– Molly Ivins


Molly IvinsMary Tyler "Molly" Ivins (1944-2007) was a bestselling author, newspaper columnist, political commentator and humorist.

She was born in Monterey, California and grew up in Houston, Texas. Having received her B.A. from Smith College in 1966 she earned a master's degree in journalism from Columbia University, after which she studied for a year in Paris at the Institute of Political Science.

Her first journalism job was at the Houston Chronicle where she graduated from the complaints department to local news. After this she moved to the Minneapolis Tribune as the first woman police reporter and later as the reporter responsible for covering social change during which she wrote about "militant blacks, angry Indians, radical students, uppity women and a motley assortment of other misfits and troublemakers."

Then followed six years with the Texas Observer until, in 1976, she was hired by the New York Times who wanted to liven up their writing. She wrote for the Times for 6 years but her style was a little too colorful for the editors' expectations - in 1982, after writing about a 'community chicken-killing festival', that she referred to as a 'gang-pluck', she was dismissed.

She spent the next decade at the Dallas Times Herald until the paper folded in 1992, after which she moved to the Fort Worth Star-Telegram where she stayed until going independent in 2001 with a syndicated column which soon had a following of nearly 400 newspapers.

In 1999 she was diagnosed with breast cancer, which reoccurred in 2003 and 2005. She continued writing her column right up to the end, her last column was published on January 7, 2007. She died on January 31 at the age of 62.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.