Who said: "Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

E. B. White"Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it." - E. B. White

Today, E. B. White is perhaps most famous and beloved for his children's books, Stuart Little (1945), Charlotte's Web (1952), and The Trumpet of the Swan (1970). Many of us also know White from the classic The Elements of Style, a slim handbook of stylistic and grammatical guidance, which he edited and updated in 1959 from the original published in 1918 by William Strunk, Jr. But during his lifetime White was most respected as a prolific essayist, columnist, and satirist for The New Yorker and Harper's, writing about urban life, nature, failures of technological progress, war, and internationalism.

Elwyn Brooks White was born in Mount Vernon, NY, in 1899, the youngest of six children - a family White described as "a kingdom unto ourselves." He graduated from Cornell University in 1921, and worked a series of writing jobs before joining the newly established New Yorker, and remained on its staff for the rest of his career. He married the magazine's literary editor, Katherine Sergeant Angell in 1929. In 1939 they moved to a farm in North Brooklin, Maine, where White lived until his death of Alzheimer disease in 1985. He was awarded two American Academy of Arts and Letters gold medals for essays and criticism, and a Pulitzer Prize special citation in 1978. He held honorary degrees from seven American colleges and universities and was a member of The American Academy.

Of writing for children, White says: "Anyone who writes down to children is simply wasting his time. You have to write up, not down. Children are demanding. They are the most attentive, curious, eager, observant, sensitive, quick, and generally congenial readers on earth. They accept, almost without question, anything you present them with, as long as it is presented honestly, fearlessly, and clearly."

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
An American Marriage
by Tayari Jones

A masterpiece of storytelling, and a 2018 Oprah's Book Club Selection.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.