MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

E. B. White"Analyzing humor is like dissecting a frog. Few people are interested and the frog dies of it." - E. B. White

Today, E. B. White is perhaps most famous and beloved for his children's books, Stuart Little (1945), Charlotte's Web (1952), and The Trumpet of the Swan (1970). Many of us also know White from the classic The Elements of Style, a slim handbook of stylistic and grammatical guidance, which he edited and updated in 1959 from the original published in 1918 by William Strunk, Jr. But during his lifetime White was most respected as a prolific essayist, columnist, and satirist for The New Yorker and Harper's, writing about urban life, nature, failures of technological progress, war, and internationalism.

Elwyn Brooks White was born in Mount Vernon, NY, in 1899, the youngest of six children - a family White described as "a kingdom unto ourselves." He graduated from Cornell University in 1921, and worked a series of writing jobs before joining the newly established New Yorker, and remained on its staff for the rest of his career. He married the magazine's literary editor, Katherine Sergeant Angell in 1929. In 1939 they moved to a farm in North Brooklin, Maine, where White lived until his death of Alzheimer disease in 1985. He was awarded two American Academy of Arts and Letters gold medals for essays and criticism, and a Pulitzer Prize special citation in 1978. He held honorary degrees from seven American colleges and universities and was a member of The American Academy.

Of writing for children, White says: "Anyone who writes down to children is simply wasting his time. You have to write up, not down. Children are demanding. They are the most attentive, curious, eager, observant, sensitive, quick, and generally congenial readers on earth. They accept, almost without question, anything you present them with, as long as it is presented honestly, fearlessly, and clearly."

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.