Who said: "Beware the man of one book"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Beware the man of one book (in Latin, homo unius libri) is generally attributed to Thomas Aquinas

Thomas of Aquino is believed to have been born in 1225 in Aquino (which is in the South of Italy and at the time was part of the Kingdom of Sicily.) His family intended that he would become a Benedictine monk but at the age of nineteen, influenced by one of his teachers at the university in Naples, he decided to join the recently established Dominican order. His family were so displeased by his decision that they had him kidnapped and held him captive in the family castle for two years in hopes of convincing him to change his mind. Eventually realizing that they wouldn't succeed, his mother arranged for Thomas to escape at night on the basis that this would be less embarrassing to the family than admitting they'd allowed him to join.

In university he had been heavily influenced by the writings of the Greek philosopher Aristotle (384 BC – 322 BC), and also by the 12th century philosophers, Averroes (a Muslim polymath) and Maimonides (a Jewish Rabbi). During his 49 years he became an extremely influencial philosopher and theologian and is considered the leading classical proponent of natural theology (theology based on reason and ordinary experience as opposed to revealed theology which is based on scripture and religious experience).

His best known works are the Summa Theologica (Compendium of Theology) which, despite being unfinished at his death, is considered one of the most influential works of Western literature; and the Summa contra Gentiles

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.