MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "Beware the man of one book"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Beware the man of one book (in Latin, homo unius libri) is generally attributed to Thomas Aquinas

Thomas of Aquino is believed to have been born in 1225 in Aquino (which is in the South of Italy and at the time was part of the Kingdom of Sicily.) His family intended that he would become a Benedictine monk but at the age of nineteen, influenced by one of his teachers at the university in Naples, he decided to join the recently established Dominican order. His family were so displeased by his decision that they had him kidnapped and held him captive in the family castle for two years in hopes of convincing him to change his mind. Eventually realizing that they wouldn't succeed, his mother arranged for Thomas to escape at night on the basis that this would be less embarrassing to the family than admitting they'd allowed him to join.

In university he had been heavily influenced by the writings of the Greek philosopher Aristotle (384 BC – 322 BC), and also by the 12th century philosophers, Averroes (a Muslim polymath) and Maimonides (a Jewish Rabbi). During his 49 years he became an extremely influencial philosopher and theologian and is considered the leading classical proponent of natural theology (theology based on reason and ordinary experience as opposed to revealed theology which is based on scripture and religious experience).

His best known works are the Summa Theologica (Compendium of Theology) which, despite being unfinished at his death, is considered one of the most influential works of Western literature; and the Summa contra Gentiles

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.