Who said: "Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Clare Boothe Luce"Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there." - Claire Booth Luce

Born Ann Clare Boothe in 1903, playwright, editor and politician Claire Booth Luce was an associate editor of Vogue (1930) and associate editor and managing editor of Vanity Fair (1930–4), after which she penned several Broadway successes including The Women (1936) and Kiss the Boys Goodbye (1938). She divorced her first husband, and married millionaire publisher Henry ("Harry") Luce in 1935. Between 1942 and 1946 she represented Fairfield County, Connecticut in the House of Representatives and later was US ambassador to Italy (1953–7).

In 1964, Harry retired as editor-in-chief of Time and Luce also retired from public life. In 1979, she was the first female to be awarded the Sylvanus Thayer Award by the United States Military Academy at West Point. In 1981, President Ronald Reagan appointed her to the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board where she served until 1983, the same year that she was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

She died of brain cancer at the age of 84 in her apartment in Washington D.C. Her name lives on with revivals of her plays and through the Clare Boothe Luce Policy Institute, a non-profit think tank that seeks to advance American women through conservative ideas.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.