Who said: "Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Clare Boothe Luce"Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there." - Claire Booth Luce

Born Ann Clare Boothe in 1903, playwright, editor and politician Claire Booth Luce was an associate editor of Vogue (1930) and associate editor and managing editor of Vanity Fair (1930–4), after which she penned several Broadway successes including The Women (1936) and Kiss the Boys Goodbye (1938). She divorced her first husband, and married millionaire publisher Henry ("Harry") Luce in 1935. Between 1942 and 1946 she represented Fairfield County, Connecticut in the House of Representatives and later was US ambassador to Italy (1953–7).

In 1964, Harry retired as editor-in-chief of Time and Luce also retired from public life. In 1979, she was the first female to be awarded the Sylvanus Thayer Award by the United States Military Academy at West Point. In 1981, President Ronald Reagan appointed her to the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board where she served until 1983, the same year that she was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

She died of brain cancer at the age of 84 in her apartment in Washington D.C. Her name lives on with revivals of her plays and through the Clare Boothe Luce Policy Institute, a non-profit think tank that seeks to advance American women through conservative ideas.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.