Who said: "Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Clare Boothe Luce"Censorship, like charity, should begin at home: but unlike charity, it should end there." - Claire Booth Luce

Born Ann Clare Boothe in 1903, playwright, editor and politician Claire Booth Luce was an associate editor of Vogue (1930) and associate editor and managing editor of Vanity Fair (1930–4), after which she penned several Broadway successes including The Women (1936) and Kiss the Boys Goodbye (1938). She divorced her first husband, and married millionaire publisher Henry ("Harry") Luce in 1935. Between 1942 and 1946 she represented Fairfield County, Connecticut in the House of Representatives and later was US ambassador to Italy (1953–7).

In 1964, Harry retired as editor-in-chief of Time and Luce also retired from public life. In 1979, she was the first female to be awarded the Sylvanus Thayer Award by the United States Military Academy at West Point. In 1981, President Ronald Reagan appointed her to the President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board where she served until 1983, the same year that she was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

She died of brain cancer at the age of 84 in her apartment in Washington D.C. Her name lives on with revivals of her plays and through the Clare Boothe Luce Policy Institute, a non-profit think tank that seeks to advance American women through conservative ideas.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.