MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Discovery consists of seeing what everybody has seen and thinking what nobody has thought."
- Albert Szent-Gyorgyi in Irving Good, The Scientist Speculates (1962)

Szent-GyorgyiNobel-Prize winner Albert von Szent-Györgyi was born in Budapest, Hungary in 1893. After matriculating in 1911 he worked in his uncle's laboratory until World War I during which he served on the Italian and Russian fronts gaining the Silver Medal for Valor. He was wounded in 1917 and discharged. He completed his studies in Budapest and then worked and/or studied widely in locations including Prague, Berlin, Hamburg, Leiden, Groningen and Cambridge, Mass (as a Rockerfeller Fellow).

He was the first to isolate vitamin C (ascorbic acid), and his research on biological oxidation provided the basis for Krebs' citric acid cycle (a series of enzyme-catalysed chemical reactions of central importance in all living cells that use oxygen as part of cellular respiration.

In 1937, he received the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine "For his discoveries in connection with the biological combustion process with special reference to vitamin C and the catalysis of fumaric acid".

In his book, The Crazy Ape (1970), he writes, "When I received the Nobel Prize, the only big lump sum of money I have ever seen, I had to do something with it. The easiest way to drop this hot potato was to invest it, to buy shares. I knew that World War II was coming and I was afraid that if I had shares which rise in case of war, I would wish for war. So I asked my agent to buy shares which go down in the event of war. This he did. I lost my money and saved my soul."

In 1938, he began work on the biophysics of muscle movement; his discoveries about the biochemical nature of muscular contraction revolutionized the field of muscle research.

During World War II he was part of the Hungarian Resistance, and after the war became a Swedish citizen, settling in the USA a few years later, becoming Director of Research at the Institute of Muscle Research in Woods Hole, Mass. His later career was devoted to research in "submolecular" biology, applying quantum physics to biological processes. He was especially interested in cancer, and was one of the first to explore the connections between free radicals and cancer.

He died in Woods Hole, Massachusetts in 1986

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.