MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt unites them"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Beliefs are what divide people. Doubt unites them" - Peter Ustinov

Peter UstinovDouble Oscar-winner Peter Ustinov, one of Britain's best loved and most respected actors, died in 2004 aged 82.

The son of part-Russian parents, Sir Peter was a novelist, noted public speaker and an ambassador for charity UNICEF. His starring roles include movies such as Spartacus, Topkapi, Death on the Nile and Logan's Run, as well as many TV shows including the role of Hercule Poirot in film adaptations of Agatha Christie's novels.

He was born in London in 1921, and educated at Westminster School in London which he hated and left at 16 years of age, finding quick success on the London stage. During World War II he was batman to actor David Niven and the pair became lifelong friends.

Fluent in French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish, he could also speak a little Greek and Turkish. He was married three times to Isolde Denham, Suzanne Cloutier and Helene du Lau d'Allemans, and had four children.


More quotes by Peter Ustinov:

  • If the world should blow itself up, the last audible voice would be that of an expert saying it can't be done.
  • Comedy is simply a funny way of being serious.
  • Did you know that every two hours the nations of this world spend as much on armaments as they spend on the children of this world every year?
  • Her virtue was that she said what she thought, her vice that what she thought didn't amount to much.
  • I'm convinced there's a small room in the attic of the Foreign Office where future diplomats are taught to stammer.
  • It is our responsibilities, not ourselves, that we should take seriously.
  • Love is an act of endless forgiveness, a tender look which becomes a habit.
  • People who reach the top of the tree are only those who haven't got the qualifications to detain them at the bottom.
  • The point of living and of being an optimist, is to be foolish enough to believe the best is yet to come.
  • To refuse awards is another way of accepting them with more noise than is normal.
  • Contrary to general belief, I do not believe that friends are necessarily the people you like best, they are merely the people who got there first.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.