Who said: "Chance favors only the prepared mind"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Did you ever observe to whom the accidents happen? Chance favors only the prepared mind." - Louis Pasteur

Louis PasteurChemist and microbiologist Louis Pasteur (1822-1895) was born in France. Three of his five children died of typhoid fever, which likely contributed to his driving desire to save people from disease. He graduated in 1842 from Besancon College Royal de la Franche with honors in physics, mathematics, Latin, and drawing. Later, he attended Ecole Normale in Paris to study physics and chemistry. After which he held academic posts at Strasbourg, Lille and Paris, becoming professor of chemistry at the Sorbonne in 1867.

In his early research he worked with French wine growers to develop a way to kill harmful organisms that adversely effected the fermentation process. The first "pasteurization" test was completed in 1862 and proved a successful technique for extending the life of both wine and milk.

In a famous experiment in 1881 Pasteur showed that sheep and cows vaccinated* with the attenuated bacilli of anthrax received protection against the disease; and in 1885 he saved the life of a nine-year-old boy who had been attacked by a rabid dog using a series of experimental rabies vaccinations.

During his lifetime Pasteur fought to convince surgeons that germs existed and carried diseases but it was not always easy to convince others of his controversial claim. The Pasteur Institute was opened in 1888, where he worked until his death in 1895.

Other quotes from Pasteur:
"Any new system is worth trying when your luck is bad."
"Fortune has rarely condescended to be the companion of genius."
"When you work seven days a week, fourteen hours a day, you get lucky."


*Most of us know the story of how English country doctor, Edward Jenner, discovered that cowpox gave immunity to smallpox in the mid-18th century. However, apparently the history of vaccination goes back much further in time. The ancient Chinese developed a snuff made of powdered smallpox scabs which usually brought on a mild infection, protecting the individual from a more serious case later. In the 1600s European peasants immunized themselves via an injection under the skin, and in the early 18th century King George I allowed vaccination trials on the inmates of Newgate Prison. Some died, but enough lived and gained immunity for variolation to become accepted medical practice.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    More News Tomorrow
    by Susan Richards Shreve

    An irresistible portrait of a family drawn together in search of truth.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.