Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 5 of 6

The third-rate mind is only happy when it is thinking with the majority...

The truth does not change according to our ability to stomach it

The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.

The worst thing about reading new books...

The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it.

There are two kinds of light - the glow that illuminates, and the glare that obscures.

There are two kinds of people in the world: those who divide the world into two kinds of people, and those who don't

There is no science without fancy and no art without fact

There is no such thing as a moral or immoral book. Books are either well written or badly written. That is all.

There is no worse robber than a bad book.

These are not books, lumps of lifeless paper, but minds alive on the shelves

They say that in the end truth will triumph, but it's a lie.

To be ignorant of what occurred before you were born is to remain always a child

To limit the press is to insult a nation; to prohibit reading of certain books is to declare the inhabitants to be either fools or slaves

To make a library it takes two volumes and a fire. Two volumes and a fire, and interest. The interest alone will do if logs are few.

To win without risk is to triumph without glory

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought.

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Use what talents you possess: The woods would be very silent if no birds sang there except those that sang best

We have to abandon the idea that schooling is something restricted to youth...

We must believe in luck. For how else can we explain the success of those we don't like?

We should have a great fewer disputes in the world if words were taken for what they are

We've heard that a million monkeys at a million keyboards could produce the complete works of Shakespeare...

What really knocks me out is a book that, when you're all done reading, you wish the author that wrote it was a terrific friend of yours

When a true genius appears in the world, you may know him by this sign...

When all think alike, no one thinks very much

When an old man dies, a library burns to the ground.

When I get a little money I buy books...

When men are not regretting that life is so short, they are doing something to kill time.

When you are growing up there are two institutional places that affect you most powerfully: the church, which belongs to God, and the public library, which belongs to you. The public library is a great equaliser.

Wherever they burn books, in the end will also burn human beings.

Who dares to teach must never cease to learn

Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you'd rather have been talking

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.