MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Who said: "Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Asking a working writer what he thinks about critics is like asking a lamp post how it feels about dogs."
— Christopher Hampton

Christopher HamptonChristopher Hampton (born 1946) is a British playwright, screen writer and film director. His list of credits for both writing, producing and directing is extensive (full list) and includes both the play based on the novel, Les Liaisons Dangereuses, and the film Dangerous Liaisons; and the screenplay for the film adaptation of Ian McEwan's Atonement.

He is also the translator of Yasmina Reza's plays from the original French, Art (1996) and Conversations after a Burial (2000).

As a child he lived in Aden, Egypt and Zanzibar; at 13 he went to Lancing College, a British boarding school; then to New College, Oxford as a Sacher Scholar, where he studied German and French, and graduated with a First Class Degree in 1968. He became involved with the theater while at university, and became the youngest writer to ever have a play performed in the West End (the London theater district) in 1966.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Black Cathedral
    The Black Cathedral
    by Marcial Gala
    Marcial Gala's The Black Cathedral, translated from the Spanish by Anna Kushner, is narrated through...
  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Splendid and the Vile
    by Erik Larson

    A fresh and compelling portrait of Winston Churchill and London during the Blitz.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.