Who said: "A library is thought in cold storage"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"A library is thought in cold storage." - Herbert Samuel

Herbert SamuelBritish politician Herbert Samuel (1870-1963) was born in Liverpool, brought up in the Jewish religion and educated at University College School in Hampstead, London and Oxford University where he renounced all religious belief, declaring he would no longer adhere to any outward practice of religion.

Before becoming a Member of Parliament in 1902 he was a social worker in the London slums and, as an MP, he effected legislation that established juvenile courts and the borstal system for young offenders. In 1910 he was appointed postmaster general and was responsible for nationalizing the telephone system. As Britain's first high commissioner for Palestine (1920-25) he improved the region's economy and promoted harmony among its religious communities. After this he presided over the royal commission on the coal industry and helped to settle the general strike of May 1926. He led the Liberal Party in the House of Commons from 1931-1935 and, after being made Viscount Samuel in 1937, was leader of the Liberal party in the House of Lords from 1944-55.

As president of the British Institute of Philosophy (later the Royal Institute) for almost thirty years he wrote popular works such as Practical Ethics (1935) and Belief and Action (1937); and in his later years wrote Essays in Phyics (1951), In Search of Reality (1957) and a collaborative work, A Threefold Cord: Philosophy, Science, Religion (1961).

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.