Who said: "A library is thought in cold storage"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"A library is thought in cold storage." - Herbert Samuel

Herbert SamuelBritish politician Herbert Samuel (1870-1963) was born in Liverpool, brought up in the Jewish religion and educated at University College School in Hampstead, London and Oxford University where he renounced all religious belief, declaring he would no longer adhere to any outward practice of religion.

Before becoming a Member of Parliament in 1902 he was a social worker in the London slums and, as an MP, he effected legislation that established juvenile courts and the borstal system for young offenders. In 1910 he was appointed postmaster general and was responsible for nationalizing the telephone system. As Britain's first high commissioner for Palestine (1920-25) he improved the region's economy and promoted harmony among its religious communities. After this he presided over the royal commission on the coal industry and helped to settle the general strike of May 1926. He led the Liberal Party in the House of Commons from 1931-1935 and, after being made Viscount Samuel in 1937, was leader of the Liberal party in the House of Lords from 1944-55.

As president of the British Institute of Philosophy (later the Royal Institute) for almost thirty years he wrote popular works such as Practical Ethics (1935) and Belief and Action (1937); and in his later years wrote Essays in Phyics (1951), In Search of Reality (1957) and a collaborative work, A Threefold Cord: Philosophy, Science, Religion (1961).

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Join & Save $10!

Discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten. One-year membership: $29

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Book Collectors
    The Book Collectors
    by Delphine Minoui
    About halfway through The Book Collectors, I was disappointed. I came into the book with a ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...
  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.