Book Club Interviews: Archives

Interviews With Book Clubs

BookBrowse is a thriving and growing community of booklovers. Each week BookBrowse receives hundreds of book reviews, feedback messages, ideas and other information from its visitors.

Out of this feedback came the opportunity - and idea - to further encourage and support this community by publishing interviews with book club. These interviews are packed with useful information, insights - and are just plain fun to read!

Below is our historical archive. We hope you enjoy these Q&As with these fascinating booklovers - just like you!

Book It Book Club
Book It Book Club
Barb Watkins recently moved to Michigan, leaving behind her book club of eight years. However, it wasn't long before she formed a new book club! In this interview she chats with BookBrowse about her current book club and the mother-daughter club she started with her 4th grade daughter.
October 2010
Donna Delacy
Donna Delacy
Donna Delacy has been running book groups across the US since 1968, from Dallas to Birmingham, Manhattan to Los Angeles. She joins us to share over 40 years of book club memories, advice, and inspiration.
May 2010
Living Poets Society Poetry Bookclub
Living Poets Society Poetry Bookclub
The Living Poets Society Poetry Bookclub
April 2010
Milpitas Library Book Group
Milpitas Library Book Group
The Milpitas Library Book Group in Northern California has been going strong since 1999. BookBrowse spoke with librarian Terye Balogh, who has been instrumental in bringing a wide range of authors to visit. She shares some excellent advice about how to bring authors to your group, manage large discussions, and keep your group engaged.
March 2010
Great Expectations
Great Expectations
Eileen Burgess joins us to talk about her Great Expectations Book Club. She's an original member of the group that started 15 years ago, in Mississauga, Ontario.
February 2010
Chick Lit Book Club
Chick Lit Book Club
Interested in starting up a new book club, or just looking to jazz up your existing group? Check out our interview with the founder of Chick Lit for some inspiration and great organizational ideas!
January 2010
Salon
Salon
After 15 years, Ron Longe's book club recently transformed their traditional meetings into literary events with the author. They create themed menus and invite other book clubs, publishing professionals, and friends to make it a memorable night of fun, networking, and serious discussion.
October 2009
Chapter Chat Book Club
Chapter Chat Book Club
Carrin Mahmood of Mahtomedi, Minnesota joins us to talk about her book club. After getting off to a slow start, she and the ladies of "Chapter Chat" have now been sharing their reading experiences for eight years. In this interview she reveals the 'it' factor that made the club a success.
August 2009
Boston Gay Men's Book Club
Boston Gay Men's Book Club
Derek McIver, co-founder of The Boston Gay Men's Book Club, advises that choosing the right books and using social media are key to starting a new reading group.
August 2009
Ann Kramer's Virtual Book Club
Ann Kramer's Virtual Book Club
How do you meet with your book club when your members are scattered across the country? Ann Kramer shares her story and tips for meeting online via web conferencing, no matter where your friends live!
May 2009
Would you be interested in being interviewed for this feature? If so, please contact us with brief details about your club. It is very helpful if you include both a contact email and a telephone number.

Advice Main Page  |  Starting a Book Club  |  The First Meeting
Leading Meetings  |  Difficult Meetings  |  Choosing Books  |  Inviting Authors
DIY Reading Guides  |  Book Club Games

Reading Guides  |  Themed Reading Lists  |  Online Discussions  |  Blog  |  White Paper

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.