Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 3 of 6

Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world...

Never read a book through merely because you have begun it

No matter how cynical you get, it is impossible to keep up.

No pleasure is worth giving up for the sake of two more years in a geriatric home.

Not doing more than the average is what keeps the average down.

On the whole, human beings want to be good, but not too good and not quite all the time

Only when we are no longer afraid do we begin to live

Our wisdom comes from our experience, and our experience comes from our foolishness

Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.

People who bite the hand that feeds them usually lick the boot that kicks them

Poetry is like fish...

Polite conversation is rarely either

Read the best books first...

Second hand books are wild books...

Show me the books he loves and I shall know the man...

Silent gratitude isn't much use to anyone

Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some to be chewed on and digested.

Sometimes I think we're alone. Sometimes I think we're not. In either case, the thought is staggering

Talent hits a target no one else can hit; Genius hits a target no one else can see.

The dirtiest book of all is the expurgated book

The fact of knowing how to read is nothing, the whole point is knowing what to read.

The good writer, the great writer, has what I have called the three S's: The power to see, to sense, and to say

The less we know, the longer our explanations

The library is the temple of learning, and learning has liberated more people than all the wars in history

The longest journey of any person is the journey inward

The low brow and the high brow

The moment we persuade a child, any child, to cross that threshold into a library, we've changed their lives forever, and for the better ...

The most successful people are those who are good at plan B

The only completely consistent people are the dead

The only real blind person at Christmas-time is he who has not Christmas in his heart.

The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things.

The silence between the notes is as important as the notes themselves.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.