Who said: "Show me the books he loves and I shall know the man..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Show me the books he loves and I shall know
The man far better than through mortal friends."

— S. Weir Mitchell


Silas Weir MitchellNeurologist and novelist Silas Weir Mitchell (1829-1914) was one of the most prominent American physicians of the late 19th century and early 20th centuries, publishing 25 accounts and papers based on his extensive experimentations on animals in the 1850s alone.

During the Civil War he worked as a surgeon in the Union Army, treating nervous cases at Turner's Lane Military Hospital in Philadelphia (even though he had no experience in neurology up to that point). He published a number of publications following this period, one of these was 'Gunshot Wounds', which featured the first descriptions of phantom limb, ascending neuritis and erythromelalgia (the 'burning pain', also known as Mitchell's disease).

He is arguably best known for establishing a rest cure as a method of treating patients, especially women, suffering from hysteria - the cure became the standard treatment for many decades, particularly in England.

Weir Mitchell was something of a character. In appearance his gaunt features and bearded face caused some to liken him to 'Uncle Sam'. He was a superb conversationalist and his humor and personality gave him a wide range of friends. He was famous for his sometimes eccentric approach to patients. For example one story (possibly exaggerated with time) tells how he was confronted with a lady who believed she was dying. Having tried all the tricks he knew to induce her to leave her bed, he threatened her with rape and commenced to undress. He got to his undergarments when the woman fled the room screaming!

From the 1880s onwards he devoted his attention to writing novels and poetry. His most popular novels were Hugh Wynne (1897) and The Adventures of Francois (1898). In his later years his fame as a man of letters equaled his reputation as a physician, and he traveled extensively in the USA and overseas giving speeches - but always returning to Philadelphia where he was born and died.

Image from The History of Medicine (NLM), 1881

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.