Who said: "Our wisdom comes from our experience, and our experience comes from our foolishness"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Our wisdom comes from our experience, and our experience comes from our foolishness - Sacha Guitry

Sacha Guitry (1885-1957) was a French film actor, director, screenwriter and playwright. The son of the French actor Lucien Guitry, he was born in Saint Petersburg, Russia where his father was under contract with the city's French theatre. He wrote, directed, and acted in many films, of which the best-known was perhaps 'Le Roman d'un tricheur' (1936), aka Confessions of a Cheat or The Story of a Cheat.

Although he had various acting parts in his teens, he first obtained success in 1905 as a playright with two comedies. In the following years, he became a particularly prolific and popular writer, mostly of spiritual, caustic comedies. In 1907 he went back to the stage and from then on performed in most of his own plays.

He directed his first film in 1917 - a patriotic documentary illustrating the works of various French artists such as Auguste Renoir. He also wrote and acted in another film the same year but it was not a successful experience and he turned his back on movie making for some years to come.

Guitry returned to the movie studio in 1935 to direct and act in a biography of Louis Pasteur, based on a play he wrote in 1919. Although the movie was a commercial failure, Guitry had become enamored with the process of filmmaking and from then on film was an important part of his oeuvre.

During the German occupation of France in World War II, Guitry only worked with French independent producers and did not allow his plays to be performed in Germany, but he also managed to maintain a lavish lifestyle in sharp contrast to the deprivation facing most of the country. In 1944, after the liberation of Paris, he was arrested after being anonymously denounced. He was set free two months later with no official charges but was forbidden to appear on stage or screen until 1947 when he was cleared of any wrong-doing. By this time his reputation was tarnished and from then on he frequently faced hostility from the press.

In the decade from 1947 to his death, he continued to be prolific, writing new plays, reviving old successes, penning screenplays, directing movies. But the cheerfulness of the pre-war works was replaced by a more acerbic humor. By 1953 his health was deteriorating so he gave up stage acting but continued to write and direct up until his death in 1957.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.