Who said: "Only when we are no longer afraid do we begin to live"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Only when we are no longer afraid do we begin to live" – Dorothy Thompson

Dorothy ThompsonDorothy Thompson (1893-1961), sometimes called the "First Lady of American Journalism," was noted in a 1939 edition of Time magazine as one of the two most influential women in America, the other being Eleanor Roosevelt. During her lifetime, she published widely in books, magazines and newspapers.

Her mother died in 1901 and her father, a Methodist pastor, remarried two years later. Dorothy fought frequently with her stepmother, and in 1908, her father sent her to live with relatives in Chicago.

She graduated from Syracuse University in 1914 and began her career as a publicist for the women's suffrage movement and for the Red Cross. She then moved on to work as a foreign correspondent. She is remembered for her 1931 interview of Adolf Hitler in which she underestimated him, describing him as "insignificant". Later, in 1934, she was the first American journalist to be expelled from Nazi Germany for a series of articles and for her book, I Saw Hitler.

As an American of German descent, Thompson organized other German-Americans to speak out against Nazism. After World War II, she wrote an article cautioning American Jews about Zionism as it would lead to dual loyalty. Later, she became very critical of the newly created state of Israel.

Apparently, the inspiration for the character of Tess Harding played by Katharine Hepburn in the film Woman of the Year (1942), Dorothy Thompson was married three times, the second time to the novelist Sinclair Lewis. She also had a relationship with the German author and playwright Christa Winsloe, claiming "the right to love." She died in Portugal in 1961.


More quotes by Dorothy Thompson

"Age is not measured by years. Nature does not equally distribute energy. Some people are born old and tired while others are going strong at seventy."

"No people ever recognize their dictator in advance. He never stands for election on the platform of dictatorship. He always represents himself as the instrument [of] the Incorporated National Will. ... When our dictator turns up you can depend on it that he will be one of the boys, and he will stand for everything traditionally American. And nobody will ever say 'Heil' to him, nor will they call him 'Führer' or 'Duce.' But they will greet him with one great big, universal, democratic, sheeplike bleat of 'O.K., Chief! Fix it like you wanna, Chief! Oh Kaaaay!'"

"Courage, it would seem, is nothing less than the power to overcome danger, misfortune, fear, injustice, while continuing to affirm inwardly that life with all its sorrows is good; that everything is meaningful even if in a sense beyond our understanding; and that there is always tomorrow."

"It is not the fact of liberty but the way in which liberty is exercised that ultimately determines whether liberty itself survives."

"They have not wanted peace at all; they have wanted to be spared war--as though the absence of war was the same as peace."

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.