Who said: "The longest journey of any person is the journey inward"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

Dag Hammarskjöld* (July 29, 1905-September 18, 1961), was a Swedish diplomat, and the second Secretary-General of the United Nations from 1953 until his death in a plane crash in 1961. He personally negotiated the release of American soldiers captured by the Chinese in the Korean War, worked to ease the situation in Palestine, and was instrumental in urging the UN to nullify the use of force by Israel, France, and Great Britain during the Suez Canal crisis of 1956. His "preventative diplomacy" in these and other situations helped define the role of the UN Secretary-General as the executive of operations for peace, and strengthened the independence and effectiveness of the position.

When the government of the newly liberated Congo, faced with mutiny in its army, secession of its province of Katanga, and intervention of Belgian troops, asked the UN for help in 1960, Hammarskjöld led the peace-keeping force. The situation was fraught with difficulties, culminating in fighting between Katanga troops and noncombatant UN forces. In an effort to secure a cease-fire, Hammarskjöld boarded a plane headed for a personal conference with President Tshombe of Katanga. During the night of September 17-18, his plane crashed near the border between Katanga and North Rhodesia, killing Hammarskjöld along with fifteen others. A number of inquiries into the crash made by Rhodesian and UN commissions proved inconclusive, and some continue to believe that it was not an accident.

Hammarskjöld received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1961, having been nominated before his death.

* Pronunciation guide

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.