Who said: "No matter how cynical you get, it is impossible to keep up"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

No matter how cynical you get, it is impossible to keep up – Lily Tomlin

Mary Jean "Lily" Tomlin, born 1939 in Detroit, Michigan, is an actress, comedian, writer and producer who has won many awards including Tony, Emmy and Grammy Awards, and has been nominated for an Academy Award.

Tomlin graduated from Cass Technical High School and then attended Wayne State University, both in Detroit. After college she started doing stand-up comedy in Detroit and later in New York City, making her first TV appearance as a guest on The Merv Griffin Show in 1965. In 1969 she briefly hosted Music Scene on ABC TV and then joined NBC's Laugh-in which is where she first played many of the characters who she has continued to portray throughout her career. In addition to her many female characters, she was one of the first female comedians to portray male characters in drag.

She was the first woman to appear solo in a Broadway show, Appearing Nitely, which premiered in 1977; she appeared on the cover of Time the same year. She later toured the country with the show and, in fact, has spent much of her career touring with one show or another. In 1985 she starred in another one-woman Broadway show, The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe, written by her life-partner, writer and producer Jane Wagner. It won a Tony Award and was made into a feature film in 1991.

Her film credits include Nashville (which garnered her an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actress), Nine to Five, All of Me, Big Business (where she and Bette Midler played identical twins switched at birth) and Short Cuts.

To many children her voice will be familiar as that of Ms Frizzle on the animated TV series The Magic School Bus (1994-1997) and in recent years she has played Will Truman's boss Margot on Will & Grace, and presidential secretary Deborah Fiderer in The West Wing.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Blue Sky Kingdom
    Blue Sky Kingdom
    by Bruce Kirkby
    Who hasn't dreamed of escaping all of the trappings of today's modern life and finding a secluded, ...
  • Book Jacket: My Heart Underwater
    My Heart Underwater
    by Laurel Fantauzzo
    Corazon — Cory — Tagubio is a Filipina-American teenager living with her family in ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Sun
    Black Sun
    by Rebecca Roanhorse
    Reading the first book in a series is always difficult because readers know that, by definition, it ...
  • Book Jacket: Somewhere in the Unknown World
    Somewhere in the Unknown World
    by Kao Kalia Yang
    Resettled refugees are mostly invisible. Their needs are rarely publicized and their struggles are ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Migrations
    by Charlotte McConaghy

    An instant bestseller set on the brink of catastrophe, for readers of Flight Behavior and Station Eleven.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Exiles
by Christina Baker Kline

The author of Orphan Train returns with an ambitious, emotionally resonant historical novel.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win This Book!
Win Jack

Return to Gilead with Jack, the instant New York Times bestseller

Enter to win Marilynne Robinson's latest novel in her classic series.

Enter


Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I G I O Ear A O T O

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.