Who said: "The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things."
- Rainer Maria Rilke


Rainer Maria RilkeRainer Maria Rilke (1875-1926) is considered one of the German language's greatest 20th century poets. He was born in Prague (then part of the Austro-Hungarian empire) and studied in Prague, Munich and Berlin. His works in German include Das Stundenbuch (The Book of Hours), written after visiting Russia; Die Sonnette an Orpheus (Sonnets to Orpheus) and Duineser Elegien (Duion Elegies). He also wrote about 400 poems in French dedicated to Valais in Switzerland, his homeland of choice, where he died of leukemia at just 51 years of age.


More quotes by Rilke
This is the miracle that happens every time to those who really love: the more they give, the more they possess.

The only journey is the one within.

Love is like the measles. The older you get it, the worse the attack.

I hold this to be the highest task for a bond between two people: that each protects the solitude of the other.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.