Who said: "The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The purpose of life is to be defeated by greater and greater things."
- Rainer Maria Rilke


Rainer Maria RilkeRainer Maria Rilke (1875-1926) is considered one of the German language's greatest 20th century poets. He was born in Prague (then part of the Austro-Hungarian empire) and studied in Prague, Munich and Berlin. His works in German include Das Stundenbuch (The Book of Hours), written after visiting Russia; Die Sonnette an Orpheus (Sonnets to Orpheus) and Duineser Elegien (Duion Elegies). He also wrote about 400 poems in French dedicated to Valais in Switzerland, his homeland of choice, where he died of leukemia at just 51 years of age.


More quotes by Rilke
This is the miracle that happens every time to those who really love: the more they give, the more they possess.

The only journey is the one within.

Love is like the measles. The older you get it, the worse the attack.

I hold this to be the highest task for a bond between two people: that each protects the solitude of the other.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket
    The Personal Librarian
    by Marie Benedict, Victoria Christopher Murray
    The Personal Librarian drew a robust positive response from our First Impressions reviewers, ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Book Woman's Daughter
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    Kim Michele Richardson's The Book Woman's Daughter follows Honey Lovett, 16-year-old daughter of ...
  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.