Who said: "The low brow and the high brow"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"The lowbrow often believes that a bad book is good,
while the highbrow often believes that a good book is bad."

-- Robert Lynd


Robert LyndRobert Lynd (1879-1949) was born in Belfast, Ireland. He worked briefly for the Northern Whig newspaper before moving to Manchester, and then to London as a freelance journalist. He became a staff writer for the Daily News (later the News Chronicle) and from 1912 to 1947 was its literary editor. He also wrote for the Nation, and under the pseudonym Y.Y., he contributed weekly essays to the New Statesman for more than three decades.

Politically, he was a socialist and a supporter of Sinn Fein (an Irish separatist party formed in 1905; Sinn Fein means 'ourselves') and the Gaelic League (a cultural organization founded in 1893 with the objective of reviving the Irish language and reintroducing it into schools). He also edited some of the works of James Connolly (who was charged with treason, and shot by the British, for his involvement in the Irish rebellion of 1916).

He is best remembered today for his essays written over a period of more than forty years.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.