Famous literary quotes with a biography of each quoted person.

BookBrowse's Favorite Literary Quotes

Page 2 of 6

I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking something up and finding something else on the way.

I have always imagined that paradise will be a kind of library

I have lost all sense of home, having moved about so much. It means to me now only that place where the books are kept.

I like a thin book because it will steady a table...

I write to add to the beauty that now belongs to me

Idealism increases in direct proportion to ones distance from the problem.

If every country had to write a book about elephants...

If passion drives you, let reason hold the reins

If there is anything more dangerous to the life of the mind than having no independent commitment to ideas...

If we did all the things we are capable of, we would literally astound ourselves

If you want to build a ship, don't drum up people... but rather teach them to long for the endless immensity of the sea

In war there are no unwounded soldiers

In order to become the master, the politician poses as the servant

In youth we run into difficulties. In old age difficulties run into us

Information is the currency of democracy

It is a fact of life that any discourse...will always please if it is five minutes shorter than people expect

It is always darkest just before the day dawneth

It is among the commonplaces of education that we often first cut off the living root and then try to replace its natural functions by artificial means.

It was one of the worst speeches I ever heard ... when a simple apology was all that was required.

Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers.

Knowledge is of two kinds...

Life is the garment we continually alter, but which never seems to fit.

Men are more moral than they think...

More Anagrams

Most of us who turn to any subject we love remember some morning or evening hour when...

Music is the pleasure the human mind experiences from counting without being aware that it is counting

Nearly all men can stand adversity, but if you want to test a man's character, give him power

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world...

Never read a book through merely because you have begun it

No matter how cynical you get, it is impossible to keep up.

No pleasure is worth giving up for the sake of two more years in a geriatric home.

Not doing more than the average is what keeps the average down.

On the whole, human beings want to be good, but not too good and not quite all the time

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.