Who said: "Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"Judge a man by his questions rather than by his answers" - Voltaire

VoltaireFrançois-Marie Arouet (1694–1778), better known by his pen name Voltaire, embodied the French Enlightenment. He was known for his wit, philosophical outlook, and defense of civil liberties, including freedom of religion.

After being imprisoned in the Bastille from 1717-1718 for lampooning the Duc d'Orléans, he adopted the name Voltaire which is an anagram of Arovet Li, the Latinized spelling of his last name. The name also echoes the syllables of a familial chateau, Airvault. It is also possible that the name was intended to connote speed and daring - volt being a French fencing term meaning to make a sudden dexterous movement to avoid a thrust, from which comes words such as volte-face.


More quotes by Voltaire

All murderers are punished unless they kill in large numbers and to the sound of trumpets.

Anything that is too stupid to be spoken is sung.

Behind every successful man stands a surprised mother-in-law.

Common sense is not so common.

God gave us the gift of life; it is up to us to give ourselves the gift of living well.

He must be very ignorant for he answers every question he is asked.

I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.

I know many books which have bored their readers, but I know of none which has done real evil.

If God created us in his own image, we have more than reciprocated.

If God did not exist, it would be necessary to invent Him.

In general, the art of government consists of taking as much money as possible from one class of citizens to give to another.

It is better to risk saving a guilty man than to condemn an innocent one.

It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong.

One merit of poetry few persons will deny: it says more and in fewer words than prose.

Superstition is to religion what astrology is to astronomy the mad daughter of a wise mother. These daughters have too long dominated the earth.

The multitude of books is making us ignorant.

The secret of being a bore... is to tell everything.

When it is a question of money, everybody is of the same religion.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.