Who said: "If there is anything more dangerous to the life of the mind than having no independent commitment to ideas..."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"If there is anything more dangerous to the life of the mind than having no independent commitment to ideas, it is having an excess of commitment to some special and constricting idea."
— Richard Hofstadter

Richard HofstadterRichard Hofstadter (1916-1970) was born in Buffalo, New York to a Jewish father and a German Lutheran mother, who died when he was 10-years old. He majored in philosophy and minored in history at the University of Buffalo. The town of Buffalo was suffering from the full impact of the Great Depression at the time which strongly colored his thinking on political and intellectual matters - he became involved in left-wing politics and joined the Young Communist League, which is where he met his future wife, Felice Swados.

After graduation he enrolled in the history program at Columbia University and, along with many other disaffected intellectuals at that time) joined the Communist Party. At the time he went on record saying, 'I join without enthusiasm but with a sense of obligation... My fundamental reason for joining is that I don't like capitalism and want to get rid of it. I am tired of talking... The party is making a very profound contribution to the radicalization of the American people.... I prefer to go along with it now.'

However, by 1939 (about a year after joining) he had become disenchanted with the Communist Party, and after the Nazi-Soviet pact in September 1939 he became permanently disillusioned with it, the Soviet Union and Marxism. However, he remained deeply cynical of capitalism.

In 1942 he completed his dissertation (published in 1944 as Social Darwinism in American Thought, 1860-1915); two years later he joined the faculty of Columbia and in 1959 he was named DeWitt Clinton Professor of American History.

He became one of the leading historians of his generations - at the time, progressive historians were inclined to explain American history through the prism of economics; but Hofstadter described it as essentially irrationally motivated - emphasizing unconscious motives such as status anxieties, irrational hatreds, and paranoia. In some of his works, such as The Paranoid Style in American Politics and Anti-intellectualism in America, he described American society as a whole as extremely provincial, harboring widespread fears of any ideas outside the mainstream, and described a direct lineage between the Salem witch hunts (17th century) and the McCarthy era (early 1950s).

He planned to write a three-volume history of American politics but died at age 54 from leukemia having partially completed the first volume, which was published posthumously as America in 1750.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Talent hits a target no one else can hit; Genius hits a target no one else can see.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.