Who said: "It is among the commonplaces of education that we often first cut off the living root and then try to replace its natural functions by artificial means."

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"It is among the commonplaces of education that we often first cut off the living root and then try to replace its natural functions by artificial means. Thus we suppress the child's curiosity and then when he lacks a natural interest in learning he is offered special coaching for his scholastic difficulties." - Alice Duer Miller

Alice Duer MillerAlice Duer Miller (1874 -1942) was born and raised in the wealthy and influential Duer family of New York. Shortly after her formal debut into society, her family's wealth was lost in a bank crisis. Beginning in 1895 she studied mathematics and astronomy at Barnard College, earning her way through publishing short stories, essays and poems in national magazines.

She graduated in 1899, marrying Henry Wise Miller the same year. She taught for a few years until Henry's income could support them both, at which time she devoted herself to writing. Her specialty was "light fiction"; her best remembered novel being The White Cliffs (1940) about a marriage of an American woman to a British soldier. From the 1920s a number of her stories were made into successful movies, and she worked in Hollywood as a writer.

She was very active in the women's suffrage movement, writing a column for the New York Tribune titled "Are Women People?" Her columns were published in two volumes; Are Women People: A Book of Rhymes for Suffrage Times (1915) and Women are People! (1917).

Henry Wise Miller published a biography of his wife, All Our Lives, in 1945.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Graybar Hotel
    The Graybar Hotel
    by Curtis Dawkins
    We – those of us on the outside – are lucky. So very lucky. We get to experience life &#...
  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.