Who said: "In youth we run into difficulties. In old age difficulties run into us"

BookBrowse's Favorite Quotes

"In youth we run into difficulties. In old age difficulties run into us." - Beverly Sills

Beverly SillsBeverly Sills was one of the best-known American opera singers of the 1960s and 1970s.

She was born in Brooklyn, New York, in 1929. At the age of three, she won a radio contest and soon began singing on the radio regularly as Bubbles Silverman. After studying opera with a voice coach as a child she made her operatic debut in at the age of 18 at the Philadelphia Civic Opera.

She first sang for the New York City Opera in 1955, after which she took a break returning to the New York City Opera in 1966. In 1975, she performed for the first time at the Metropolitan Opera in New York City. After retiring from singing in 1980, she became the general manager of the New York City Opera. In 1994 she became Chairman of the Lincoln Center and in 2002, of the Metropolitan Opera, stepping down in 2005. She was also a chairman of the board of trustees of the March of Dimes.

She received many honors during her long career including the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 1980. She died on July 2, 2007 from lung cancer at the age of 78.


More quotes from Beverly Sills

There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.

A happy woman is one who has no cares at all; a cheerful woman is one who has cares but doesn't let them get her down.

Art is the signature of civilizations.

My voice had a long, nonstop career. It deserves to be put to bed with quiet and dignity, not yanked out every once in a while to see if it can still do what it used to do. It can't.

There is a growing strength in women but it's in the forehead, not the forearm.

You don't always get what you ask for, but you never get what you don't ask for... unless it's contagious!

You may be disappointed if you fail, but you are doomed if you don't try.

More Quotes

This quote & biography originally ran in an issue of BookBrowse's membership magazine. Full Membership Features & Benefits.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.